blinkx Reviews

Updated 5 October 2014
Updated 5 October 2014
78 Reviews
3.1
78 Reviews
Rating Trends

Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
blinkx CEO S. Brian Mukherjee
S. Brian Mukherjee
37 Ratings

Review Highlights

Pros
  • Good compensation, good benefits, flexible hours and good opportunities for advancement (in 6 reviews)

  • They also provide free snacks/beverages and do a staff lunch every Thursday which is generous of them (in 4 reviews)


Cons
  • Worst senior management team (at least from engineering perspective) I've ever worked with (in 7 reviews)

  • There is no one leading the company (in 6 reviews)

More Highlights

Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date
  1.  

    Great company going places

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Snack Director in London, England
    Current Employee - Snack Director in London, England

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than 10 years)

    Pros

    Really dynamic place, it is clear there is something going on behind the scenes. No one overly concerned about the latest results and are looking at the future.

    Cons

    The snacks are not that good, you coudl always do with longer holidays and I wish I had more options because they are going to be worth loads soon

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep it up we are all behind you. The best company I have ever worked for and I started Apple witht hose other two guys.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you so much for your review! You are a blinkx rockstar with over 10 years tenure! Blinkx is committed to continuing to develop a work environment that is diverse, collaborative, and encouraging ... More

  2. 3 people found this helpful  

    um... actually, on the whole, I rather like it here.

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx

    Pros

    You get to own projects
    Your work goes to make a real difference to the company (unlike other places i've worked - where it gets lost in the system)
    Pay and benefits are pretty good
    Good locations
    Interesting tech
    Generally a good bunch of people to work with

    Cons

    Hard work and long hours
    Lack of communication from management
    Recent high turn around of staff
    Some good projects turn into dead ends

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Dont let good people go
    More (any) advance warning of projects
    Work with the tech team instead of driving them

    Approves of CEO
  3. 1 person found this helpful  

    Like working in a third world sweat shop run by really angry robots...

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx

    Pros

    Good location
    Free lunch on Fridays
    Some good people (management excluded)
    Helps you understand how not to run a business.

    Cons

    Really boring, lifeless, uninspiring management team.
    Totally overhyped PR. Most is completely fictional.
    Rubbish product. Lets face it, who in the real world has ever heard of blinkx!! Where are these users? If you take out the porn there is no one left...
    Useless management team with no idea about the media industry.
    Culture of aggression, secrecy and leadership through fear.
    Do not work for this company.
    They don't promote people... period...

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Get some management training asap or resign
    Start behaving like humans
    Sort out the content on the site. Its rubbish..

    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO
  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review
  5. 2 people found this helpful  

    blinkx: "Comfy Corporates" need not apply

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Ex-Blinkx Employee
    Former Employee - Ex-Blinkx Employee

    I worked at blinkx

    Pros

    A great team of hardworking, personable and social people.
    Hot industry, cool technology
    Management allow autonomy and control to those who show to be committed, capable and trustworthy
    A fantastic product set, which attracts new customers easily, which brings with it job satisfaction, and handsome financial rewards which are easily achieved by those prepared to put the work in.
    Management are (despite so many neg reviews) very supportive and open to ideas, and open change, especially to those who have proved capable, consistent, clear, concise and hardworking.
    Backed with finance and expertise from some of the most successful people in the FTSE100 software markets.

    Cons

    Small, cramped office space
    Lacking in time and resource, 100% of the team work long hours, are all tired, worn out, and need more people to help them do their jobs effectively without complete burnout.
    blinkx will not appeal to those looking for a 'comfy corporate'
    A pretty grim place for developers looking to get into the zone.
    Hot tempered management.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Improve internal communications regards commercial strategies as they happen
    Avoid shouting at employees in front of entire teams. A public outburst completely shatters what it likely to be a highly valuable employee which you cannot afford to loose. Those who witness it will question the strength/skills of management and jump on it to create negatives messages throughout the company. If you really feel the need to shout at someone, just do it in a private office, you will be respected for it.
    Otherwise, keep doing what you're doing - it's all good

    Approves of CEO
  6. 3 people found this helpful  

    Great perks, some instability

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at blinkx

    Pros

    Small office with a relaxed atmosphere and great group of employees. Challenging work and an opportunity to learn a variety of areas

    Cons

    Some instability, including high turnover. Not a lot of room for advancement

    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for the review. Blinkx does provide great benefits to its employees and we are glad you agree! Our company has become more efficient and strategic in the past year, which comes with changes ... More

  7.  

    Great Company!

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA (US)

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    Great working environment with flexible work life balance, which is good for my family life. Good pay and benefits. I really feel part of the team, and it was clear my work is appreciated and my hard efforts do go rewarded.

    I have found my team leaders/management to be both responsive and helpful. So am not sure why so many reviews here are so negative.

    Blinkx has many exciting products and is being well lead by senior management (even if the current mood of investors is very negative towards the company, it is not so for those of us working here).

    Cons

    Expect employees to work hard. So if this is not you then you may find life hard.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep up the good work. I expect our hard work will bear fruit shortly.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you feel part of the team! We strive to create a great team that works together. Our challenges make us stronger and as you ... More

  8. 4 people found this helpful  

    Not worthy of your talent

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Technical in Seattle, WA (US)
    Former Employee - Technical in Seattle, WA (US)

    I worked at blinkx full-time (more than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, paid holidays, vacation time.

    Cons

    Lack of vision and leadership and desperation in product development are the norm at this place. At one point management said the only message from the CEO was "revenue needs to go up, and costs need to go down." That is not leadership. Basically it seems that management has a suite of old, disliked products that are considered annoyances to most users and Internet companies and instead of trying to innovate a new direction on the model, they are simply patching and reshaping the old stuff in a desperate attempt to keep them ticking. It's a dying strategy. Most of management's role seems to be to watch graphs and say "fix it now!" when the numbers aren't what they want.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Leadership comes from the top, not trying to force your employees to come up with "get rich quick" ideas or patching your already disliked products to squeak out one more month of life. Punishing your best employees by taking away their bonuses that they depend on is a bad idea. Recognize the talent of your employees and their dedication to getting it right, not just looking at numbers and screaming. If this is the way you want to do it, you would be better off just acquiring whatever works in the market, and outsourcing its maintenance until you run it into the ground, and then look for the next one.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Blinkx strives to ensure a positive work environment for all of its employees and takes your constructive criticism very seriously. If you’d like to discuss further ... More

  9. 1 person found this helpful  

    CEO needs to go

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA (US)
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA (US)

    I have been working at blinkx full-time (more than an year)

    Pros

    The people you work with day to day are smart and dedicated.

    Cons

    No vision strategy or leadership at the top is made worse by questionable ethics and business practices they pretend don't exist. CEO doesn't care at all about employees and morale has been declining for a long time. Miserable place to work.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Find a leader who can turn the company around, otherwise it will continue to fall apart.

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    I am sorry to hear your thoughts on blinkx and our leadership team. Blinkx strives for excellence and works tirelessly to make sure the company is a success. I invite you to contact us directly at ... More

  10.  

    Pathetic

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at blinkx

    Pros

    Stocked kitchen, industry standard benefits

    Cons

    Micro-mismanagement, slave drivers, unorganized chaos, project managers are non-existent, understaffed due to high turnover rates, prioritization is questionable, unrealistic pay, shady company

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Bring on more directorate level staff; listen to your employees who have experience over those that truly do not have a clue; be realistic about hiring personnel; respect your employees and pay them appropriately; actually hire some project managers and get your priorities straight

    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Oct 10, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your experience with our company was unfavorable. We would be happy to discuss your concerns, please contact [email protected] .

  11.  

    Lot's of autonomy and perfect job for the self-starter who doesn't need a lot of supervision

    • Comp & Benefits
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at blinkx

    Pros

    there's a lot of ears open when you voice your opinion. You have the freedom to really branch out and take on whatever role you'd like to take. If you have initiative, you can pull in other employees from other departments or divisions to really make a difference..

    Cons

    The industry is very fast face and ever changing. Sometimes it's difficult to keep up with all the changes.

    Advice to ManagementAdvice

    Keep looking out for the A players who are looking to take on more, and make sure they're recognized and noticed for their contributions.

    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    blinkx Response

    Jul 15, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you are enjoying your employment with blinkx.

Work at blinkx? Share Your Experiences

blinkx

 
Click to Rate
or

Your response will be removed from the review – this cannot be undone.