Supermedia

  www.supermedia.com
  www.supermedia.com

Supermedia Reviews

Updated 12 November 2014
Updated 12 November 2014
315 Reviews
2.1
315 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Supermedia CEO Peter J. McDonald
Peter J. McDonald
160 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Benefits are good, commission not bad and my co-workers are great (in 42 reviews)

  • Great working conditions, tops in pay and benefits (in 16 reviews)


Cons
  • 90% of the companies profits come from yellow pages which nobody uses anymore (in 41 reviews)

  • Upper management takes care of themselves - no loyalty for those of us who have been loyal (in 18 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. 1 person found this helpful  

    Good company to work for

    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia

    Pros

    Great management to work with

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    None

    Supermedia Response

    Nov 5, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you so much for your tenure with the company, and for taking the time to post your feedback. It's greatly appreciate! -Ed

  2.  

    Manager

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Very close to home and very good hours.

    Cons

    New Management did not know the business

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Listen to employees

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Nov 14, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you for your providing 10 + years of dedicated service to the company! Our management team works diligently to excel at their leadership duties and to make sure that our employees have what ... More

  3.  

    Media Consultant

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Holyoke, MA (US)
    Former Employee - Media Consultant in Holyoke, MA (US)

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to earn good money and help local businesses.

    Cons

    High pressure and highly competitive field of digital advertising.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Sep 5, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We're glad to know that your overall experience working with SuperMedia was a positive one! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Thank you, Ed.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    A horrible company

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Los Angeles, CA (US)
    Former Employee - Premise Media Consultant in Los Angeles, CA (US)

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Customers are great. Too bad they have to deal with this company.

    Cons

    Horrible management from the top to mid-level to lover level.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Shut it down once and for all, instead of changing the company name each time you file for bankruptcy

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Oct 7, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We're sorry to hear that your confidence in management was low while employed with the company. The concerns and needs of of our employees comes second to none.

    We have a very employee
    ... More

  6.  

    Unsatisfactory

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Inside Media Consultant in Beaverton, OR (US)
    Current Employee - Inside Media Consultant in Beaverton, OR (US)

    I have been working at Supermedia full-time (more than 8 years)

    Pros

    Good people. Full benefits. Health Insurance. 401k. Paid time off. Paid holidays etc.

    Cons

    Nobody wants their product. 90% of the companies profits come from yellow pages which nobody uses anymore. Company is scrambling like mad to sell electronic advertising. Their offering is weak and they want customers to sign a one year contract for online advertising. Which makes people very suspicious. If the advertising worked, wouldn't the customer continue to renew it on a month to month basis? But making them sign something that says they are going to the company say $3000 every 30 days for a year whether it works or not is fishy. Company once had good bonuses but that has all been eliminated. Used to be a great place to work. It's one of the worst now. Stay away.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Oct 2, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi. We're sorry to hear about the dissatisfaction you've outlined regarding the company and products offered. We would love the opportunity to discuss your concerns as we certainly want employees to ... More

  7.  

    Sales

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Supermedia

    Pros

    Pros are the benefits started from day one. And had unlimited tuition reimbursement

    Cons

    company set unrealistic goals that were unattainable and no one was able to meet them turnover was very high

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Sep 5, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- Thank you greatly for posting your pros and cons regarding current employment. Be assured that your feedback will not go unheard as we encourage employees to voice their work experiences and ... More

  8.  

    Lacked focus on customer service.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    insurance benefits, flexibility with hours

    Cons

    Lacked leadership and core values

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Be honest

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Aug 6, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your past employment experience with us. We greatly appreciate the feedback that you've offered. -Ed

  9.  

    The worst place I have ever worked in my entire life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Telephone Media Consultant
    Current Employee - Telephone Media Consultant

    I have been working at Supermedia full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    You can make money if you lie about how great the products are!!, The products do not work, and you will just make businesses owners hate you if you sell them. Benefits are the only thing good about this place.

    Cons

    Worst place I have ever worked by far. Constant micro-management and you are always treated like you are a 5 year old. It will stress you out so bad that it will make you depressed. You are only as good as your last sale. Management is flooding your email box with threats and quota reminders every 30 minutes. Do not work here, your life will so negatively impacted if you do.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    CHANGE EVERYTHING! Treat people with respect!!

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Sep 22, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Hi- We’re happy to have you on the team as a valued employee and greatly appreciate your feedback. The issues that you’ve outlined regarding your employment and unhappiness with our products is very ... More

  10.  

    Great work environment

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Tyler, TX (US)
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Tyler, TX (US)

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    I worked from home so I didn't have to go into an office very often.

    Cons

    Nothing really, could use better annual pay increases than 1-2%.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Better annual pay increases than 1-2%.

    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Jul 21, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    We appreciate your service as a former employee and also for taking the time out to provide your review. Thank you! Ed

  11. 1 person found this helpful  

    Scampering to stay profitable in a declining market.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Real Estate and Facilities in Middleton, MA (US)
    Former Employee - Real Estate and Facilities in Middleton, MA (US)

    I worked at Supermedia full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent Management scattered throughout the company. Strong sense of teamwork.

    Cons

    The company was in it's glory about 30 years ago and has been adjusting to the changing marketing environment since. Paper phone books are becoming a thing of the past and so is Supermedia. Attempts are being made to be current and profitable but at the cost of employee reduction,

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Stay innovative.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Supermedia Response

    Jul 21, 2014Reputation Management Coordinator

    Thank you kindly for posting your review. We welcome all feedback as it means a lot while the company moves forward into the future. Ed

Work at Supermedia? Share Your Experiences

Supermedia

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.