Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Click here to learn more

Echo Global Logistics Reviews

Updated 11 April 2015
30 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
1.0
30 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Echo Global Logistics CEO and Director Doug Waggoner
Doug Waggoner
21 Ratings

30 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Don

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL (US)
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Chicago, IL (US)

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Great location.Fun companies around - Groupon and lots of startups in the same building.

    Cons

    * Not a technology company. Most software development is just maintenance
    * Terrible changes in management recently. Previous CTO was very smart and motivating but left in February after only a short stint. No leadership left since then. There's rumors he was let go - but that would be mind boggling and boneheaded so probably not true
    * No real vision since February and terrible morale. All good people are leaving/have left in March and April - most people are biding their time or sticking around for lifestyle reasons (kids, housing etc.). I'm one of them, but only for the next three months or so
    * Lots of ego driven managers and department leaders that just protect themselves instead of leading from the front and driving change. Favortism and unprofessionalism by VP/SVPs is at an insane level because CEO is playing part time CTO but not engaged enough
    * Can't hire even to keep up with attrition

    Advice to Management

    Bring in a leader that's strong technology wise and will drive innovation. Company is at a crisis level in IT since previous leader departed.

  2. Sales Rep

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics

    Pros

    It's clear who's responsible for all the 5 star reviews haha.

    Cons

    -No room for advancement
    -Training is horrible
    -They sell you a dream from day one
    -Glorified call center
    -Managers inflated egos
    -Favoritism
    -Make no money

    Advice to Management

    There's no hope. Stop telling everyone you hire all these lies

  3. Headed downhill fast

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Side
    Current Employee - Customer Side

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    You can wear jeans, in fact you can wear hoodies, sandles, hats. Don't worry about shaving either.

    Cons

    1) Be transparent. 2) Better is the Only Way. 3) Carry the Load Together. All buzz phrases thrown around by the new talent team. 1) Unfortunately, there is no transparency into your ever-changing pay. Salary absolutely will change every year, and it is always something bad disguised as something good. In reality, they'll pay you just enough to keep you from quitting. 2) It continues to get worse. The only reason I haven't left yet is because I can't get the time off work to interview, talk about a vicious cycle 3) 1 and 2 have created such a toxic atmosphere that all departments are constantly at odds with each other. DO expect to put in long days, and do not expect it to be noticed or appreciated. There are some people here making money, but it isn't from effort. If you drink the kool aid, brown nose the right people, and get a little bit lucky, they will just start giving you accounts. This is the only place I have worked that rewards mediocrity. You will honestly get further by keeping your mouth shut and blending in than by putting in effort or questioning any of the backwards methodology of Echo.

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach. That means following the same Echo values that you etch into our brains every day . Stop catering to only your shareholders. Ditch the phony Echo Engage social media site.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Apr 17, 2015SVP of Talent

    Thank you for your feedback. We do not tolerate an environment like the one you described here. I’d like to address your concerns in person and would be happy to meet with you to discuss. Please ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. WORST FREIGHT BROKERAGE EVER

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Client Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA (US)
    Former Employee - Client Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA (US)

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    IF YOU WANT TO BE LAZY AND PLAY FOOZBALL INSTEAD OF WORK, BE LIED TO ABOUT COMMISSION, AND BE TREATED LIKE A CHILD, THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU

    Cons

    EVERYTHING. Low pay, low moral, dying industry, get a real job - dont work at echo after college it will suck the life out of you. you will be the lapdog to your masters.

    Advice to Management

    pay people what they are worth. make commission a real thing. stop lying to people and change your overall strategy for hiring and who you hire.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Apr 16, 2015Branch Manager - Atlanta

    I’m sorry you did not have a positive experience while at Echo. I came in as Branch Manager in January and was pleased to find many high-performing individuals that daily live the Echo values of ... More

  6. Helpful (3)

    Carrier sales-Horrible.

    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL (US)
    Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL (US)

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Some good managers, casual dress.

    Cons

    Plan on working close to twelve hour days and accomplishing nothing during those 12 hours. Management plays favorites and if you not wanting to be a little frat brother to your manager, do not plan on doing well. They have overhired and the money they promise you that is there to make is not existent. You are told to make 100+ phone calls a day; however, because the SOP and guidelines sales reps must follow are so annoying, most carriers will have trouble booking with Echo. Also, Echo is very cheap with the money they allow in each load making that their own enemy. If you enjoy working from 630a-6p including Wednesday before Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, NYE etc, work here. If you want to know your hours, have more than an hour to yourself a day before you have to go to bed to get up and do it all over again, do not work here. Carrier sales must do some serious adjustments before they continue to loose their talent. Also, management will hand out big, national carriers to random reps based on favoritism. While you sit cold calling and getting yelled at by rude dispatches, another rep will have a large carrier put in their name for no reason. Also, rules don't apply across the board so if you aren't a senior rep, again, good luck. Reps are catty and do not want you to succeed. A lot of lying, cheating and stealing on this side of the company. No advancement available.

    Advice to Management

    Equality, help your sales rep achieve their fullest potential, set schedules for employees, be understanding of the problems reps face. Carrier sales is working with shady carriers and they change their mind quite often- it isn't your rep pulling your leg and usually is out of their control. Stop the favoritism towards your frat pledge.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Mar 25, 2015Director of Carrier Sales

    We appreciate your feedback. The role can certainly be challenging and we're transparent about the ramp up period in carriers sales. I would be more than happy to talk with you about any issues ... More

  7. Helpful (3)

    A unique challenge

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL (US)
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL (US)

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Casual dress code
    Young work environment
    Located right next to Cabrini Green
    Low salary teaches you good budgeting
    Unique culture

    Cons

    Let's start with the hours. I hope you enjoy early mornings because the mandatory start time is 630am. At around 640am the megaphones come out and those who are late are berated in front of their peers by management. There is no defined end time for this role either. I like to relate it to high school; your teacher will tell you when you can leave. Unique to most companies Fridays are actually the longest day of the week at Echo. Management takes privy to making the entire floor stay late on Fridays regardless if there is no work left to be done. It's a very interesting management philosophy to say the least.

    As for compensation... Don't expect much. With roughly a 300% increase in department size in the past year commission is harder to come by. Management does do a good job showcasing the select few individuals that have stuck with the company and make decent money. However, don't expect to make more than $35,000 your first year. Keep in mind management has just slashed compensation on the customer side by roughly 20-25% so that first year salary figure may decrease.

    At the end of the day you need to come into this job with low expectations. Carrier reps are regarded as glorified truck dispatchers and are at the bottom of the totem pole at Echo. If logistics is an industry that interests you I would recommend pursuing the client sales side. The hours are much more relaxed and the perks are much better (craft beers vs warm miller lite, team outings vs Friday night lock ins, etc.)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. Investors are getting great end over end results and the hire rate has been high enough to offset the burn out rate. Just be careful with over hiring. Low salary helps hedge the risk but it's important to scale your growth.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Mar 25, 2015Director of Carrier Sales

    We appreciate your feedback. I do understand the hours may be considered long but this is made clear before we bring anyone into Carrier Sales. Part of the reason we're increasing our staffing is to ... More

  8. Helpful (2)

    Frazzled, mixed up and hectic.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Executive
    Current Employee - Account Executive

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Free beer on every Friday.

    Cons

    Transportation software is extremely difficult to navigate. Overly complex. Large bureacracy with minimal direction.

    Advice to Management

    Be careful with Beer Friday. Liability is an issue.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Feb 16, 2015Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for writing a review! Sorry to hear you find our technology difficult to navigate, the Learning & Development team would be happy to provide extra training if need be. They can be reached at ... More

  9. Helpful (5)

    Different sides=different worlds

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    You can occasionally win a prize.

    Cons

    You will work 10 hour days (minimum), taking lunch and time off is frowned upon no matter how much time you are given, low comission and comission is nearly impossible to hit. The only way you get comission is by being shady towards other coworkers and stealing their carriers or inheriting carriers from previous employees. Managers play favorites and it is painfully obvious. When one person quits they will give all their carriers to their friends. Horribly unprofessional. Coworkers do not respect each other so you spend as much time arguing with your peers as you do with your carriers. Hostile environment. Burnout employees very quickly and have no intention of bettering their turnover rate. I would steer clear of carrier sales. If you are going to work here I would want to be on the customer side or operations.

    Advice to Management

    Promote managers based off management skills, not just rate knowledge. Encourage management and employees to remain professional as it is a conflict of interest to have management out partying with their employees. Work life balance is truly something that can make employees happy and enjoy working for a company. I felt when working here I had NO personal life time. They are on the right track with their culture but unfortunately the carrier side of things is straight up about numbers. Treat employees like human beings, train management how to actually develop employees and help them better themselves instead of just screaming all day about loads and shouting out rates.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Feb 16, 2015Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for the feedback. There’s no question that sales is a challenging job anywhere and requires a lot of hard work to get ramped up. We invest a lot in training and do everything we can to provide ... More

  10. Helpful (2)

    Play favorites

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Client Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA (US)
    Former Employee - Client Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA (US)

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    You can make a lot of money if by a slim chance the management team is willing to help you close a big account.

    Cons

    They play favorites and if a rep is one of them, they get all of the positive support and attention. You're help accountable for every single shipment even if the carrier or customer is at fault. No questions asked, it's on you. They'll even deduct it from your pay if they want to. It should be illegal.

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites and provide support for every rep on your team. It's not difficult to be successful when management is actually managing correctly.

  11. Helpful (4)

    I do not recommend after a 12 month experience in carrier sales.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL (US)
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL (US)

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Learning and practicing the skill of negotiation. Understanding the transportation industry and how the supply chain functions. Company bus for commute before and after work.

    Cons

    I do not want to repeat myself. A lot of the Cons can be understood in a different section below. See "Advice to Management"....

    Advice to Management

    Consistently practice being a professional and lead by example. Be transparent with your team. Meet with your team and individuals regularly, it will benefit everyone including you, management. Understand what is going on with your team as a whole and each contributing member, i.e.- morale, business successes and struggles/opportunities/improvements etc. (see previous sentence). Do not use disrespectful, elementary language to individuals regardless of situation or industry. Hone your skills and develop Rookies into All Stars. Stay positive. Take lunch away from your desk. Look from the outside in; be the manager you want to see leading. Keep an open mind and be willing to change if necessary. The hours of work expected out of each person ....including mandatory Saturdays.....does not seem healthy, my advice is to rethink this expectation.

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Dec 15, 2014Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback and taking the time to write a review. Happy to hear you gained new skills and knowledge during your time with us. Your advice is appreciated; we developed and launched a ... More

Echo Global Logistics Photos

Work at Echo Global Logistics? Share Your Experiences

Echo Global Logistics

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.