Towers Watson

  www.towerswatson.com
  www.towerswatson.com

Towers Watson Reviews

Updated 15 December 2014
Updated 15 December 2014
406 Reviews
3.3
406 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Towers Watson CEO John Haley
John Haley
194 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • I like that they focus a lot on employee health and work/ life balance (in 30 reviews)

  • Flexible work environment depending upon the office and the manager (in 29 reviews)


Cons
  • A lot of reviews have quoted an excellent work/life balance but I don't see it (in 52 reviews)

  • No work life balance during peak seasons (in 12 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Investment analyst

    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in London, England
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in London, England

    I have been working at Towers Watson full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    Culture study package training opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours not much meritocracy to get ahead early on

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  2.  

    Nice environment but not inclusive

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Towers Watson full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Working environment is nice
    Associates are polite and respectful

    Cons

    Can be a bit more edgy
    It is not inclusive

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
  3.  

    Instant high pressure with NO training

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant

    I worked at Towers Watson full-time (less than an year)

    Pros

    The team I worked with were hard working. You were able to leave on time and there was no requirement to work weekends.

    Cons

    There was no training given at all, even if they new that you had no previous experience in any role similar. When you asked for some it was not given. The managers were dismissive and appeared not to care for their employees. The lunch break was meant to be an hour, this was cut to 15-20 mins if they were feeling generous. If they felt that you call turn around time was not within the two minuet target (very hard when you get lonely pensioner on the phone, or a difficult and complicated case) then disciplinary action would be taken. The pay was not very good. It all felt very impersonal and you did not feel valued, if you did a good job there would be no recognition. Overall it was poor, and I would not recommend them to anyone.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Towers Watson Response

    Nov 05, 2014Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All associates who join our pensions administration and contact centre teams now go on a full induction before being placed on a team to ensure they ... More

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5.  

    Good people, good employment terms, but not very dynamic.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Cambridge, East of England, England

    I have been working at Towers Watson full-time

    Pros

    Good pay & benefits, flexible hours, relaxed and low stress. The people are good, and close interaction with the actuaries who use and sell our software is a benefit. Software is increasingly recognised within Towers Watson as a major part of the business and prioritised by management.

    Cons

    Lots of corporate nonsense can be irritating and dis-empowering. Limited domain (actuarial modelling software and associated enterprise systems), conservative customers (insurance companies) and being Windows-only can mean limited opportunity to experiment with new and cool technologies or ideas. Limited scope to move between teams/products at will.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Towers Watson Response

    Nov 05, 2014Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your comments - I have passed these onto the software team.

  6.  

    Drive your own career

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Reigate, England
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Reigate, England

    I have been working at Towers Watson full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people. My team are brilliant to work with and there are some very inspiring associates throughout all regions and areas of the business. As part of HR you get to participate in initiatives such as the 'connectivity committee' which is an associate listening programme where you get to input ideas and give feedback.

    Cons

    It is a big company so you have to find your niche I suppose.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
  7.  

    A good company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Current Employee - Director in London, England

    I have been working at Towers Watson full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Leading edge intellectual capital in the industry
    Smart colleagues who work collaboratively to help
    Flexible work/life policies
    Ease of work experiences in other countries

    Cons

    Since the Towers Perrin and Watson Wyatt merger in 2010, there is more internal bureaucracy to deal with, and Lines of Business think more in silos nowadays.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Find a way to more easily bring our best people and best work to our clients, regardless of who "owns" the work or client relationship.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Towers Watson Response

    Oct 09, 2014Segment Lead Recruiter

    Thanks for the positive comments and constructive feedback.

  8.  

    Professional organisation doing good things - a bit stiff and boring though.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England

    I worked at Towers Watson full-time

    Pros

    Good name, good services and good people

    Cons

    No clear goals that make business sense

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Let go of the hierarchy and be more inclusive to all levels when thinking about innovation

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Towers Watson Response

    Oct 09, 2014Segment Lead Recruiter

    Thanks for your positive comments. We think agree that we have good people! Thanks for the constructive advice as well.

  9.  

    A professional, generally well-run company, but change is slow

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Developer in Reigate, England
    Former Employee - Senior Developer in Reigate, England

    I worked at Towers Watson full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    A great place to work if you want to be in a pretty large financial services company, and you like being based in a pleasant market town rather than The City.

    Cons

    In my area, many folks had been in post for many decades. Nothing wrong with this in principle but when long-timers dominate a department it can be impossible to effect change.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Watch the demographics of every department; keep a balance of innovators and handle-crankers.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Towers Watson Response

    Oct 09, 2014Segment Lead Recruiter

    Thanks for your comments about Reigate, it's a great town. Our software areas are growing across several lines of business so thank you for your remarks and please do communicate these with your ... More

  10.  

    Investment consulting department

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Investment Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - Investment Consultant in London, England

    I worked at Towers Watson full-time (more than 5 years)

    Pros

    Excellent family of intelligent people

    Cons

    None that I consider worth mentioning

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    More focus needed on sustainable investments. No harm in considering Impact investing / Micro-credit.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Towers Watson Response

    Oct 09, 2014Segment Lead Recruiter

    Thanks for your review!

  11.  

    Satisfactory but not challenging

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Investment Analyst
    Former Employee - Investment Analyst

    I worked at Towers Watson full-time

    Pros

    Good colleagues and working environment. This is very important because you are able to ask senior people for advice and stressful moments are infrequent. Competitive basic package.

    Cons

    Rigid structures mean that the job can be very monotonous. Also there are very little performance rewards/penalties to differentiate in employee performance.
    Structure seems top heavy.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Need to make more effort to be offering varied, challenging work to junior employees.

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Towers Watson Response

    Oct 09, 2014Segment Lead Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have been working on improving performance feedback and career rating guidance so hopefully this will address some of your concerns.

Work at Towers Watson? Share Your Experiences

Towers Watson

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.