Dell

www.dell.com

Dell Reviews

Updated 25 January 2015
Updated 25 January 2015
4,148 Reviews
3.4
4,148 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Dell Chairman and CEO Michael S. Dell
Michael S. Dell
2,517 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • work life balance; flexible work hours; empowered individual contributors (in 557 reviews)

  • They give you a very nice laptop and dock so you can work from home when needed (in 245 reviews)


Cons
  • Work-life balance can become a challenge; frequent reorganizations affect work quality (in 170 reviews)

  • The senior management reporting to Michael is very uneven with a couple of real bozos (in 81 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    csa

    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - CSA in London, England
    Current Employee - CSA in London, England

    I have been working at Dell full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    It was long hours in the place

    Cons

    no windows very stuffy very cramped.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    include more teamworking activities

  2.  

    excellent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Dell

    Pros

    pay well, flexible employers, good environment

    Cons

    none that i came across

    Recommends

    Dell Response

    Jan 14, 2015Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Great to hear you've had a positive experience at Dell, thanks for sharing!

  3.  

    Dell is surprisingly agile company despite incredible weight of diminishing PC legacy.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Director in Bracknell, England
    Former Employee - Sales Director in Bracknell, England

    I worked at Dell full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Results oriented, especially in the Enterprise sales. If you are producing you get amazing support from virtual teams. Dell's supply chain, while extremely proprietary and complex, is one of the best in business. Enterprise portfolio rapidly expanding (storage, networking, software) and you can compete with anyone on complex solutions. Unknown to most Dell is leading the public cloud deployments, so is benefiting from both public and hybrid cloud growth. PC business is of course shrinking, yet HP debacle is helping to slow the decline, at least in Enterprise.

    Cons

    Michael Dell is a man with the plan to reinvent his company. Issue is most of middle management never evolved from PC era. Bureaucracy can be suffocating at times. Pressure on numbers is on a week by week basis.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Invest in people - you cannot expect company transformation with best people leaving due to uncertainty.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Dell Response

    Jan 14, 2015Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thanks so much for your balanced review, and glad to hear you had a mostly positive experience working at Dell. We value all of the feedback we receive, and use it to continuously improve our ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Great Work-Life Balance, fast moving company
    Pay is pretty good, and benefits are above average.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Technical Consultant in Bracknell, England
    Current Employee - Technical Consultant in Bracknell, England

    I have been working at Dell full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    You get to work from home, which is great for work-life balance.
    Lots of training available, great technology.

    Cons

    Kept being moved from one product to another following various re-orgs.
    Middle Management are moved around a lot, which is not great for stability.
    Hoping that things will calm down now that the company has gone private.
    I found it difficult to navigate the company when looking for new positions.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Reduce middle management, too many levels.
    Improve internal Career progression.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Dell Response

    Jan 14, 2015Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We value all of the reviews we receive, and will communicate back to our leadership teams. Thank you!

  6.  

    Company with no direction

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Dell

    Pros

    Some great people, but you have to learn to play the political game.

    Cons

    Poor managers who typically manage by spreadsheets

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get to understand real customers

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    Dell Response

    Jan 14, 2015Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We value all of the feedback we receive, and will communicate the information back to our leadership teams.

  7.  

    Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in Bracknell, England
    Former Employee - Solutions Architect in Bracknell, England

    I worked at Dell full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits
    Great company culture
    Great people (mostly)

    Cons

    Always changing - turmoil at times
    Some decisions defy logic. You just have to get on with some things knowing they are wrong and doomed to failure (not sure if this was attempt to manipulate share price, I guess no one knows what the motives were).
    Great flexible working practices
    Fun, rewarding, challenging
    Lost a lot of good (and some great) people (due to constant re-orgs)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be smart, don't allow yourselves to lose objectivity when making or evaluating decisions.
    Don't lose your good people, they may go to your competitors (your mission just got harder)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Dell Response

    Dec 10, 2014Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, and good to hear you had a mostly positive experience working at Dell. We value all of the feedback we receive, and use it as we strive to ... More

  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    Associate

    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Associate
    Former Employee - Associate

    I worked at Dell full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Good Brand Name for the company

    Cons

    Average Compensation and lack of promotion plan

  9.  

    Looking forward to the future

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Operations Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Sales Operations Manager in London, England

    I have been working at Dell full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, decent salary, great people that I work with both overseas and in the UK. A great career move.

    Cons

    Can maybe work better with all products within the product portfolio to create a whole solution to the customer. Better communication with all Dell departments.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Dell Response

    Oct 23, 2014Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Glad to hear you've had a positive experience at Dell! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback!

  10. 2 people found this helpful  

    Dynamic company not for the faint hearted

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England

    I have been working at Dell full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Opportunity to drive change, move across multiple areas of business, incredibly fast moving, can realise ideas if they are well thought out, flexible working hours and location

    Cons

    Pay well below market rates, tendency to load up extremely competent people to breaking point rather than hold everyone accountable

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Pay market rates to your best employees and you wont keep losing them

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Dell Response

    Oct 06, 2014Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, which we will communicate back to our leadership team. We value all of the feedback we receive, and use it to improve our employee offering.

  11.  

    Ageing Dinosaur barely holding it together

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer in Bracknell, England
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer in Bracknell, England

    I worked at Dell full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Decent work-life balance. Pay is ok but very average. If you want to spend more time with your family and not work very hard, you've come to the right place.

    Cons

    The company's products are dying a slow death and Executive mgmt has no desire to invest adequately in R&D. Lots of "talk" about innovation but R&D remains shockingly low. Because the products are so weak, margins tend to be razor thin which forces management to focus on OPEX cutting most of the time. Many employees idolise Michael Dell as a visionary. In reality, the last "vision" he had was in his dorm room. I lived with a decade of disappointment and can safely say- this man has no vision. His quote about selling off Apple says it all.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Good work life balance is keeping you competitive. The Emporer has no clothes but I wouldnt expect any manager to speak the truth or your career would be over. Kiss up to Michael Dell and his cronies and you'll be ok.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Dell Response

    Oct 23, 2014Candidate and Employee Experience Team

    We value all of the feedback we receive, so thank you for your comments which we will ensure are heard by our leadership team. Dell is continuously changing and evolving as a company and R&D is one ... More

Work at Dell? Share Your Experiences

Dell

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.