MasterCard

www.mastercard.com

73 Employee Reviews Back to all Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Priceless!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Program Manager
    Current Employee - Program Manager

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great company, fantastic culture! Opportunities are endless, company where you can grow from within as a young professional. Compensation and benefits packages are very attractive, employees are encouraged for flexible working (telecommuting). MasterCard also has innovative learning solutions as well as a special platform for experiences that can help your career development.

    Cons

    Some of the the managers struggle to work with younger workforce but this has been constantly improving

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    MasterCard enabled me the ability to work from home especially during inclement weather conditions

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at MasterCard full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    The company knows where it wants to go and is doing a great job getting there

    Cons

    The majority of better opportunities are located in St Louis.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Managers need to allow more involvement for there employees especially on projects where the employee knows the work best

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3.  

    MasterCard is an amazing company with a world of opportunities and great people.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY (US)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY (US)

    I worked at MasterCard full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The people.. it is a place with hard working, smart, amazing individuals.. not all are perfect but overall it is a privilege to work there.

    Cons

    Very few... it has changed tremendously .. for the better. Tapping into more of the ingenuity of employees, unleashing more of the creativity and executing on it would lead to greater innovation.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Oct 14, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your comments. People are at the center of our success, today and tomorrow!

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. 1 person found this helpful  

    what a ride...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    they do take care of their staff....very good at promoting the work/life balance

    Cons

    lots of work, not enough staff....

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    if you keep adding services and products, you need to adjust your staff numbers so you have enough staff to properly support the products you provide.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Sep 29, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    We appreciate your frank response. Work/Life balance is paramount to employees success. Thank you.

  6.  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader in Purchase, NY (US)
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader in Purchase, NY (US)

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Interesting work, competitive compensation, development opportunities and good people. Company is undergoing a lot of change - individuals can make an impact. Strong executive management. Good work-life integration.

    Cons

    Company is undergoing a lot of change, which can be hard to navigate. No priorities at the senior management level (need to be everything to everyone) and execution is unrealistic. Company needs more diversity at all levels.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Sep 23, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    We appreciate your time and attention to writing this review. Your candor helps our Brand build for the future. Thank you.

  7.  

    Smart, Talented Individuals - Company progressing very well

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Leader in O'Fallon, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Leader in O'Fallon, MO (US)

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent pay, benefits, vacation, 401k, holidays. If working for the right manager, life is very good. Much room for advancement, coaching and education are encouraged.

    Cons

    Some high-level management have no business "managing" people. Complaints are put back on the lower-level management, who end up stuck in the middle with no alternative but to move to another position. If you are friends with one of these high-level managers, you're in - if not, better looki for another position. On the other side of the house, there aren't many promotions in current positions (even as you grow) unless you apply to a higher level.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    HR should listen to their employees, not simply nod and say "I understand." That does not produce results. When People Effectiveness Survey results are published to management and HR 1. Commend those with high results and 2. Deal withi those who have low results. Don't ignore them.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Sep 08, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thank you for your candid remarks. We take reviews and our employee surveys seriously to garner insight for continuous improvement!

  8.  

    Great Exprience!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Dubai (United Arab Emirates)
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Dubai (United Arab Emirates)

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    - Great work culture and ethics
    - Takes care of its employees
    - Decent complensation

    Cons

    - Employees could get few more benefits

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    n.a.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Sep 02, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Hearing positive feedback on our culture feels great! Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    wonderful experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    So far my thoughts about Mastercard are very positive. The people and the environment is very friendly. The employees really are commited to the organiztion and management sees it. I can say that I am proud to be a part of this company and look forward to seeing the future here. I would for sure tell friends and family that this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    there are no cons that I have seen

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 19, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    So glad that your early experience is so positive! Thanks for sharing....

  10.  

    Great company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader
    Current Employee - Senior Business Leader

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Compensation very competitive, solid management team, loads of career opportunity, company truly cares about its employees

    Cons

    A great deal of lateral opportunity, but can be challenging to find upward opportunity especially at senior management level, at times management is not as transparent as they should be

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Become slightly less risk averse, beat Visa to the punch, continue to focus on emerging payment opportunities

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 18, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Thanks for your thoughts - an open, transparent culture is a winning one!

  11.  

    Admirable Culture

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO (US)
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO (US)

    I have been working at MasterCard full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    The companies culture is extremely impressive. I have worked as a contractor for a little over a year and recently became an employee and couldnt be happier. I worked for another company based in St. Louis for 5 years and they are night/day with MasterCard. There is lots of employee appreciation and a also a committement to employee growth.

    Cons

    Any time you are working in IT there will be lots of challenges with the work which can be stressful at times. The only thing is it is very hard to come into this company as an employee without knowing someone first.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    MasterCard Response

    Aug 06, 2014VP, Employer Brand Marketing

    Culture is a key driver when people consider working for any Brand - thanks for your thoughts!

Work at MasterCard? Share Your Experiences

MasterCard

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.