24 Hour Fitness Operations Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Operations Manager

24 Hour Fitness Operations Manager Reviews

Updated 20 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "100% Sales focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Operations Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can advance in your career pretty quickly but that is partly because of very quick turnover. Free membership.

    Cons

    The pay for everyone not in upper management was at the least that they could possibly get away with. I was in charge of writing the schedule for the retail/front desk team and was told not to give anyone more than 28 hours so that we didn't have to offer them any benefits. Upper management was 100% focused on their own bonuses and weren't even shy about it. They'd coach us all on how to reach a goal that only they... would benefit from. I also found the environment to be incredibly inappropriate. It was very normal to hear the male employees talk about the women in the gym in very rude and sexist language and management would do nothing to stop this behavior or would even join in!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This company needs real leaders who are focused on morale just as much as results. The company on a whole needs to rethink the bonus schemes because it attracts really unsavory people and allows for horrible morale among the team.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-08-20
  2. "Great Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in San Mateo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to move up with the company.

    Cons

    Low pay raise. Needs to accommodate with cost of living.

    Advice to Management

    Continue with the work values but need life balance.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-04-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, inconsistent leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love what you do and you don't work a day in your life. This is embodied by 24 Hour Fitness. There is tons of "opportunity" for growth, and you learn so much. Somewhat flexible hours lots of fun.

    Cons

    The company has really inconsistent leadership, lots of CEO changes, which does trickle down to club level team members. Every time someone gets a "great" idea they change the whole operation. Pay is AWFUL. As a manager of a 24 hour business you're expected to be on call 24 hours. However the GMs usually give this responsibility to operations managers. Even though the GMs get paid double sometimes triple what the... OMs get paid. The company has some pretty ridiculous sales expectations, everything revolves around sales even when they say it doesn't. If the sales team doesn't meet their goal guess which department gets cuts? I put "opportunity" for growth in quotes, because while the company is growing, they would rather hire externally. It's also very difficult for operations managers to get promoted because they do not come from a sales background.

    Show More
    24 Hour Fitness2019-02-27
  4. "Great Opportunity to Gain Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Operations Manager in Bedford, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of Hours chance for overtime

    Cons

    Lots of hours can get a bit much

    Advice to Management

    Expanding compensation package

    24 Hour Fitness2019-02-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Part Time Job Not A Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operation Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Free Gym Membership Fast Paced If you're not in management the schedule is flexible

    Cons

    Low Pay Long Hours if you're in management also on call Not a lot growth inside the club if you plan on making it a career

    Advice to Management

    You will never have stable long term employees if you don't pay them what they are worth. The company loses a lot of good people because of a lack of training, long hours and low pay.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-02-03
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Operations Manager in Nanuet, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free membership to a dirty poorly cleaned facility

    Cons

    Management is Incompetent, hours are ridiculous

    24 Hour Fitness2019-01-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Operation Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Newark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The best thing about working here is the Employees and the members that come in and out of our building

    Cons

    The worse part is they talk about growth but they tried to low ball you when it comes to pay there is other company out there that actually pay better that 24 does and the love to overwork their employee. I have personally been with the company for 4 years and I just left a month ago and I am in a different company that treats me better than 24 ever did

    Advice to Management

    Lear how to treat your employees better and actually pay them better for the hard work they do for your company

    24 Hour Fitness2018-12-09

    24 Hour Fitness Response

    December 11, 2018Supervisor Member Care

    Thank you for your four plus years at 24 Hour Fitness. It is great to see you have found a new company where you are happy! We strive to offer competitive pay that rewards our employees and encourages them to perform at their best. Please reach out to Careers@24hourfit.com as we would ...

    Show More
  8. "Fast paced and never a dull moment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The coworkers and members too

    Cons

    Workload and unrealistic expectations of duties

    24 Hour Fitness2018-11-09

    24 Hour Fitness Response

    November 9, 2018Supervisor Member Care

    Thank you for your continued dedication to the team. We believe in fostering an engaging and friendly working environment. The ability of our employees to work happy is critical to our success. We strive to create an environment where our employees feel empowered to succeed and grow. ...

    Show More
  9. "Upper Management needs to get their act together"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pros was the flexible schedule depending on management

    Cons

    The pay. They are sexist and do not pay women in leadership roles the same as men. it's rampant throughout the New York market. They expect the WORLD from managers but cannot deliver the same when it comes to pay. The old DM was two faced and would smile in your face and talk about you to other leaders behind your back.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you take what other leaders say with a grain of salt. Some leaders will throw their subordinates under the bus to cover up their own incompetence. Maybe make sure it's a two way street. Also visit the "lower class" clubs more often so that you can actually get an idea of the employees and what they go through to appreciate them more.

    24 Hour Fitness2018-11-08

    24 Hour Fitness Response

    November 9, 2018Supervisor Member Care

    Thank you for your three plus years working for 24 Hour Fitness. We continuously look for ways to improve and enhance our compensation plans to ensure alignment with the market. Providing a clean and well maintained club environment is one of our core values. We have established ...

    Show More
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    •atmosphere is fun •meet great people (members and team members) •free membership for you and family •discount personal training

    Cons

    •High turnover (frontline team members) •Lack of holding your team accountable bc of fear of losing them. •lowered standards as manager due to low pay for team members •life work balance Had to set my expectations low when recruiting bc couldn’t find any quality employees. They usually turn down the job due to pay. As a manager had to lower my standards and settle for team members that usually wouldn’t be hired.... Accountability is thrown out the window bc you can’t hold or build a great team at minimum wage. No time to manage bc we are always recruiting. No time to develop our current team bc we are always looking to hire. It’s gotten so ridiculous.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice do CEO. If you care about your team then take care of them. This $7.25/Hour is ridiculous. You will lose a lot of amazing managers due to the lack of managing we are doing. We are just trying to survive daily.

    24 Hour Fitness2018-09-09

    24 Hour Fitness Response

    September 11, 2018Member Care Specialist

    Thank you for the time you spent with 24 Hour Fitness and we hope you are happy with what you are currently doing. Sorry you felt that the compensations available fro team members was not competitive. We understand that pay and benefits is important to our team members and regularly ...

    Show More
Found 39 reviews