2U "company meeting" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

2U Employee Reviews about "company meeting"

Updated 27 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
2U Co-Founder and CEO Chip Paucek
Chip Paucek
446 Ratings
Pros
  • "Incredibly fun environment (monthly happy hours, snacks, company meeting (great speakers and performers)(in 42 reviews)

  • "Very manageable work/life balance(in 38 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "company meeting"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (13)

    "Worst place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Full Time Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not much. Perks you might think of (like the Company Meeting) have been cancelled and--as others have pointed out--served largely just to reinforce the CEO's ego anyway. (He puts his own quotations on the walls.)

    Cons

    2U is the equivalent of a corporate gingerbread house. It looks nice when you're standing on the outside but quite different once you open the door. The company's values are hollow--perhaps they are what the company WANTS to be, but otherwise they're just slogans. Others have pointed out that favoritism is alive-and-well at 2U. They are correct. When you start, you learn quickly who these individuals are--not because they come out and tell you, but because of way they talk to, the fact that they constantly blow off meetings and seem to only ever volunteer to talk to a more senior executive about something so that you don't have to / get to. CEO is in way over his head given the company's current state. When the company was doing well (quite well, actually), he could afford to be the CEO he wanted to be--the dapper suits, the expensive music videos, etc. All things to make the employees love him. Today, the Reckoning has come (notably--he failed to see it when he should have), and now he's left cutting staff, cutting costs, etc. 2U is ripe for disruption. It is over-staffed, slow to move, and can't decide anything without 8+ meetings that have 15+ people in them.

    Show More
    2U2019-11-27
  2. Helpful (20)

    "It Once Had Promise..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Role in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -If you like frat parties, you'll like 2U. -If you liked Mean Girls, you'll like 2U. -If you liked your time in high school and miss the drama, you'll like 2U. Okay, but seriously... -Unlimited PTO though you aren't always able to use it when you'd like - as there are restrictions, especially if you are in a technical role. - La Croix water can be consumed in abundance. -Free snacks, if you are into carbs and/or junk food. -Honestly, there are great people to be found -though they will rarely be in position of which you report to. -Lavish company meetings (that always left me wishing we would have gotten raises instead). -Flexible WFH options for some employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    -My manager and her BOSS were best friends who left early together every day (after eating breakfast together, lunch together, coffee together; on the clock) all of this whilst insisting we (lowly servants) be accountable for every single second of our time. And I mean seconds. -Said duo sat in the corner and gossiped and whispered like children. I saw them rolling their collective eyeballs at one of my colleagues behind her back during a meeting this summer. They thought everyone was stupid and inept despite many of us having Master's degrees (they did not). -No matter how many of us reached out to HR regarding work conditions, nothing changed and HR basically blew us off time and time again. -A good example here: My son was in a roll over and they didn't want me to leave to leave as we were short-staffed. I should have quit right then but I stayed and worked, regretfully. -You cannot be promoted unless you are a favorite (read the reviews, this is rampant at 2U); or you must be willing to give up your family life to work the hours of a Vampire. -The work load we were expected to manage was ridiculous; I can't remain anonymous if I were to lay out the specifics but I cried at my desk for a good portion of my tenure once the new "leadership" took ownership of my team. - Micromanagement!! I have never been treated so poorly as a HUMAN BEING. I was micromanaged on the tiniest of details yet my productivity was over 120%. Maybe if you didn't demand such a heavy workload, people wouldn't make little mistakes. But then what would the managers have to do with their time? -We had to lie about who we worked for as well as be careful never to send emails from a 2U account. -If you are over 32, be prepared to feel like a dinosaur. -Benefits are okay but they are EXPENSIVE, especially if you have a family. -Transportation to and fro can be expensive as well as there is no compensation for commuting (or discounts on Eco Passes). -Loud offices so hard to hear on phone calls/bad for concentration.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There has been a lot of talk on Glassdoor about Management. I would branch off of that topic to include HR in this conversation. If certain names and/or departments are continually brought to HR's attention (ETHICS INVESTIGATIONS, even); perhaps HR should address it rather than ignore employees and brush it under the rug (bring in higher management to look at what is happening under the umbrella of their departments). It's obvious that the "no ahole policy" was taken off the table - that's all I worked for, in the end. I always wondered what Chip would think if he had to work around these people or do my job for a day. Maybe the senior level management should put an ear out; do skip level check ins to take the pulse of the culture. Everyone knows HR is mainly for the benefit of the company but I believe they could help weed out problem managers and even help to boost overall company morale. I finally had enough of the fake, nasty management and quit. I honestly had no idea how much I hated it until I got settled in my new job. I haven't had one work nightmare since. NOT ONE WORK RELATED NIGHTMARE SINCE I LEFT. You have no idea how awful this experience was for me. I'm ecstatic my new, much cheaper (far less than half the cost) health insurance offers great counseling benefits. I probably need need it now.

    Show More
    2U2019-10-16
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Good benefits, but stressful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Christmas break, company meeting in a different city every year, happy hours and free food, unlimited PTO, interesting people to work with, free degree (with some strings attached)

    Cons

    Favoritism is real, goals can be unrealistic, stressful if you aren't doing well because you can lose your job for poor performance.

    Advice to Management

    Allow work-from-home in Admissions! Maybe let us work in WeWork locations. Keep staying positive and weathering the storm.

    2U2019-08-21
  4. Helpful (26)

    "Was great, but the ship is starting to sink"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent salary, some opportunities for promotion and salary increases. This obviously varies between managers and departments. Healthy work/life balance. People come in around 9:30/10 am, rarely feel the need to stay late. Lavish, yearly company meeting in new cities (Long Beach, New Orleans, Vegas etc.) Beautiful office in Brooklyn, with a rooftop and stunning views of NYC. Free snacks, cold brew, coffee and 'bagel Monday'. Big game room with ping pong, video games and arcade setups.

    Show More

    Cons

    As an employee, the company feels like a sinking ship. We're unable to scale our marketing and admissions costs as we bring on new programs. It's not a shock considering the admissions department is a call center, practically harassing prospective students with phone calls every day. Since marketing pushes anyone and everyone to fill out an interest form for a program, admissions is tied up reaching out to every single lead, even if they're not qualified or not ready to start an application. With every new program we bring on, each department in marketing needs to hire new people as each launch requires a dedicated brand and advertising strategy. There isn't a structured process in place where employees can consistently provide feedback to their managers, similar to our quarterly reviews. I think this is a core problem. There is only a top-down approach to management in marketing, where employees who are experiencing the pain points I listed above don't get the opportunity to share this feedback. Benefits are just okay compared to other large companies in NYC. Lack of women and poc in leadership roles across the organization, and just about everyone is under the age of 30.

    Show More
    2U2019-08-07
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Lucky to call this my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Marketing Coordinator in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Inspiring and collaborative environment Opportunities for growth within departments Great leaders who know how to manage people Unlimited PTO Work from home 1 day per week (at least) Like minded people, who have a "student first" mentality Incredibly fun environment (monthly happy hours, snacks, company meeting (great speakers and performers) Salary is competitive All higher-ups are really friendly and involved with employees

    Show More

    Cons

    401k match could be better

    2U2019-06-17
  6. "Very supportive employer, awesome place to grow as a professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Placement Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In-office perks, benefits, emphasizes work-life balance, invests in training employees, company meeting, actively working on diversity & inclusion

    Cons

    Very hierarchical, micro-agressions everywhere and no interest/investment in sensitively trainings, Company meeting chaos, lots of company “swag” but little salary increases/small departmental budgets

    2U2019-06-14
  7. "Great culture, great people, great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 2U part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    2U really cares about their employees, it's just so obvious. The job perks are amazing (snacks! dance parties! ability to work all over the office including on couches! great gym! great annual company meeting!) and the CEO is so good at being in touch with what is going on at all levels of the company.

    Cons

    Not many entry level job openings other than admissions. Wanted to work here full time but no team openings on the smaller teams I was interested in

    2U2019-05-31
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Impressively inclusive, Impressive incentives, Opportunity is highly touted but limited in reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Admissions Counselor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Diversity and Inclusion is an important value which permeates the company -Incentive structure (especially within admission) is well above average for the kind of work you'll be doing -Tuition benefit is an exceptional potential opportunity -2U offers cool events like Halloween (CEOs favorite holiday), the annual company meeting, and others -You do have an opportunity to effect positive change in the lives of students This is a mixed review and I can earnestly say that you have got to take the good with the bad when writing a review and when considering taking a job with 2U. There is no doubt 2U does offer financial and professional opportunity. If you are looking for a company that will pay very well in comparison to other sales roles of a similar nature 2U and offers the kind of benefits I list above and more then 2U could be a great fit.

    Show More

    Cons

    - A common practice of goal ratcheting exists within the admissions department. If you are successful in your role, you should expect that your goals will be consistently increased as much as possible. This is generally not a problem for a sales role. However, you will need to do much more with the same resources and you have no control over your prospective prospect funnel. Combining these two factors with an significantly inexperienced management suit as well as 'performance management plans' for under performing counselors which restricts counselors from finding another position within the company that might better suit them and most admissions counselors will find themselves in situation in which they are being managed into failure without any options. - Recent changes to the tuition benefits policy have made 2U's tuition benefits program much more difficult to reasonably take advantage of with out risking a financial backlash. To place this in context, if one wanted to obtain an MBA using 2U's tuition benefit you can expect 5 years of commitment to 2U to do so (including waiting periods, the program itself, and the required time serviced to 2U post degree). Additionally, admissions counselors whom do not escape the line level admissions work or shift departments risk financial repercussions if they do not make their goals (refer to the above con). This means that 2U employees who are still in a program or have completed their degree but are serving their time back may be terminated for any reason and, given 2U's current policy, may be compelled to repay the full amount of tuition payed by 2U. - 2U admissions tends not to practice what it preaches when it comes to outcomes for it's employees. In particular, upper management and the company as a whole cite "student outcomes matter" as primary driver for the 2U's business. This is certainly a noble and worthwhile goal to be sure. But you will find that the on the ground admissions culture revolves much less around counseling students to find the best fit and more around pushing prospects through the funnel regardless to benefit your manager and the program. Furthermore, current 2U admissions practices tend toward a 'what have you done for me lately' attitude among mangers and directors. You'll be an all start when you save the team and your program from going belly up one quarter by draining your pipeline of all viable prospective students. Your goal will then be increased because you succeeded and if you are not able to hit that higher goal you'll be placed on a plan preventing you from advancing to other position and will be put on blast for not performing. - Favoritism is a critical factor in your development and opportunities. This does not need much explanation but keep in mind that 2U is company is populated predominantly by young professionals and recent grads. In many ways this is a good thing and provides much need opportunity. But the click culture is very real at 2U. If you are not good friends and/or drinking buddies with management you are very likely to be passed over opportunities to take on special projects, increased team responsibility for your own development, shifting in to other departmental roles, and higher levels of management within admissions. There are a number of other things that could be covered here but this is a mixed review and 2U is not all doom and gloom. I have listed the major factors potential new admissions counselors might want to consider before accepting an offer from 2U, specifically because 2U and those you interview with will take pains to gloss-over or not mention these realities. You should plan your entry into 2U accordingly.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Because new hires from the company tend to be young (fresh college grads) there is certainly some opportunity for younger professionals to advancement which is certainly a good thing. However, this also means that the majority of management is significantly inexperienced in managing others. Especially in the case of admissions, outcomes for students and 2U's bottom line are prized well above outcomes for the majority of it's employees. That said, managers should take pains to come to terms with this fact and understand that this manifests in a tendency for those younger managers to absolve themselves of the responsibility for collective team failure in favor of blaming line level counselors. In reality, this practice within the admissions department exacerbates the problem by creating an urgency to produce in line level counselors without the resources ( both managerial and prospecting for many programs) to meet the "aggressively achievable" standard that has been set. Additionally, director level managers and above should reflect on quarterly prospect generation as it relates to the tendency to ratchet program goals. If admissions counselors are unable to help prospective students become admitted students or if admitted students cannot afford 2U's full price programs then some responsibility must be taken by admissions and marketing management which generate prospect for admission counselors to call. Again, as it stands, the default management response is to berate line level admissions counselors for the failure to deliver while not taking responsibility for the company's inability to generate viable program candidates. *Note: The above is not true of all programs especially those that are very well known or reasonably price for their market. This is another reason to be very careful about what program(s) 2U offers you a position before taking the job.

    Show More
    2U2019-03-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company....BUT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great CEO Good Benefits Annual Company Meeting trips FREE SNACKS OF COURSE! Fun activities in and outside of the office

    Cons

    This may be different depending on the department you work in....but in my department these are the issues I have experienced (and still do). Favoritism Everything can be done from home yet we're not allowed to work from home...EVER! Lack of communication between teams There are alot of great people that work for this company....just not so many in my department. Leadership could take some training to better interact with lower level team members.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Implement a work from home schedule for teams, even if it's one day a month. It would create a better work life balance for your teams.

    2U2019-03-15
  10. Helpful (3)

    "People want to stay but there are limited opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time

    Pros

    2U is the best place to work, hands down. The people at 2U are not only coworkers but they are friends. The atmosphere is laid back yet you are expected to give your best and most people willingly do put their best foot forward. The benefits are great and always improving. The executive leadership is trustworthy and open and I feel like Chip has the best intentions for the company and the employees. The company meetings are a blast. I hope to stay at 2U for a very long time and climb the ladder to a position to be able to support and implement positive changes throughout the evolution of the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    -There is not a company without any cons and most people write in the section with unrealistic expectations. 2U is a great company and the grass is not always greener on the other side. If I were to leave 2u, it'd be very difficult to make the decision to do so, but these would be my reasons: One of the great benefits offered is receiving tuition reimbursement. Yet, upon receiving a top tier education, it is extremely difficult to move into the department that coincides with your top tier education. Why pay so much money for employers to better themselves and make it nearly impossible to be considered for even an entry level position at that company. People are leaving after their commitments because 2U does not give them the opportunity to use it there. The company is scaling so fast, realize there is great talent where you least expect it! Internal advancement across multiple departments is skewed. In my time chatting with people across the departments and within my own, I have noticed that many decisions regarding advancement is not about being a top performer, rather, who knows your name and who you are buddies with. This is not coming from people who just expect a promotion, rather people who genuinely go above and beyond. Top performers are getting frustrated and burned out from trying to put their best foot forward [in every department]. Internal employees are gold, they know 2U's students and believe in the company's cause. Why do you think so many employees are getting picked up by our competitors? Competitors are noticing 2U employees abilities and offering the advancement externally. Don't let them steal your top performers!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make more opportunities for cross departmental transitioning. See it as a compliment, people want to stay at 2U and make a bigger impact and are sometimes even willing to take a pay cut to do so! Give them that opportunity! Promotions are competitive for the wrong reasons. Granted, there is a lot of talent and people should not just expect a promotion... yet it is concerning when the "social butterfly" is chosen over the person with a much more impressive resume. The hiring process is so stringent to get hired into 2U, why not put the effort into making sure your management is going to drive top performance. I think everyone can agree that top performers care much more about staying at the top and leading a team to that status, whereas biased promotions are more worried about checking a box to make it to the next step. Chip- if you're listening, I can easily help implement these changes to do my part improving the company growth without expecting anything in return! Let the little guy help!

    Show More
    2U2019-02-01
Found 42 reviews
</>Embed