MasterCard

  www.mastercard.com
  www.mastercard.com

MasterCard Reviews

Updated 13 October 2014
Updated 13 October 2014
302 Reviews
3.7
302 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
MasterCard President and CEO Ajay Banga
Ajay Banga
202 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • The company also has a great culture and most of its employees try to have a good work-life balance (in 45 reviews)

  • Good benefits, good pay, good global exposure but still very beaurocratic and "meeting heavy" (in 21 reviews)


Cons
  • Forget about work life balance that they preach on paper but do not put in practice (in 10 reviews)

  • No priorities at the senior management level (need to be everything to everyone) and execution is unrealistic (in 11 reviews)

More Highlights

62 Employee Reviews Back to all reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    MasterCard is an amazing company with a world of opportunities and great people.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY (US)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY (US)

    I worked at MasterCard full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The people.. it is a place with hard working, smart, amazing individuals.. not all are perfect but overall it is a privilege to work there.

    Cons

    Very few... it has changed tremendously .. for the better. Tapping into more of the ingenuity of employees, unleashing more of the creativity and executing on it would lead to greater innovation.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Oct 14, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your comments. People are at the center of our success, today and tomorrow!

  2.  

    what a ride...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    they do take care of their staff....very good at promoting the work/life balance

    Cons

    lots of work, not enough staff....

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    if you keep adding services and products, you need to adjust your staff numbers so you have enough staff to properly support the products you provide.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Sep 29, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    We appreciate your frank response. Work/Life balance is paramount to employees success. Thank you.

  3.  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader in Purchase, NY (US)
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader in Purchase, NY (US)

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Interesting work, competitive compensation, development opportunities and good people. Company is undergoing a lot of change - individuals can make an impact. Strong executive management. Good work-life integration.

    Cons

    Company is undergoing a lot of change, which can be hard to navigate. No priorities at the senior management level (need to be everything to everyone) and execution is unrealistic. Company needs more diversity at all levels.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Sep 23, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    We appreciate your time and attention to writing this review. Your candor helps our Brand build for the future. Thank you.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Smart, Talented Individuals - Company progressing very well

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Leader in O'Fallon, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Leader in O'Fallon, MO (US)

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent pay, benefits, vacation, 401k, holidays. If working for the right manager, life is very good. Much room for advancement, coaching and education are encouraged.

    Cons

    Some high-level management have no business "managing" people. Complaints are put back on the lower-level management, who end up stuck in the middle with no alternative but to move to another position. If you are friends with one of these high-level managers, you're in - if not, better looki for another position. On the other side of the house, there aren't many promotions in current positions (even as you grow) unless you apply to a higher level.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    HR should listen to their employees, not simply nod and say "I understand." That does not produce results. When People Effectiveness Survey results are published to management and HR 1. Commend those with high results and 2. Deal withi those who have low results. Don't ignore them.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Sep 08, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thank you for your candid remarks. We take reviews and our employee surveys seriously to garner insight for continuous improvement!

  6.  

    Great Exprience!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Dubai (United Arab Emirates)
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Dubai (United Arab Emirates)

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    - Great work culture and ethics
    - Takes care of its employees
    - Decent complensation

    Cons

    - Employees could get few more benefits

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    n.a.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Sep 02, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Hearing positive feedback on our culture feels great! Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  7.  

    Great company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Compensation very competitive, solid management team, loads of career opportunity, company truly cares about its employees

    Cons

    A great deal of lateral opportunity, but can be challenging to find upward opportunity especially at senior management level, at times management is not as transparent as they should be

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Become slightly less risk averse, beat Visa to the punch, continue to focus on emerging payment opportunities

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 18, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your thoughts - an open, transparent culture is a winning one!

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    wonderful experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    So far my thoughts about Mastercard are very positive. The people and the environment is very friendly. The employees really are commited to the organiztion and management sees it. I can say that I am proud to be a part of this company and look forward to seeing the future here. I would for sure tell friends and family that this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    there are no cons that I have seen

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 19, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    So glad that your early experience is so positive! Thanks for sharing....

  9.  

    Admirable Culture

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO (US)

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The companies culture is extremely impressive. I have worked as a contractor for a little over a year and recently became an employee and couldnt be happier. I worked for another company based in St. Louis for 5 years and they are night/day with MasterCard. There is lots of employee appreciation and a also a committement to employee growth.

    Cons

    Any time you are working in IT there will be lots of challenges with the work which can be stressful at times. The only thing is it is very hard to come into this company as an employee without knowing someone first.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 06, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Culture is a key driver when people consider working for any Brand - thanks for your thoughts!

  10.  

    Good Company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Consultant in O'Fallon, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Consultant in O'Fallon, MO (US)

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Fast Paced, Good work environment, if you work hard you get rewarded. Good tuition reimbursement, pays for certifications and training.

    Cons

    You may have to work overtime, not everyone works hard.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Jul 22, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your review - we are happy that you gave some insight into our culture!

  11.  

    Excellent company with a dynamic CEO who has led the company thru significant growth and positive cultural change.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Vice President Senior Business Leader in Purchase, NY (US)
    Current Employee - Vice President Senior Business Leader in Purchase, NY (US)

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Solid business model with focus on innovation, emerging markets, financial inclusion, merchants, goverments, issuers and consumers.

    Cons

    Overall, excellent place to work, but sometimes organization is hard to navigate despite being relatively small with 8,000 employees.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue to focus on innovation, emerging markets, financial inclusion, merchants, goverments, issuers and consumers.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Jul 22, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your comprehensive and positive review - an insider perspective is valuable!

Work at MasterCard? Share Your Experiences

MasterCard

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.