Echo Global Logistics

www.echo.com

Echo Global Logistics Reviews

Updated 3 March 2015
Updated 3 March 2015
151 Reviews
3.3
151 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Echo Global Logistics CEO and Director Doug Waggoner
Doug Waggoner
105 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Echo Dallas has a great work environment for someone who wants to work hard and play hard (in 20 reviews)

  • kickball team on thursdays, softball team on tuesdays, beer fridays and happy hours regularly (in 17 reviews)


Cons
  • Sweeping changes in benefits and commission structure were made without warning (in 13 reviews)

  • I wasn't 100% prepared when I hit the floor after training (in 4 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    2 people found this helpful  

    Great Environment! Really Enjoy Coming In To Work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company culture here is one of a kind. I can truely say that I enjoy coming to work every day. The open desk atmosphere makes it easy to get to know your neighbors. My team is always collaborating together and boucning ideas off of eachother, which I love.

    Echo is always coming up with new ways to improve and you can really see the excitement throughout the departments.

    Cons

    Making the dials can get tough at times but my supervisor is always available for support and assistance. It is very clear that hard work pays off and you do see results. Plus, who doesn't love extra money on those paychecks!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Jan 13, 2015Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thank you very much for your great review of Echo. We're really glad that you are enjoying your time here and find the work to be challenging and rewarding.

  2.  

    A fun place to work with good people

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    The culture and the people. Many days, it doesn't feel like going to work because the people here become more than coworkers, they become friends.

    The company and employees care about your success and want you to do well. The space isn't stuffy, due to not having any cubicles and managers nearby for assistance. This all in itself is a big plus for me!

    Cons

    Salaries could be higher, but with hardwork and time, the rewards payoff.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Continue at being a coach and fostering success in each employee.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Feb 16, 2015Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are fortunate to have such great employees who help us improve daily. One of the big initiatives for 2015 is to promote more open communication ... More

  3.  

    Overall - good

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Client Sales Executive in Chicago, IL (US)
    Current Employee - Client Sales Executive in Chicago, IL (US)

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics

    Pros

    Good people, fun atmosphere, nice amenities

    Cons

    Lots of pressure, too many analytics on they out on you for the small things / day to day and not overall

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    What brought me there was because they said they didn't micro-manage but its becoming more and more that way. Look at overall performance.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    A unique challenge

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL (US)
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL (US)

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than a year)

    Pros

    Casual dress code
    Young work environment
    Located right next to Cabrini Green
    Low salary teaches you good budgeting
    Unique culture

    Cons

    Let's start with the hours. I hope you enjoy early mornings because the mandatory start time is 630am. At around 640am the megaphones come out and those who are late are berated in front of their peers by management. There is no defined end time for this role either. I like to relate it to high school; your teacher will tell you when you can leave. Unique to most companies Fridays are actually the longest day of the week at Echo. Management takes privy to making the entire floor stay late on Fridays regardless if there is no work left to be done. It's a very interesting management philosophy to say the least.

    As for compensation... Don't expect much. With roughly a 300% increase in department size in the past year commission is harder to come by. Management does do a good job showcasing the select few individuals that have stuck with the company and make decent money. However, don't expect to make more than $35,000 your first year. Keep in mind management has just slashed compensation on the customer side by roughly 20-25% so that first year salary figure may decrease.

    At the end of the day you need to come into this job with low expectations. Carrier reps are regarded as glorified truck dispatchers and are at the bottom of the totem pole at Echo. If logistics is an industry that interests you I would recommend pursuing the client sales side. The hours are much more relaxed and the perks are much better (craft beers vs warm miller lite, team outings vs Friday night lock ins, etc.)

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep doing what you're doing. Investors are getting great end over end results and the hire rate has been high enough to offset the burn out rate. Just be careful with over hiring. Low salary helps hedge the risk but it's important to scale your growth.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  6.  

    Thankful for the experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Learning and Development in Chicago, IL (US)
    Former Employee - Learning and Development in Chicago, IL (US)

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    A young, energetic culture; a well-designed workplace environment in a nice work building (same one as Groupon); constant growth and change

    Cons

    Young managers; egos; not a lot of growth opportunity; male-dominated industry; poor salary

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    getting better, keep pushing yourself to be better to your people and try harder to retain the good ones.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Jan 13, 2015Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Your feedback is appreciated. Here at Echo, we know that “Better is the Only Option” (one of our core values) and will keep striving to cultivate a balanced and fair work environment for all ... More

  7. 1 person found this helpful  

    Frazzled, mixed up and hectic.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Executive
    Current Employee - Account Executive

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (less than a year)

    Pros

    Free beer on every Friday.

    Cons

    Transportation software is extremely difficult to navigate. Overly complex. Large bureacracy with minimal direction.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be careful with Beer Friday. Liability is an issue.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Feb 16, 2015Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for writing a review! Sorry to hear you find our technology difficult to navigate, the Learning & Development team would be happy to provide extra training if need be. They can be reached at ... More

  8. 4 people found this helpful  

    Different sides=different worlds

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics

    Pros

    You can occasionally win a prize.

    Cons

    You will work 10 hour days (minimum), taking lunch and time off is frowned upon no matter how much time you are given, low comission and comission is nearly impossible to hit. The only way you get comission is by being shady towards other coworkers and stealing their carriers or inheriting carriers from previous employees. Managers play favorites and it is painfully obvious. When one person quits they will give all their carriers to their friends. Horribly unprofessional. Coworkers do not respect each other so you spend as much time arguing with your peers as you do with your carriers. Hostile environment. Burnout employees very quickly and have no intention of bettering their turnover rate. I would steer clear of carrier sales. If you are going to work here I would want to be on the customer side or operations.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Promote managers based off management skills, not just rate knowledge. Encourage management and employees to remain professional as it is a conflict of interest to have management out partying with their employees. Work life balance is truly something that can make employees happy and enjoy working for a company. I felt when working here I had NO personal life time. They are on the right track with their culture but unfortunately the carrier side of things is straight up about numbers. Treat employees like human beings, train management how to actually develop employees and help them better themselves instead of just screaming all day about loads and shouting out rates.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Feb 16, 2015Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for the feedback. There’s no question that sales is a challenging job anywhere and requires a lot of hard work to get ramped up. We invest a lot in training and do everything we can to provide ... More

  9.  

    Lots of promise that never materialized.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Santa Cruz, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Santa Cruz, CA (US)

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Freight is always moving so there is always opportunity to grow.

    Cons

    Too much competition in this industry.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Better pay structure would be a strong motivator.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
  10.  

    Good starting place

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics

    Pros

    Environment is casual and great for job seekers right out of college

    Cons

    can be a bit like a frat house

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Jan 13, 2015Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for your comments! We agree that Echo is a great place to start a career for new grads because of our comprehensive training program and continuous investment in career development. Work/life ... More

Echo Global Logistics Photos

Work at Echo Global Logistics? Share Your Experiences

Echo Global Logistics

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.