24 Hour Fitness "gym membership" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

24 Hour Fitness Employee Reviews about "gym membership"

Updated 22 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
24 Hour Fitness CEO Tony Ueber (no image)
Tony Ueber
79 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "They don’t give raises ( barely minimum wage) & unfortunately the front desk reps are usually expose to danger (they’re exposed to risks)(in 94 reviews)

  • "The pay for everyone not in upper management was at the least that they could possibly get away with(in 74 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "gym membership"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Project Manager Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    free gym membership, nice employees, new remodeled office

    Cons

    Not competitive pay, lack of direction, remote policy isn't structured yet

    Advice to Management

    Commit and execute

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-23
  2. "Easy job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free gym membership Easy

    Cons

    Kind of boring during slow hours Complaints you can’t do anything about

    24 Hour Fitness2019-12-17
  3. "STAY AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We get a free gym membership

    Cons

    Constant change in management, people being fired left and right, never any consistency, company ownership changes a lot, frequent switches in company policy and goals, always changing their business plan -- very stressful. They treat their employees like a number and I have seen some extremely shady things happen. Lawsuits constantly being filed against company from employees. I have seen far too many people get screwed over by management and it's a highly unprofessional place to work 95% of the time. It's a joke and our HR department was a joke. Sexual harassment, bullying, basically any type of misconduct you can think of, it's happening within this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like people, not numbers. Foster a more positive work environment and create a more consistent business plan and management style throughout each location. It's unbelievably stressful to have four different direct supervisor in a 5 month period.

    24 Hour Fitness2020-01-03
  4. "Decent part time job when attending school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Service Expert 

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time

    Pros

    Free gym membership, great environment

    Cons

    Pay is not that well

    24 Hour Fitness2019-11-19
  5. "terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Millbrae, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    free gym membership but that's it

    Cons

    you work way too much for what they pay you. corporate doesn't care about any employees and it shows.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-12-03
  6. "Fun place to work, can get old"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time

    Pros

    Free gym membership, and generally fun environment

    Cons

    Money/power - hungry employees and managers

    24 Hour Fitness2019-11-18
  7. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness part-time

    Pros

    free gym membership, easy job

    Cons

    Extremely high turnover rate .

    24 Hour Fitness2019-11-09
  8. "Hard work, but worth the grind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer in Yorba Linda, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Depending on the manager/management style, the daily grind may range from "at will" to "on your a**". If you prove you can maintain a steady flow of business and show that you care about your clients and job, you won't be pressed to hit certain numbers. Legitimate effort matters. Also, hourly rate is set as base pay, but pay increases with sales (which are commission based) and bonus (servicing 60 sessions within a 2 week pay period). I averaged $75,750 as a Master Trainer the past few years at 24-27 years of age. Gym membership is free and the benefits (medical/dental/vision) are awesome

    Show More

    Cons

    You HAVE to be able to produce business/results. Starting up is tough, but good management will teach you the skills you may lack.

    24 Hour Fitness2019-10-23
  9. "24Hr Fitness ASM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Sales Manager in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 24 Hour Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free gym membership, fun environment, fitness I industry.

    Cons

    No commission in a sales position, District and general managers do not care about you or their thousands of customers/members, only themselves and the monthly targets.

    Advice to Management

    Care for your team members and in turn you'll have a much higher product tivity rate from them

    24 Hour Fitness2019-10-30
  10. "Good work environment, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kids Club Attendant in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 24 Hour Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers, free gym membership!

    Cons

    Management is lacking a lot of respect

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees equally

    24 Hour Fitness2019-10-18
Found 303 reviews