Boots

www.boots.jobs
Employer Engaged

Boots Reviews

Updated 27 February 2015
Updated 27 February 2015
212 Reviews
3.4
212 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Boots Managing Director Simon Roberts
Simon Roberts
55 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Staff discount was good and always felt appreciated as an employe (in 25 reviews)

  • Always had good discount for Boots products and double discount days for staff (in 15 reviews)


Cons
  • Long hours and not enough FTE mean that quite often the store has long queues (in 11 reviews)

  • customer service ethic disappears beyond the application and interview (in 7 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    A Great First Job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Basildon, South East England, England
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Basildon, South East England, England

    I worked at Boots part-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly Staff, Cared about Employees, variety of work

    Cons

    Managers would not always back up staff with customer problems

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boots Response

    Mar 03, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback

  2.  

    great team, good training, nice staff

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England

    I worked at Boots part-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    good atmosphere and good team

    Cons

    repetitive duties, long hours potentially

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    more rotations

    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boots Response

    Mar 03, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your employment with Boots.

  3.  

    great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boots part-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    flexibility, opportunities, friendly, good working hours

    Cons

    none none none none none

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Boots Response

    Feb 18, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you are enjoying your employment with Boots.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Amazing job - best for a student

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Trainee Healthcare Assistant in Shepherds Bush, England
    Current Employee - Trainee Healthcare Assistant in Shepherds Bush, England

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    -pays well
    -good staff discount
    -paid holiday
    -sick pay
    -a generally good environment: happy, full of life, making customers feel good

    Cons

    Different in every store depending on manager, some could be strict, some could be very laid-back making the environment much more enjoyable.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Uniform policies - some managers are really specific about wearing BOOTS uniform only however for someone like me who is tiny most of their bottoms/skirts don't fit and had issues with my manage (i had to alter my skirt privately in order to please my manager) whereas in other stores i could just wear a navy blue skirt similar to boots one and it's just fine.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boots Response

    Feb 18, 2015

    Your insights are much appreciated and taken into consideration.

  6.  

    Good

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Contractor - Optometrist in Oxford, England
    Former Contractor - Optometrist in Oxford, England

    I worked at Boots as a contractor (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    High standards at all levels

    Cons

    Clinical records paper - not computerised

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Paper records are cumbersome and inefficient

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Boots Response

    Feb 18, 2015

    Thank you for the review. We value all the feedback we receive.

  7.  

    1st great 2nd year not so great

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Finance Analyst in Nottingham, England
    Former Employee - Finance Analyst in Nottingham, England

    I worked at Boots full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    great benefits including decent holiday allowance, bonus, flexible working, working from home ocassionly

    Cons

    poor IT systems, Forced distribution performance management meaning even if your doing your job your ranked against the rest of your team so potentially you could rated below expectations. Ie 10% placed in exceeding expectations, 10% below, and say 40/40 either approaching or meeting expectations, face has to fit.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    stop using out dated performance management tools.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Boots Response

    Mar 03, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. We will escalate this insight further.

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Boots warehouse

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Warehouse Operator in Burton upon Trent, England
    Current Employee - Warehouse Operator in Burton upon Trent, England

    I have been working at Boots part-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Different positions as a Warehouse operative, or worker is not a challange to take. After a quite short training, you are ready to go and through the year you will mostly be provived with work. I would also mention that after you get used to the job you do, it is quite easy and barely stressful, however these facts might be changing depending on your position.

    Cons

    After working here for one and a half year, i have met a lot of problems in how different things and cases are being handled. Most of these are not really significant, but still existing system, equipment and management errors/malfunctions. I also feel like it is nearly impossible to make a career out of your job, but most of the people are not even aiming at that, so that is hardly surprising. I have also seen a few promotions/demotions which did not really make any sense, especially putting contracted supervisors/managers into position they barely had any experience with /pointing at different departments/. The workplace is also focused about seasonal peak times, (roughly from July-August till January) which results in overrecruting people, and then towards the end of the peak, with the danger of losing your job nonetheless the performance you were making.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I am not really in a position to say any advice about anything, but i would still write down a few things here. It would be nice to pay a little bit more attention to the colleagues and to the existing problems which are slightly disrupting the flow of work. While our feedback might not be so useful, i am more than sure that some of the colleagues, especially those who have been working for a long time have decent suggestions and concerns about certain things.

    Boots Response

    Feb 09, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to share your insights. They will be escalated further.

  9.  

    Good place

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Boots

    Pros

    Good place to work. Good team.good hours, good perks

    Cons

    No downsides I an think of. A lovely place to work.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Boots Response

    Feb 09, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your employment with Boots.

  10.  

    Great working at Boots, very friendly team and everyone is always available to help with questions

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in London, England
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant in London, England

    I worked at Boots part-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Really enjoyed the training programme, they showed a genuine care for my learning and development. I started as a customer assistant and was able to be healthcare trained very quickly.

    Cons

    Difficult working with some angry customers but managers usually take control of the situation, so it was not too bad.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Good management, constantly got new managers in however I liked the fast-paced environment

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Boots Response

    Jan 26, 2015

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed working for Boots.

  11.  

    Great company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Boots

    Pros

    Had a nice with both management and staff..very welcoming right from the first day. So i enjoyed my work all thru even though i was just there for the xmas period and was not taken on.
    Not so sure if i would be paid again as i worked a week more before my contract ended..was paid on 19th as payday for workers after working for like 3weeks,but my contract ended 28th..can someone help in this please..a bit confused.

    Cons

    Had really long queues especially weekends and we were a bit short on weekend staffs..so i had to shuttle btwn stocking shelves and working at the till.
    And alsi standing for hours without even resting until lunch break.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    They should have more staffs during weekends and also have list of working periods for staff displayed before the week runs out. Cos i had difficulty in knowing what shift i was on everyday.

    Boots Response

    Jan 26, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. I advise you to contact your Line Manager to find out more about your pay. We are grateful for all your feedback.

Work at Boots? Share Your Experiences

Boots

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.