Boots

www.boots.jobs

Boots Reviews

Updated 25 January 2015
Updated 25 January 2015
203 Reviews
3.3
203 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boots Managing Director Simon Roberts
Simon Roberts
52 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Staff discount was good and always felt appreciated as an employe (in 25 reviews)

  • Always had good discount for Boots products and double discount days for staff (in 15 reviews)


Cons
  • Long hours and not enough FTE mean that quite often the store has long queues (in 11 reviews)

  • customer service ethic disappears beyond the application and interview (in 7 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great working at Boots, very friendly team and everyone is always available to help with questions

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in London, England
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in London, England

    I worked at Boots part-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Really enjoyed the training programme, they showed a genuine care for my learning and development. I started as a customer assistant and was able to be healthcare trained very quickly.

    Cons

    Difficult working with some angry customers but managers usually take control of the situation, so it was not too bad.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Good management, constantly got new managers in however I liked the fast-paced environment

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boots Response

    Jan 26, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed working for Boots.

  2.  

    Great company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boots

    Pros

    Had a nice with both management and staff..very welcoming right from the first day. So i enjoyed my work all thru even though i was just there for the xmas period and was not taken on.
    Not so sure if i would be paid again as i worked a week more before my contract ended..was paid on 19th as payday for workers after working for like 3weeks,but my contract ended 28th..can someone help in this please..a bit confused.

    Cons

    Had really long queues especially weekends and we were a bit short on weekend staffs..so i had to shuttle btwn stocking shelves and working at the till.
    And alsi standing for hours without even resting until lunch break.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    They should have more staffs during weekends and also have list of working periods for staff displayed before the week runs out. Cos i had difficulty in knowing what shift i was on everyday.

    Boots Response

    Jan 26, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. I advise you to contact your Line Manager to find out more about your pay. We are grateful for all your feedback.

  3.  

    Feel good culture that shines through to our people & customers.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Learning and Development in Nottingham, England
    Current Employee - Learning and Development in Nottingham, England

    I have been working at Boots full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Ability to move to different departments & locations.
    Work Levels of senerotiy L1-7.
    The feeling of being apart of something huge.
    History & heritage.
    No:1 for customer care
    Good management

    Cons

    Overall Boots is a great company to work for but I would like to see more training workshops and sessions for our Customer Assistants.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Provide support office employees with a clear PDP to reach the next work level

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Boots Response

    Jan 12, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with Boots UK. Keep up the great work.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Christmas Customer Assistant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Christmas Customer Assistant
    Current Employee - Christmas Customer Assistant

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    Really friendly and approachable colleagues that were genuinely passionate about their job.

    Friendly , yet professional management team.

    You receive feedback quite often, so if you perform well it is noticed by managers.

    Cons

    Sometimes it would be slightly disorganised. For example, if you had to take a day off you had to remind the management team several times (and they often forget.)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    It would be nice if the rota for upcoming weeks were displayed earlier, or if they can be accessible online by staff members.

    Overall though I had a wonderful experience working with some great people. Highly recommend!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boots Response

    Jan 13, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback.

  6.  

    ....

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Associate
    Former Employee - Sales Associate

    I worked at Boots

    Pros

    Colleagues are friendly
    discount
    health and beauty knowledge

    Cons

    Management staff are unsupportive, providing a negative atmosphere
    long days especially at Christmas

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Less favouritism in departments, more communication, staff meetings. Regular management training, some managers need to learn to manage their staff properly.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    Boots Response

    Jan 26, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to share a review. Our colleagues and managers alike are essential parts of the success of our business. We appreciate your feedback.

  7.  

    not good to work for

    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    life at boots gives you a bit of flexibility

    Cons

    salary is not good
    they pay hardly ever rises
    motivation is on downlow

    Boots Response

    Jan 08, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

  8.  

    A very optimistic future

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Support Office in Nottingham, England
    Current Employee - Support Office in Nottingham, England

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    A great company with a brilliant past and future. Good package and benefits. I work with a great team who always strive to be at their best. I would recommend you take a look if you want a challenge and interesting opportunities.

    Cons

    Long hours and high pressure are the main challenges but other than that I don't have too many issues with my job.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boots Response

    Jan 08, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad to hear you are enjoying your employment with Boots.

  9.  

    Customer Assistant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Guildford, England
    Current Employee - Customer Assistant in Guildford, England

    I have been working at Boots part-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Great Team.
    Friendly Managers.
    Good Pay.
    Flexibile Companies

    Cons

    None. It is perfect. Love my job

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    None

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boots Response

    Dec 22, 2014

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with Boot UK. Keep up the great work!

  10.  

    Rubbish

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Christmas Sales Assistant in Altrincham, England
    Current Employee - Christmas Sales Assistant in Altrincham, England

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    Nobody cared about they're job so you could do anything you wanted...literally anything.

    Cons

    lazy staff shirking responsibilities
    low pay
    Bad management

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    your managers are sub par

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Boots Response

    Jan 26, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

  11.  

    ok

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Dispenser in Bishops Stortford, England
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Dispenser in Bishops Stortford, England

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    good company to work for, pay is ok I Guess when you compare it to other similar organisation

    Cons

    all about numbers, targets and nothing to do with patients..

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    treat everyone equally.....and be more with customers and patients rather than sitting in there office all day long.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Boots Response

    Dec 16, 2014

    Our main aim is to provide the best possible care to our patients and customers, therefore we are grateful for your feedback above, which we will evaluate further. Thank you for taking the time to ... More

Work at Boots? Share Your Experiences

Boots

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.