Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Click here to learn more

Niagara Bottling Reviews

Updated 16 April 2015
61 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title
3.0
61 Reviews
Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Andy Peykoff II
27 Ratings

Pros
  • This is a fast paced company who look for the best (in 7 reviews)

  • Lots to learn, fast pace and fast growing company, great people to work with (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • No work/life balance whatsoever (in 9 reviews)

  • Good resume builder but no future here if you don't know anyone in upper management (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    Work Hard / Play Hard Culture, Challenging But Rewarding

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ontario, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ontario, CA (US)

    I have been working at Niagara Bottling full-time (more than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Niagara is a fast paced company that moves quickly and is growing at a rapid pace (30+% a year for the past decade.) There are lots of opportunities for internal promotions and professional development. Managers expect a lot out of their employees. The company is 100% family owned and the owners are still involved in the business and there is a family culture, even though the business has grown dramatically. There are lots of training opportunities and rotational programs for employee development.

    Cons

    - The corporate office is crowded, with parking becoming a big problem.
    - Benefits could be better
    - The culture is not for everyone. People coming from larger companies tend to have a hard time adapting to the pace.
    - Many departments are under staffed leading to resource constraints

    Niagara Bottling Response

    Mar 30, 2015

    Really fair assessment. Thanks for taking the time to share your perspective and while growth is excellent, it does come with some growing pains, as exampled by some of your cons.

  2. Very fast paced company, everyday brings on new challenges.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Shift Mechanic
    Current Employee - Shift Mechanic

    I have been working at Niagara Bottling full-time (less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    If you like to work this is the place for you, overtime is endless if wanted. The equipment is being upgraded and well maintained. Lots of new technology to learn and process are constantly changing. They reward the employees for safety which is a nice bonus.

    Cons

    Most of the overtime is well received, but sometimes it can be too much. Promises for training tend to drag out and work life balance is non existent.

    Advice to Management

    Don't tell employee's of intent until it is a for sure deal. Try to keep an even headed attitude so employee's know what to expect on a daily basis.

    Niagara Bottling Response

    Apr 16, 2015

    Thank you for your feedback. Comments like yours show us opportunities where we can definitely ensure we are getting the information into our team members hands at the right time.

  3. Employee

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Niagara Bottling

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Awesome place to work for

    Cons

    None to comment on now

    Advice to Management

    None

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Niagara Bottling

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities and good pay.

    Cons

    Could use some more communication.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Niagara Bottling Response

    Apr 16, 2015

    Thanks for taking time out to post. As we strive to keep all our communications timely and frequent, we are looking at ways to improve. Feedback like yours reinforce or decision to keep ... More

  6. Production Supervisor

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Niagara Bottling

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Great Pro Active Company, Great work invironment

    Cons

    New employee starting out working off shifts

  7. This is a horrible place to work. The machine they have are garbage they are always going down they never stay running.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Production Operator in Gahanna, OH (US)
    Former Employee - Production Operator in Gahanna, OH (US)

    I worked at Niagara Bottling full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Only good thing about working there is the experience you will get in manufacturing to move on to something better.

    Cons

    There is no training in place for new people coming in. They just have someone train you for a day or two them leave you by yourself. It's amazing this place is still up in running.

    Advice to Management

    Horrible management they don't care about they employees.

    Niagara Bottling Response

    Apr 08, 2015

    While we can certainly appreciate not being a good fit for every person. We do have a very empowered culture that encourages team members to seek out some information. It is fast paced, there is ... More

  8. Great people to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Niagara Bottling

    Pros

    1)Good people
    2)Real work
    3) Good office culture

    Cons

    None as far as I know

    Niagara Bottling Response

    Mar 30, 2015

    Great to hear your experience has been all pro, but rest assured with all good there will probably be a bad day. We value both sides, telling our good story but at the same time letting us know ... More

  9. Great, very supportive

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Niagara Bottling

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    Pros

    Very supportive and helpful if I had questions, incredibly flexible with school schedule and even deliverables. Though my cons is lengthy, I very much had a positive experience here.

    Cons

    Very little structure for intern program. Highly structured from a corporate perspective it becomes diluted when implemented at the plant level with several unnecessary requirements that do not help grow the employee. While I appreciate the "internship is what you make it" mentality, I would have liked a little more guidance and expectations so I could devote myself to learning one or two skills very well as opposed to a myriad of them (jack of all trades).

    Advice to Management

    Give your interns defined meaningful work that can be implemented from plant to plant. I was fortunate for my plant to have plenty of work to give me, but I know other interns who were not so lucky.

    Niagara Bottling Response

    Mar 30, 2015

    We have certainly taken the feedback for interns from last year to heart and will be looking to have a great summer with our interns building on the feedback and structure from previous years ... More

  10. Promises promises

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ontario, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ontario, CA (US)

    I worked at Niagara Bottling full-time (more than 5 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Water sale, fresh fruit and most of the staff were ok.

    Cons

    Well where to begin there are so many, first and foremost compensation is lacking most salaries do not meet local or national standards. If you don't come in at a high salary your future increases will be disappointing since increase is based on a percentage of your current salary. When coming on board recruiting made big promises to get you in giving the impression that within first year you will get at least 2 more pay increases. HR loves to use the lateral move to get out of pay increases despite job duties being second tier skill set. Lots of staff get the carrot dangled in front of them. It's a shame it could be a great place to work if the politics nepotism and the owners treating staff as their personal staff would go away. Pointing fingers has to stop and leaders need to take accountability. Give staff money there are no year end nothing no bonuses for non-executive staff. It disheartening for staff to see exec in new cars new hand bags like people don't notice. What upper management and owners forget if it wasn't for the fact people need a job and will tolerate most anything because they have families not because they love their jobs. Just look at the track record high turn around inability to attract new staff speaks volumes it's too bad Niagara is deaf.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house too many managers and executives. If a team bombs you get rid of the coach.

    Niagara Bottling Response

    Mar 30, 2015

    We appreciate the points you have explained and the perception you had while working with Niagara. We are working very hard to get better alignment with shifting markets across the US. Feedback ... More

  11. resume builder, but painful

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ontario, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ontario, CA (US)

    I worked at Niagara Bottling full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    you get work experience and training to put on your resume for your job applications to get you out of here. i got a significant raise (compensation, benefits and work culture) when i got another offer.

    Cons

    1. house of unnecessary secrecy: upper management withholds information from subordinates so they never understand why they are working their lives away.
    2. when things go wrong, many people's first reactions is to find a place to point the finger of blame. expect to spend a significant portion of your time explaining yourself to upper management even when you're doing everything perfectly right.
    3. low pay, low benefits, low vertical mobility unless you're in "the club" or network your way into "the club"
    4. pay was exceptionally low for a position on which i could be contacted any time after hours to work.

    Advice to Management

    stop promising raises and promotions when you don't intend to give it out. it's better not to offer it than to dangle it and not give it to us.

Niagara Bottling Photos

Work at Niagara Bottling? Share Your Experiences

Niagara Bottling

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.