Echo Global Logistics

  www.echo.com
  www.echo.com

Echo Global Logistics Reviews

Updated 12 December 2014
Updated 12 December 2014
146 Reviews
3.3
146 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Echo Global Logistics CEO and Director Doug Waggoner
Doug Waggoner
104 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Echo Dallas has a great work environment for someone who wants to work hard and play hard (in 20 reviews)

  • kickball team on thursdays, softball team on tuesdays, beer fridays and happy hours regularly (in 17 reviews)


Cons
  • Sweeping changes in benefits and commission structure were made without warning (in 13 reviews)

  • I wasn't 100% prepared when I hit the floor after training (in 4 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great Environment! Really Enjoy Coming In To Work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    The company culture here is one of a kind. I can truely say that I enjoy coming to work every day. The open desk atmosphere makes it easy to get to know your neighbors. My team is always collaborating together and boucning ideas off of eachother, which I love.

    Echo is always coming up with new ways to improve and you can really see the excitement throughout the departments.

    Cons

    Making the dials can get tough at times but my supervisor is always available for support and assistance. It is very clear that hard work pays off and you do see results. Plus, who doesn't love extra money on those paychecks!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    Hard Work Pays Off!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Echo offers a truly great service and is very competitive in the industry. That being said, the more calls that you make in a day leads to closing more business which ultimately leads to more money - typical of any sales role, but Echo's service is competitive and continually sought after.

    Cons

    Getting used to the amount of calls that are required in order to succeed here. Gotta get your foot in the door and cold calling is the way to do it. Once you get used to it, it becomes second nature and you see the monetary benefits!

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  3.  

    The Dallas Branch is a family, and while Echo is a large corporation, this branch makes you feel right at home.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Dallas, TX (US)
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Dallas, TX (US)

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics

    Pros

    Management truly cares about the success of their personnel in this branch. Even if you are struggling, if you seek help, you will find someone (whether it be a peer or a supervisor/manager) that is willing to help. If you put in the work, you WILL be rewarded. The Dallas branch exemplifies the "work hard play hard" mentality very well.

    Cons

    You have to adopt, "the squeaky wheel gets the grease" mentality when trying to get answers from corporate in Chicago. The job is truly a grind when starting out, and can be fairly stressful.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Consistent feedback provided to sales reps. There are campaigns for monthly reviews, call reviews, pipeline reviews, but they are not consistent. If the feedback operates like clock-work, then your sales reps will grow.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Dec 15, 2014Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for writing a review! It is great to hear you feel supported by management and your teammates. Clear and consistent feedback is crucial for personal and professional growth in the workplace ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Echo Global Logistics- Dallas office

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX (US)

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Echo truly values their employees and does everything they can to make sure they have a good experience here. Frequent free meals from supervisors for doing what they ask of you, beer on Fridays, and a lot of team work that is actually helpful. The branch manager is seriously the nicest, most loving person I have yet to work for. I have stayed at this job pretty much for him and all he does for us. The office is extremely laid back, which is really awesome.

    Cons

    The job itself is really frustrating. It takes a lot of hard work and dedication to hit commission. Echo sets you up for success though, they give you everything you might need (and more) to do well. The job is rewarding at times when you hit goals. Training is long and boring at times. Calling people all day can get frustrating too.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    I love the management

    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Dec 15, 2014Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for your review! It is great to hear you enjoy the work environment and management. We admit the logistics industry can be crazy at times-please let HR or your Supervisor know if there is ... More

  6. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good job

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Dallas, TX (US)
    Current Employee - Client Sales Representative in Dallas, TX (US)

    I have been working at Echo Global Logistics full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Fun and friendly environment. Everyone is really supportive of each other. It looks like there are good opportunities for growth and development. It's a young crowd and a good place to start a sales career.

    Cons

    It can be very frustrating. I wasn't 100% prepared when I hit the floor after training. There are still a few things I struggle with.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Dec 15, 2014Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are glad you are getting the support you need! Please feel free to reach out to your Supervisor or the Learning and Development team for ... More

  7.  

    Play favorites

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Client Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA (US)
    Former Employee - Client Sales Representative in Atlanta, GA (US)

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    You can make a lot of money if by a slim chance the management team is willing to help you close a big account.

    Cons

    They play favorites and if a rep is one of them, they get all of the positive support and attention. You're help accountable for every single shipment even if the carrier or customer is at fault. No questions asked, it's on you. They'll even deduct it from your pay if they want to. It should be illegal.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop playing favorites and provide support for every rep on your team. It's not difficult to be successful when management is actually managing correctly.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
  8. 1 person found this helpful  

    COMPLETELY OVERSTAFFED POSITION

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics

    Pros

    Made some good friends there.

    Cons

    The Carrier sales side is completely overstaffed and really lacks organization.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Dec 15, 2014Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thanks for your feedback! We increased the number of sales reps on our carrier side in order to keep up with the demands of the growing truckload market. Subsequently, we improved infrastructure ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Decent entry level sales experience

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Good People
    Fun Environment
    Knowledgable Management
    Happy Hours
    Fast Paced Environment. You will definitely gain sales experience through making 100 sometimes 200 calls a day.

    Cons

    Overstaffed and Over saturated Market
    Product is subpar to some of the competitors
    Lack of direction and guidance
    100+ calls a day

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stop hiring So many people. 10 people call the same customers daily making us all look bad.
    Find a way to make product more comparable to competitors

    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Dec 15, 2014Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thank you for expressing your opinion. We strive to create a balanced environment that fosters top-notch training and first-hand sales experience as well as a fun atmosphere and company culture. One ... More

  10. 1 person found this helpful  

    My experience at Echo Global was great the company does a lot of fun activities and has a relaxed work environment .

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Accounting Associate in Chicago, IL (US)
    Former Employee - Accounting Associate in Chicago, IL (US)

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Bonus that you get for meeting your goal, the building that you work in shows the appreciation for the employees that work there, You can state your opinion and actually get to be involved in making a process better.

    Cons

    Previous managers were not involved in each employee that they managed, they never took the time out to really see what was going on, they would listen to certain people and make judgements. A current supervisor would discuss management decisions about other employees with her friends which was very inappropriate. Supervisor would not lead my example when it came to breaks & lunches- time abused.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    It would be great to have a relationship with each employee that the manger is in charge of. Everyone should have an equal amount of work instead of letting some employees get away with doing less than is expected. One rule for all, either you work at home or you come to the office- some should not be granted work at home all of the time when others are expected to be at the office. Have a complained box so that upper management can know what's going on in other departments.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  11. 2 people found this helpful  

    I do not recommend after a 12 month experience in carrier sales.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL (US)
    Former Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL (US)

    I worked at Echo Global Logistics full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Learning and practicing the skill of negotiation. Understanding the transportation industry and how the supply chain functions. Company bus for commute before and after work.

    Cons

    I do not want to repeat myself. A lot of the Cons can be understood in a different section below. See "Advice to Management"....

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Consistently practice being a professional and lead by example. Be transparent with your team. Meet with your team and individuals regularly, it will benefit everyone including you, management. Understand what is going on with your team as a whole and each contributing member, i.e.- morale, business successes and struggles/opportunities/improvements etc. (see previous sentence). Do not use disrespectful, elementary language to individuals regardless of situation or industry. Hone your skills and develop Rookies into All Stars. Stay positive. Take lunch away from your desk. Look from the outside in; be the manager you want to see leading. Keep an open mind and be willing to change if necessary. The hours of work expected out of each person ....including mandatory Saturdays.....does not seem healthy, my advice is to rethink this expectation.

    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    Echo Global Logistics Response

    Dec 15, 2014Talent Sourcing Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback and taking the time to write a review. Happy to hear you gained new skills and knowledge during your time with us. Your advice is appreciated; we developed and launched a ... More

Echo Global Logistics Photos

Work at Echo Global Logistics? Share Your Experiences

Echo Global Logistics

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.