Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies. Click here to learn more

Towers Watson Reviews

Updated 23 April 2015
468 reviews filtered by
  • Any Location
  • Any Job Title

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1. Investment analyst

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in London, England
    Current Employee - Investment Analyst in London, England

    I have been working at Towers Watson full-time (Less than a year)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Culture study package training opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours not much meritocracy to get ahead early on

  2. Helpful (3)

    Instant high pressure with NO training

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant

    I worked at Towers Watson full-time (Less than a year)

    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    The team I worked with were hard working. You were able to leave on time and there was no requirement to work weekends.

    Cons

    There was no training given at all, even if they new that you had no previous experience in any role similar. When you asked for some it was not given. The managers were dismissive and appeared not to care for their employees. The lunch break was meant to be an hour, this was cut to 15-20 mins if they were feeling generous. If they felt that you call turn around time was not within the two minuet target (very hard when you get lonely pensioner on the phone, or a difficult and complicated case) then disciplinary action would be taken. The pay was not very good. It all felt very impersonal and you did not feel valued, if you did a good job there would be no recognition. Overall it was poor, and I would not recommend them to anyone.

    Towers Watson Response

    Nov 05, 2014Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All associates who join our pensions administration and contact centre teams now go on a full induction before being placed on a team to ensure they ... More

  3. Drive your own career

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Reigate, England
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Reigate, England

    I have been working at Towers Watson full-time (More than 3 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people. My team are brilliant to work with and there are some very inspiring associates throughout all regions and areas of the business. As part of HR you get to participate in initiatives such as the 'connectivity committee' which is an associate listening programme where you get to input ideas and give feedback.

    Cons

    It is a big company so you have to find your niche I suppose.

  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. A good company to work for

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Current Employee - Director in London, England

    I have been working at Towers Watson full-time (More than 10 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Leading edge intellectual capital in the industry
    Smart colleagues who work collaboratively to help
    Flexible work/life policies
    Ease of work experiences in other countries

    Cons

    Since the Towers Perrin and Watson Wyatt merger in 2010, there is more internal bureaucracy to deal with, and Lines of Business think more in silos nowadays.

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to more easily bring our best people and best work to our clients, regardless of who "owns" the work or client relationship.

    Towers Watson Response

    Oct 09, 2014Segment Lead Recruiter

    Thanks for the positive comments and constructive feedback.

  6. Professional organisation doing good things - a bit stiff and boring though.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England

    I worked at Towers Watson full-time

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Good name, good services and good people

    Cons

    No clear goals that make business sense

    Advice to Management

    Let go of the hierarchy and be more inclusive to all levels when thinking about innovation

    Towers Watson Response

    Oct 09, 2014Segment Lead Recruiter

    Thanks for your positive comments. We think agree that we have good people! Thanks for the constructive advice as well.

  7. A professional, generally well-run company, but change is slow

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Senior Developer in Reigate, England
    Former Employee - Senior Developer in Reigate, England

    I worked at Towers Watson full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    A great place to work if you want to be in a pretty large financial services company, and you like being based in a pleasant market town rather than The City.

    Cons

    In my area, many folks had been in post for many decades. Nothing wrong with this in principle but when long-timers dominate a department it can be impossible to effect change.

    Advice to Management

    Watch the demographics of every department; keep a balance of innovators and handle-crankers.

    Towers Watson Response

    Oct 09, 2014Segment Lead Recruiter

    Thanks for your comments about Reigate, it's a great town. Our software areas are growing across several lines of business so thank you for your remarks and please do communicate these with your ... More

  8. Investment consulting department

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Investment Consultant in London, England
    Former Employee - Investment Consultant in London, England

    I worked at Towers Watson full-time (More than 5 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Excellent family of intelligent people

    Cons

    None that I consider worth mentioning

    Advice to Management

    More focus needed on sustainable investments. No harm in considering Impact investing / Micro-credit.

    Towers Watson Response

    Oct 09, 2014Segment Lead Recruiter

    Thanks for your review!

  9. Satisfactory but not challenging

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Investment Analyst
    Former Employee - Investment Analyst

    I worked at Towers Watson full-time

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Good colleagues and working environment. This is very important because you are able to ask senior people for advice and stressful moments are infrequent. Competitive basic package.

    Cons

    Rigid structures mean that the job can be very monotonous. Also there are very little performance rewards/penalties to differentiate in employee performance.
    Structure seems top heavy.

    Advice to Management

    Need to make more effort to be offering varied, challenging work to junior employees.

    Towers Watson Response

    Oct 09, 2014Segment Lead Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have been working on improving performance feedback and career rating guidance so hopefully this will address some of your concerns.

  10. Helpful (1)

    Incompetent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Actuarial
    Current Employee - Actuarial

    I have been working at Towers Watson full-time

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Not a single thing is good

    Cons

    As a junior actuary I want to learn. To grow. To become the best at what I do.
    All I have done for the past year was cleaning data. When confronting management about this, they confirm that this will continue for the next 4 to 5 years, and even worse even people with 12 years of experience are still doing this.

    The methods we use are out-dated to say the very least. In our whole office there are only 3 people who knows how to program in VBA. If I suggest a better approach it is shot down almost immediately.

    I compare myself to my other actuarial friends in other companies and they are doing far more advanced things after 3 or 4 months than what I am doing after 1 year.

    The junior actuaries hired (and a large number of senior actuaries as well), are completely useless as well with one girl who will become a qualified actuary in a few years asked me (to mention one of the few stupid questions) how to concatenate 2 cells in excel.

    Another asking me what SC is exactly after working at TW for 7 months...

    Good talent is leaving TW.

    Advice to Management

    DO NOT EMPLOY IDIOTS. Set up a testing system in which candidates much attain a certain level to be considered to join TW.

    Towers Watson Response

    Oct 09, 2014Segment Lead Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're disappointed to hear your negative comments. We have a graduate recruitment process with a vigorous assessment criteria, which we hope ensures ... More

  11. Great for those who are starting out

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Reigate, England
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Reigate, England

    I have been working at Towers Watson full-time (More than 8 years)

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Working with people who have a wealth of experience in the field
    Everyone is very helpful
    Most people are easy to work with

    Cons

    People complain about salaries
    People move to other firms as they provide better salaries
    Management does not seem to do anything about attrition

    Advice to Management

    Review salaries and make adjustments to address the attrition rate

    Towers Watson Response

    Oct 09, 2014Segment Lead Recruiter

    Thank you for your comments. Towers Watson operates a Total Rewards Package which we believe is competitive in the market but please do discuss this with your line manager as part of your ongoing ... More

Work at Towers Watson? Share Your Experiences

Towers Watson

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.