Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Click here to learn more

Sleep Number by Select Comfort Reviews

Updated 16 April 2015
194 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Great place to work

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN (US)
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Indianapolis, IN (US)

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    The compensation is very good! Management is supportive and the training is very thorough. It is a rewarding job where you can build a relationship with the clients.

    Cons

    May be hard to find work-life balance because of the night and weekend hours that you work, which is typical for a retail position. They will work with you as much as possible though.

    Advice to Management

    Check on employees on a regular basis to make sure they are getting the upport and opportunities for advancement that they desire!

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 09, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We are so glad to hear that you are finding your position within Sleep Number to be rewarding and we truly do appreciate the relationships that you are building with our customers. Thank you for the ... More

  2. It is a great entry level opportunity!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Minneapolis, MN (US)
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Minneapolis, MN (US)

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    It is decent pay for entry level, and it's a good place to "get your feet wet" get some experience.

    Cons

    Working in customer service can become like a labryinth! You think you are getting somewhere with promotions to different teams, but in the end you end up "stuck" in customer service. Few make it out of customer service and into different departments.

    Advice to Management

    It would be nice to get a bonus at Christmas time. It is something to do community events for others, and we have employee's that need help just as much.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 09, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding the growth and development of our Customer Service Professionals as well as additional opportunities to support our employees. I ... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    Great Product-Great job-Terrible management

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Richmond, VA (US)
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Richmond, VA (US)

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    Pros

    The product really does sell itself.
    Got to sell what I loved
    Great customers

    Cons

    Management was poor
    You are basically customer service even though you tell them to call customer service themselves if they have a problem from the beginning
    Cold calling
    Customers give you way to much personal info
    Pay

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Dec 19, 2014Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We value your feedback and have taken this to the appropriate parties.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (5)

    A severe culture decline over the last few years

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Plymouth, MN (US)
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Plymouth, MN (US)

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    The pay and benefits are good.

    Cons

    They are an 'out with old in with the new' company these days. Do not try and bring your personality or ideas with you.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the advice and recommendation of the professionals at the management level.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 16, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! I'm sorry if you felt that your ideas and recommendations were not heard or acted on. Should you wish to further discuss your concerns please feel ... More

  6. Helpful (3)

    Sales professional

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sale Professional in Portland, OR (US)
    Former Employee - Sale Professional in Portland, OR (US)

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Great place to work if you like long slow hours .. Slow at times. Not a very hard physical job

    Cons

    Management and upper management CEO. They like to keep you confused on all the sales . They usually have 3 different sales going on at the same time. Causing sales professional to lose their commission

    Advice to Management

    Train store managers how to truly lead , not lead by insulting employees while on the sales floor in front of customers

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Dec 19, 2014Human Capital Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review! I am passing your comments about the commission/sales and management concerns to the appropriate teams at the home office. Should you wish to ... More

  7. Simply Wonderful!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN (US)
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN (US)

    I have been working at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 3 years)

    Approves of CEO
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great culture.
    Great work life balance for retail.
    Top notch Senior Leadership!!!

    Cons

    None that I can think of! Great long term vision and direction.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Nov 21, 2014Human Capital

    Thank you for sharing your positive feedback!

  8. Helpful (1)

    Floater=sewer/inspecter/zipper cell/double serger/coverlets/v-tech/pinner

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Floater in Irmo, SC (US)
    Former Employee - Floater in Irmo, SC (US)

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than 3 years)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    They dont mind letting you learn to do different things. Act all friendly to your face or while you are letting them make you work 4 or 5 different jobs in one night.

    Cons

    will not pay you what you are worth. will hire new people on and start them off making more money than the workers that have been there 3 years. If you aint in the "Buddy Buddy system" you are going NO WHERE. Supervisors have their pick of who is getting a certain job even before such job is posted and will start training that person before the job is posted, so that when it is posted, Their pick is already qualified for the job.Supervisors should step up and make their own decisions instead of listening to the line leads who are playing the system

    Advice to Management

    Make some major changes at this plant.Make line leads learn every job on their line.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Jan 02, 2015Human Capital Operations Specialist

    We appreciate your review and are disappointed that you did not have a good experience in our Irmo plant. Your feedback will be further reviewed here at the home office. Thank you again for taking ... More

  9. Helpful (3)

    Poorly run.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Professional
    Former Employee - Sales Professional

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Money can be good at times but usually not. Store was close to my home so travel time was good.

    Cons

    Too many to list. Poor management from top to bottom. Upper management does not care about you or your family. Bottom line is all that matters. If you were lucky enough to hit your goal they just raise it the next month so it's impossible to hit again. Then if you don't hit your goal you get written up, too many write ups and you're fired. You are told that you will get a work schedule a few weeks in advance but usually it's only a few days before that month begins, also the schedule is always subject to change so good luck making plans to do anything. If you have a family especially small children look elsewhere for a job because you will never see them. I had to come home early from being out of town on vacation because my district manager decided last minute to have a meeting and everyone had to be there. Bottom line... This place is not a good place to work unless you like long hours with little payoff and no time for your family.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees. They're not just names on a print out, they are people with lives and families. Pay more for the work they do.

  10. good company to work for

    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Minneapolis, MN (US)
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Minneapolis, MN (US)

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    They car about their employees, and have different events to show appreciation.

    Cons

    Very strict on hours, being 60 seconds late is equal to missing half a days work, 2 minutes equal to missing an entire day.

    Sleep Number by Select Comfort Response

    Nov 21, 2014Human Capital

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's great to see that you enjoyed the different appreciation events we have in our Customer Relationship Center!

  11. Great products, sales process!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Valencia, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Sales Professional in Valencia, CA (US)

    I worked at Sleep Number by Select Comfort full-time (more than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Selling of a product line and accessories that is extremely easy to believe in is a big +! Performance based compensation w/ a base salary allows for growth and stability. Key performers recognized publicly makes for a positive workplace environment. Sales staff is encouraged to try out the products at home and become owner's.

    -

    Cons

    Individual goals and numbers not based on LY performance and appear to be completely arbitrary. Promotions from within are not always based on achievements numbers-wise at the store level.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in more training of the store/district management to recognize the strengths/abilities/weaknesses of the retail staff and store leadership.

Sleep Number by Select Comfort Photos

Work at Sleep Number by Select Comfort? Share Your Experiences

Sleep Number by Select Comfort

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.