24 Hour Fitness Personal Trainer III Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

24 Hour Fitness Personal Trainer III Reviews

Updated 11 Jan 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
22%
Recommend to a Friend
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
0 Ratings
  1. "Sales heavy big box gym"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Trainer III in Aurora, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of check ins, always new members. Fast paced environment. Different pt levels for education/experience with higher levels of payout. Fun management staff.

    Cons

    Long hours, sales dependant. Employees are from all walks of life, often without any formal education. Doesn't matter your skill level, on that you sell packages.

    Advice to Management

    More focus on employee retention.

    24 Hour Fitness2017-01-12
  2. "Personal Trainer III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Personal Trainer III in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness

    Pros

    Steady flow of clientele if you work with the sales councilors and call on unused training sessions while also conducting new member fitness orientations and asking for referrals from current clients.

    Cons

    The commission on sales of either 15% or 20% ( I can't remember which) was not enough.

    Advice to Management

    Ask how you can help grow a personal trainers business each day.

    24 Hour Fitness2016-07-26
  3. "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer III in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    free gym membership, good for finding clients and then quitting and training them somewhere else.

    Cons

    machines always broken and dirty, management doesn't do anything. they take 40-50% of what you sell.

    Advice to Management

    Do your job.

    24 Hour Fitness2016-08-03
  4. "Personal trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Personal Trainer III in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness

    Pros

    flexible schedule, fun co-workers, free gym membership

    Cons

    Horrible rate for trainers, no previous training.

    Advice to Management

    Work closer with your trainers.

    24 Hour Fitness2016-05-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Company is mismanaged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Personal Trainer III in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness

    Pros

    great place for experience as a personal trainer and to learn the sales side, free membership, set your own schedule.

    Cons

    compensation is terrible, company takes 9 dollars out of your commission for every hour your not training a client, but then requires that you be on the clock at all times that your working including making workout plans, floor time, and re racking weights.

    Advice to Management

    hire better managers, hire personal trainers with actual accredited certifications like ACSM or NSCA.

    24 Hour Fitness2016-05-17
  6. "Great culture- bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Personal Trainer III in Livermore, CA

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness for more than a year

    Pros

    The people around me were great- enthusiastic and fun culture.

    Cons

    Management were nearsighted and lacked efficientcy.

    Advice to Management

    Get new management

    24 Hour Fitness2016-03-30
  7. "Get what you pay for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Trainer III 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You can get as many hours as you want. They really do care about getting you clients. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    HORRIBLE pay. They do not pay anyone what they are worth. Lots of favoritism. GM was a complete pervert which is why I left along with 3 other employees.

    Advice to Management

    HIRE BETTER GM'S!!!!! Pay your employees what they are worth.

    24 Hour Fitness2016-03-25
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not what it once was under Mastrov"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Trainer III in Littleton, CO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    locations are almost everywhere.

    Cons

    All the good management left, and all the good producing players are gone. So if you work hard you to can shine and move up. The brought in a bunch of mid-level management from Starbucks. They have no concept of the fitness business model.

    Advice to Management

    Good luck staying in business. All the good players are working for themselves now making big money.

    24 Hour Fitness2015-08-10
  9. "Great opportunity for building your passion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Personal Trainer III in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness

    Pros

    Guided assistance for new trainers, business models to follow, and helpful mentoring.

    Cons

    Can be political, emphasis on business delivery, and not flexible on certain training or business styles.

    Advice to Management

    Grow the trainers you hire instead of treating them as disposable. Enhance and maximize their strengths instead of focusing on weaknesses.

    24 Hour Fitness2015-05-20
  10. "Personal Training position can be awesome if you are motivated!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer III in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I want to start by saying I worked at two different locations in different states and your experience depends a lot on the management and location of the club. Best perks are free gym membership and potential for growth into management if you have the desired skills and traits. I've enjoyed meeting so many awesome clients and having access to a fully functional gym with so many options for training. They have... competitive pricing for training and pretty good compensation. I've also grown as a trainer by being able to interact with many different personal trainers. My current club has a wonderful management team and I feel we are a close knit group of professional friends. Also, can't beat the atmosphere. I wear athletic clothes all day, workout for free on my breaks, get supported by like minded individuals, and get to train the coolest clients ever. My schedule is super flexible. If I want a day off I get a day off.

    Show More

    Cons

    The Personal trainers job is highly sales based. Was fine for me since I had sales experience. You need to work hard to build your business and gain clients. You won't be handed that many. No one builds it for you, I find that rewarding but many trainers don't last more than 2 months because they just can't sell or put their self out there to gain new clients. Management doesn't really care about training programs... for clients as far as results are concerned they are more interested in how often you're training th and if they will rebuy. For the price that is charged, $60-70 a session, the trainers make like nothing... I'm a PT3 and I'd make like $12 plus min wage for that session.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Great changes made lately in the trainer compensation with the group training classes and the loyalty packs of training. Maybe try to talk to more employees on the front lines instead of just management for feedback or suggestions.

    24 Hour Fitness2015-05-16
Found 31 reviews