24 Hour Fitness "free gym membership" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

24 Hour Fitness Employee Reviews about "free gym membership"

Updated 9 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
76 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They don’t give raises ( barely minimum wage) & unfortunately the front desk reps are usually expose to danger (they’re exposed to risks)(in 94 reviews)

  • "The pay for everyone not in upper management was at the least that they could possibly get away with(in 74 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free gym membership"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Feels like family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness

    Pros

    Very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere Free membership Room to transfer throughout the country

    Cons

    Low pay Not much room for growth and advancement

    Advice to Management

    Advice to corporate... pay employees more

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-10
  2. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, interesting clients, free membership

    Cons

    Terrible management/corporate, customers complain about corporate to employees, inconsistent scheduling, no guarantee on hours

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-08
  3. "Used to be good, management is out to get you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Sales Manager in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The commission was great, flexible hours, free membership, discount on training.

    Cons

    Snakey management, always out to get you. They expect you to give them your whole life and give you nothing in return. Once they open a new club they dont care about the old ones, no new equipment, not new nothing.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-12-16
  4. "Lots of perks but not a lot of management support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transaction Processor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get a free membership and free PT sessions.

    Cons

    Management in the club and the corporate office is all about numbers and not enough about there employees.

    Advice to Management

    If you keep the employees happy and make them feel like they are a good employee then they are more likely to work better and stay.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-12-24
  5. "decent part time that could help pay like.. 1 bill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Expert 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Membership Flexible hours Pretty simple job

    Cons

    Low Pay Very tedious and monotonous

    24 Hour Fitness2019-12-20
  6. "Easy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership Easy

    Cons

    Kind of boring during slow hours Complaints you can’t do anything about

    24 Hour Fitness2019-12-17
  7. "STAY AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We get a free gym membership

    Cons

    Constant change in management, people being fired left and right, never any consistency, company ownership changes a lot, frequent switches in company policy and goals, always changing their business plan -- very stressful. They treat their employees like a number and I have seen some extremely shady things happen. Lawsuits constantly being filed against company from employees. I have seen far too many people get screwed over by management and it's a highly unprofessional place to work 95% of the time. It's a joke and our HR department was a joke. Sexual harassment, bullying, basically any type of misconduct you can think of, it's happening within this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like people, not numbers. Foster a more positive work environment and create a more consistent business plan and management style throughout each location. It's unbelievably stressful to have four different direct supervisor in a 5 month period.

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-03
  8. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Operations Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free membership Discount on retail items

    Cons

    High turnover rate Does not pay well for the work you do They don’t care about you

    24 Hour Fitness2019-12-06
  9. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Personal Trainer 

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time

    Pros

    Good management Flexible hours Free membership

    Cons

    Required to work extra shifts

    24 Hour Fitness2019-11-21
  10. "Decent part time job when attending school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Service Expert 

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time

    Pros

    Free gym membership, great environment

    Cons

    Pay is not that well

    24 Hour Fitness2019-11-19
Found 646 reviews