Supermedia Reviews

Updated 5 October 2014
Updated 5 October 2014
312 Reviews
2.1
312 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Supermedia CEO Peter J. McDonald
Peter J. McDonald
158 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Benefits are good, commission not bad and my co-workers are great (in 41 reviews)

  • Great working conditions, tops in pay and benefits (in 16 reviews)


Cons
  • 90% of the companies profits come from yellow pages which nobody uses anymore (in 41 reviews)

  • Upper management takes care of themselves - no loyalty for those of us who have been loyal (in 18 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Media Consultant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Holyoke, MA (US)
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Holyoke, MA (US)

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to earn good money and help local businesses.

    Cons

    High pressure and highly competitive field of digital advertising.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Sep 05, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We're glad to know that your overall experience working with SuperMedia was a positive one! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you, Ed.

  2.  

    A horrible company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Los Angeles, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Los Angeles, CA (US)

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Customers are great. Too bad they have to deal with this company.

    Cons

    Horrible management from the top to mid-level to lover level.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Shut it down once and for all, instead of changing the company name each time you file for bankruptcy

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Oct 07, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We're sorry to hear that your confidence in management was low while employed with the company. The concerns and needs of of our employees comes second to none.

    We have a very employee
    ... More

  3.  

    Unsatisfactory

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Media Consultant in Beaverton, OR (US)
    Current Employee - Inside Media Consultant in Beaverton, OR (US)

    I have been working at Supermedia full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good people. Full benefits. Health Insurance. 401k. Paid time off. Paid holidays etc.

    Cons

    Nobody wants their product. 90% of the companies profits come from yellow pages which nobody uses anymore. Company is scrambling like mad to sell electronic advertising. Their offering is weak and they want customers to sign a one year contract for online advertising. Which makes people very suspicious. If the advertising worked, wouldn't the customer continue to renew it on a month to month basis? But making them sign something that says they are going to the company say $3000 every 30 days for a year whether it works or not is fishy. Company once had good bonuses but that has all been eliminated. Used to be a great place to work. It's one of the worst now. Stay away.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Oct 02, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi. We're sorry to hear about the dissatisfaction you've outlined regarding the company and products offered. We would love the opportunity to discuss your concerns as we certainly want employees to ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review
  5.  

    Sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Supermedia

    Pros

    Pros are the benefits started from day one. And had unlimited tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    company set unrealistic goals that were unattainable and no one was able to meet them turnover was very high

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Sep 05, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you greatly for posting your pros and cons regarding current employment. Be assured that your feedback will not go unheard as we encourage employees to voice their work experiences and ... More

  6.  

    The worst place I have ever worked in my entire life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Telephone Media Consultant
    Current Employee - Telephone Media Consultant

    I have been working at Supermedia full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    You can make money if you lie about how great the products are!!, The products do not work, and you will just make businesses owners hate you if you sell them. Benefits are the only thing good about this place.

    Cons

    Worst place I have ever worked by far. Constant micro-management and you are always treated like you are a 5 year old. It will stress you out so bad that it will make you depressed. You are only as good as your last sale. Management is flooding your email box with threats and quota reminders every 30 minutes. Do not work here, your life will so negatively impacted if you do.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    CHANGE EVERYTHING! Treat people with respect!!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Sep 22, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We’re happy to have you on the team as a valued employee and greatly appreciate your feedback. The issues that you’ve outlined regarding your employment and unhappiness with our products is very ... More

  7.  

    Lacked focus on customer service.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    insurance benefits, flexibility with hours

    Cons

    Lacked leadership and core values

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be honest

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Aug 06, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your past employment experience with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback that you've offered. -Ed

  8.  

    Great work environment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Tyler, TX (US)
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Tyler, TX (US)

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    I worked from home so I didn't have to go into an office very often.

    Cons

    Nothing really, could use better annual pay increases than 1-2%.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Better annual pay increases than 1-2%.

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Jul 21, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    We appreciate your service as a former employee and also for taking the time out to provide your review. Thank you! Ed

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    Avoid Supermedia or Dex Media or whatever name they are going by at all costs.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Boston, MA (US)
    Former Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Boston, MA (US)

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    The benefits were OK. The potential for earning money was always there, but the product fulfillment issues, the abusive price hikes and the company's unwillingness to be flexible with clients made it very hard to keep those commissions or the clients.

    Cons

    Flavor of the week product pushing which would wreck existing client relationships, the constant "I'm not threatening your job, I'm just saying what could likely happen..." sort of management, the micromanaging but at the same time, complete cluelessness about what is going on or what the sales reps are working on. One manager told me they really couldn't see the details of what a rep put in to the CRM software. Great.

    Product fulfillment that never happens right, and there's very little way to correct it or make it right for the client. The prices that are so far out of line with the market that it's almost laughable. The company is top-heavy with managers who are left over from when the yellow pages was a desirable and viable product, who are all scrambling to hang on to their jobs by pointing the fingers at the reps...it was akin to blaming the cattle for bleeding on the slaughterhouse floor when clients left angry because of an 8% price increase, or the company not canceling their account and still demanding payment for those extra months, or the annual dance of meeting a new sales rep/media consultant/marketingconsultant/whatever the company thinks is the right name and then hearing about how the product which is not delivering results is actually -- according to this data that the company provides -- working great.

    Many of the managers, and most of the trainers I encountered, actually could not sell well at all -- the head of training in my office had no clue about real challenges, and would reply with "just say this..." and recite something that would really just insult the client.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it simple: stick with what works, stop forcing clients into "bundles", keep your existing client base -- which is 80% small and medium sized businesses -- happy by working with them the way they work with all of their clients: we present ourselves as the advertising agency for small businesses, then we should actually be the advertising agency, not just an advertising big-box style warehouse.

    Don't make promises and then back out on them, like that Del Vegas horror show sales incentive that was canceled after hyping it to everyone ("we're all going to Vegas for a three day trip! All of us!"...."Pack your bags, 'cause we're going!"..."oh, um...we aren't going, but you people are just the best and we really mean it."

    Get rid of your old cronies who are still hanging around from the Verizon and Bell Atlantic days.

    Unless you're in front of the client and listening to what that client complains about, don't decide your financial losses are the result of unskilled reps.

    You had a team of great reps, who knew the market inside and out, and instead of seeing how to capitalize on that, you simply took the approach of "that's not what our data says..."

    And hey, cute online reputation management responses to the reviews. I know, you're glad I enjoyed some of my time at the job. That's nice.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Aug 21, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi, we're sorry to hear that your overall experience with the company was not satisfactory for you. Be assured that we encourage all feedback, from past and current employees as it's the only way we ... More

  10.  

    Scampering to stay profitable in a declining market.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Real Estate and Facilities in Middleton, MA (US)
    Former Employee - Real Estate and Facilities in Middleton, MA (US)

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent Management scattered throughout the company. Strong sense of teamwork.

    Cons

    The company was in it's glory about 30 years ago and has been adjusting to the changing marketing environment since. Paper phone books are becoming a thing of the past and so is Supermedia. Attempts are being made to be current and profitable but at the cost of employee reduction,

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stay innovative.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Jul 21, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you kindly for posting your review. We welcome all feedback as it means a lot while the company moves forward into the future. Ed

  11.  

    Pay is great...Too many chiefs and not enough Indians.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    They really invest in their employees...2 month training that's paid for, incentive trips, great uncap commissions, bonuses and contest every 2 weeks.

    Cons

    Company is struggling and losing too much business too fast. Not sure they have enough quality leaders/employees to get the job done.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Make the job more fun and bring life back into the work force. Stop pulling employees in every direction...Focus on one specific task and motivate them. Whipping them will not get the job done.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

Work at Supermedia? Share Your Experiences

Supermedia

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.