2U "free snacks" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

2U Employee Reviews about "free snacks"

Updated 15 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
2U Co-Founder and CEO Chip Paucek
Chip Paucek
446 Ratings
Pros
  • "Incredibly fun environment (monthly happy hours, snacks, company meeting (great speakers and performers)(in 42 reviews)

  • "Very manageable work/life balance(in 38 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free snacks"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (55)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO Relaxed dress code Free snacks

    Cons

    2U's story is a classic one of what happens when an company values growth over profit for far too long and then realizes they have no actual path to a productive bottom line. If you follow any of whats happened to WeWork, this is essentially the same thing. If you are seriously considering taking a job here please do your research first and take a look at what has happened to the stock price over the last year. Shares dropping from $90/share to $12/share in a 6 month period is absolutely unheard of despite how much 2U tries to normalize what happened. This financial fallout caused mass layoffs of some of the most critically important positions/employees that worked there. The CEO Chip tried to argue that the stock price had nothing to do with the layoffs but that is simply not true. If the stock hadn't dropped would you have still sacked 70+ people? Probably not. In addition to all of this, the company has been doing everything in it's power to float the stock price including C suite's buying up as much as they can, and recently handing out options to everyone still employed there. Oh also, theres multiple lawsuits out against the company right now for misleading investors.. The layoff itself was debilitating to the org and I'll be surprised if they ever fully recover from a morale and culture standpoint. Not to mention they have much more work to do now with much less of a workforce. What I found to be the most shocking about the whole thing was that the COO admitted to the fact that because 2U did such a god awful job at training and developing middle management, they had to let them all go. On top of this revelation, during the all company call later that day the CEO assured everyone that despite the layoffs nobody should worry because they will still be hosting the annual Halloween party. I truly cannot think of a worse thing for him to say in that moment, but it certainly gives you insight into his priorities. This company has been so severely financially mismanaged that they are still pouring $15 million+ into annual company meetings and parties, yet mass layoffs seemed to be the only option to get things back on track. If you really do your research you'll also find that this same CEO already has 2 failed businesses behind him, which he oddly pretends to cry about in front of the entire org on a regular basis when recounting the stories of his past and having to lay people off previously. Funny how history has repeated itself yet again... It's clear that he truly has no idea what he's doing and should not be trusted with the professional livelihoods of thousands of people. There is so much more to the story here than just what's happened in 2019. I don't have the space to put it all in writing but I encourage you to read all the Glassdoor reviews and news articles (including lawsuits) from the past few months and you'll get a glimpse of the big picture. Essentially, this place has been running on fear and a lack of strategic planning for quite some time. I can only speak to how Admissions operated and everything about the way recruiting works in that department is morally corrupt, they claim to be student first but nothing could be further from the truth. Admissions Counselors are given goals that leadership deems "aggressively achievable" (there is no real logic that goes into goaling, and most goals have to be adjusted after the cohort ends) and then put on a performance management plan if they don't hit that goal. A few things to note here- PMP plans do not work (look it up), it creates a culture of fear and forces employees to have 1 foot out the door. There were multiple times that I heard VP and above leadership say "the only reward you get for hitting your goal is keeping your job". Also, putting someones employment on the line for how effectively they can convince a prospect to take out a mountain of student debt is immoral and should be considered illegal. A few of the people I managed (and myself) had to actually seek therapy because of the stress this job caused us. My favorite part about all of this is that the head of Admissions was given a golden parachute of a new position right before the carnage of this department happened, and he was completely silent during all of it. The leadership in this department and company should be ashamed of themselves for the way they've led people astray (students, universities and employees) and truly hurt the well being of those who work for you. My biggest piece of advice is to stay as far away from this place as possible. If you really want to work in higher ed theres plenty of other companies out there to go after. Especially those considering a role in Admissions, go find a sales job where you can actually make commission and sell a product that doesn't contribute to the impending economic collapse of this country. By the way I'm not a disgruntled employee that was laid off, I left of my own choosing when I saw the ship starting to sink. I also waited almost 2 months to write this review because I wanted to carefully choose my thoughts and language.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the CEO Take goals out of Admissions or take away PMP plans Learn how to actually live out the values you so proudly advertise Treat people like humans not just numbers Figure out how to pay your sales people fairly

    2U2019-10-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "There's no place I'd rather be."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time

    Pros

    I’ve been at 2U for almost three years now, and there isn’t a day that goes by where I don’t feel incredibly fortunate to be a part of such a passionate, mission-driven organization. I could write a novel about all of the reasons I love working at this company, but here’s a snapshot: 1. Management is unbelievably dedicated to their team members’ growth, both individually and collectively. 2. Company leadership encourages and cultivates a highly collaborative environment where everyone feels heard, respected, and valued–but they also encourage the individuals on their teams to be independent and take ownership/credit where it is well-deserved. Your hard work will never go unnoticed or unrecognized here! 3. This company is a huge proponent of work-life balance. Sure, there are times where you may experience some late nights, as with any job–but at 2U, that’s not only balanced with our unlimited PTO benefit, but also the ability and flexibility to work from home when you need to! 4. Though this is a big company, 2U ensures everyone feels heard. It’s clear they invest a lot of time and energy into employee morale, because they genuinely strive for everyone to WANT to come to work every day. 5. The office culture is the perfect blend of hardworking and relaxed. Everyone here works passionately and tirelessly to help further 2U’s mission–and we are able to do so in jeans while munching on free snacks and seltzer in a gorgeous, 2U-branded office space. These are just some of the many reasons why this company is such a great place to work. I couldn't be more proud to be a "2Ute." There’s truly no place I’d rather be!

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons come to mind honestly–this is the best job I've ever had.

    Advice to Management

    Continue practicing transparency and open communication as you have been. It makes all the difference.

    2U2019-12-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Truly lives up to its Great Place to Work reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Producer in Brooklyn, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A company that truly espouses its culture and mission. Smart and dedicated people. Opportunities to learn, grow, and advance. A spectacular office setting with copious free snacks.

    Cons

    I can think of none.

    2U2019-11-19
  4. Helpful (13)

    "I hate coming to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Engagement in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time

    Pros

    Co-workers are good and free snacks. Tuition reimbursement, but they trap you for 4 years and you can't apply for a program until you've been here for a year.

    Cons

    I hate my job. 2U used to be promising and a place to grow your career. That is no longer the case. A lot of your potential career advancement is based on the school you are placed with. It's easy to notice that people on the easier programs move up faster. You also can't switch teams or move departments if you aren't hitting your numbers. It feels like you are trapped into difficult programs because it's hard to retain talent on those programs. You also HAVE to get along with your manager. They don't have to help you with much, but they can prevent any mobility. Very metrics driven and if you work in student engagement, you are working in a call center and it genuinely feels that way. There's call recording, smile and dial, and answering tech concerns. If you have the opportunity, don't work here.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow us to move programs or departments if it's not a good fit. Don't stifle our growth by forcing us to stay put. I'm just going to job hunt outside of the company if I feel like I'm not growing. I also found it shady that the layoffs happened after the great places to work survey closed.

    2U2019-11-10
  5. "Intern Experience Getting There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Intern 

    I worked at 2U for less than a year

    Pros

    Interns get to work on real projects, and communicate with real teams. Got free snacks and couple of free events hosted for interns.

    Cons

    The internship program isn't really full fledged, and much of the time the interns were just finding ways to eat up the time. Pay was minimum wage.

    Advice to Management

    Help the interns have more resources than just a direct manager! Direct managers can be busy, do more events with the interns so they meet others in the office. Otherwise, good environment.

    2U2019-10-18
  6. Helpful (30)

    "It might seem like a great company... but looks are deceiving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admission Counselor in Lanham, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Unlimited PTO and Free snacks (first come first serve tho)

    Cons

    the company's culture has changed drastically. When i first started the company was amazing and it was laid back and a relaxing place to work. As time progressed, people who started with the company in its inception are being placed in leadership roles that they are completely under qualified for. Upper leadership within the organization is absolutely terrible. There is absolutely no need for manager role within the company If directors in the company actually did there job properly. Also the benefits suck,

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I feel like Chip (the CEO) either doesn't care about the leadership issues in his company or he doesn't care( investors beware). All of the money issues that 2u is currently having could be fixed by placing qualified employees in the proper leadership positions.

    2U2019-09-07
  7. Helpful (20)

    "It Once Had Promise..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Role in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -If you like frat parties, you'll like 2U. -If you liked Mean Girls, you'll like 2U. -If you liked your time in high school and miss the drama, you'll like 2U. Okay, but seriously... -Unlimited PTO though you aren't always able to use it when you'd like - as there are restrictions, especially if you are in a technical role. - La Croix water can be consumed in abundance. -Free snacks, if you are into carbs and/or junk food. -Honestly, there are great people to be found -though they will rarely be in position of which you report to. -Lavish company meetings (that always left me wishing we would have gotten raises instead). -Flexible WFH options for some employees.

    Show More

    Cons

    -My manager and her BOSS were best friends who left early together every day (after eating breakfast together, lunch together, coffee together; on the clock) all of this whilst insisting we (lowly servants) be accountable for every single second of our time. And I mean seconds. -Said duo sat in the corner and gossiped and whispered like children. I saw them rolling their collective eyeballs at one of my colleagues behind her back during a meeting this summer. They thought everyone was stupid and inept despite many of us having Master's degrees (they did not). -No matter how many of us reached out to HR regarding work conditions, nothing changed and HR basically blew us off time and time again. -A good example here: My son was in a roll over and they didn't want me to leave to leave as we were short-staffed. I should have quit right then but I stayed and worked, regretfully. -You cannot be promoted unless you are a favorite (read the reviews, this is rampant at 2U); or you must be willing to give up your family life to work the hours of a Vampire. -The work load we were expected to manage was ridiculous; I can't remain anonymous if I were to lay out the specifics but I cried at my desk for a good portion of my tenure once the new "leadership" took ownership of my team. - Micromanagement!! I have never been treated so poorly as a HUMAN BEING. I was micromanaged on the tiniest of details yet my productivity was over 120%. Maybe if you didn't demand such a heavy workload, people wouldn't make little mistakes. But then what would the managers have to do with their time? -We had to lie about who we worked for as well as be careful never to send emails from a 2U account. -If you are over 32, be prepared to feel like a dinosaur. -Benefits are okay but they are EXPENSIVE, especially if you have a family. -Transportation to and fro can be expensive as well as there is no compensation for commuting (or discounts on Eco Passes). -Loud offices so hard to hear on phone calls/bad for concentration.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There has been a lot of talk on Glassdoor about Management. I would branch off of that topic to include HR in this conversation. If certain names and/or departments are continually brought to HR's attention (ETHICS INVESTIGATIONS, even); perhaps HR should address it rather than ignore employees and brush it under the rug (bring in higher management to look at what is happening under the umbrella of their departments). It's obvious that the "no ahole policy" was taken off the table - that's all I worked for, in the end. I always wondered what Chip would think if he had to work around these people or do my job for a day. Maybe the senior level management should put an ear out; do skip level check ins to take the pulse of the culture. Everyone knows HR is mainly for the benefit of the company but I believe they could help weed out problem managers and even help to boost overall company morale. I finally had enough of the fake, nasty management and quit. I honestly had no idea how much I hated it until I got settled in my new job. I haven't had one work nightmare since. NOT ONE WORK RELATED NIGHTMARE SINCE I LEFT. You have no idea how awful this experience was for me. I'm ecstatic my new, much cheaper (far less than half the cost) health insurance offers great counseling benefits. I probably need need it now.

    Show More
    2U2019-10-16
  8. Helpful (26)

    "Was great, but the ship is starting to sink"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent salary, some opportunities for promotion and salary increases. This obviously varies between managers and departments. Healthy work/life balance. People come in around 9:30/10 am, rarely feel the need to stay late. Lavish, yearly company meeting in new cities (Long Beach, New Orleans, Vegas etc.) Beautiful office in Brooklyn, with a rooftop and stunning views of NYC. Free snacks, cold brew, coffee and 'bagel Monday'. Big game room with ping pong, video games and arcade setups.

    Show More

    Cons

    As an employee, the company feels like a sinking ship. We're unable to scale our marketing and admissions costs as we bring on new programs. It's not a shock considering the admissions department is a call center, practically harassing prospective students with phone calls every day. Since marketing pushes anyone and everyone to fill out an interest form for a program, admissions is tied up reaching out to every single lead, even if they're not qualified or not ready to start an application. With every new program we bring on, each department in marketing needs to hire new people as each launch requires a dedicated brand and advertising strategy. There isn't a structured process in place where employees can consistently provide feedback to their managers, similar to our quarterly reviews. I think this is a core problem. There is only a top-down approach to management in marketing, where employees who are experiencing the pain points I listed above don't get the opportunity to share this feedback. Benefits are just okay compared to other large companies in NYC. Lack of women and poc in leadership roles across the organization, and just about everyone is under the age of 30.

    Show More
    2U2019-08-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company....BUT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great CEO Good Benefits Annual Company Meeting trips FREE SNACKS OF COURSE! Fun activities in and outside of the office

    Cons

    This may be different depending on the department you work in....but in my department these are the issues I have experienced (and still do). Favoritism Everything can be done from home yet we're not allowed to work from home...EVER! Lack of communication between teams There are alot of great people that work for this company....just not so many in my department. Leadership could take some training to better interact with lower level team members.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Implement a work from home schedule for teams, even if it's one day a month. It would create a better work life balance for your teams.

    2U2019-03-15
  10. "I love it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Counselor in Lanham, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at 2U full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Although I have only been working at 2U for a short time, I have been so happy with this company! The people make the company truly amazing. Everyone around you is nice and welcoming and always looks like they're truly happy here. I love my team and feel that I am supported and can ask any questions I need and that they are truly there to help me. There are so many things that make this company great- unlimited PTO, a yearly company meeting, free snacks and seltzers in the kitchen, Christmas break, spontaneous dance parties, a gym and cafe in the building, etc. As far as the admissions counselor role, I love it. I enjoying working with prospective students by helping them further their career goals. I come from an education background, so this has been very exciting for me and I've been having fun with it. The company is only going to keep growing, and it's really cool to be apart of this nonstop growing business. As long as you keep up with your matrix, you can take music breaks and walk around for a walk pretty much whenever throughout the day, as long as you stay on top of your appointments. Staying organized is crucial for this role because you need to have good time management skills and be able to plan effectively.

    Show More

    Cons

    You are expected to meet a weekly matrix of numbers, including dials, meaningful conversations, and hours of talk time, but I don't see this is a con, but it may be for some. This role definitely has some sales expectations to it, so that's one thing that might push people away. As long as you're organized, the success will come. I enjoy my days being busy and don't mind being on the phones all day, yet some people might get burnt out due to the repetition of the role. Having one late day a week working 9-7 isn't exactly fun, but those very per team. Some teams may even have another late day, but it is so AC's can discuss the program information with students after normal business hours, so I understand why it is important. Sometimes you may call students all day and never actually talk to someone, causing some people in this role to get very burnt out. As long as you remain positive and understand that this is part of the role, you will be fine.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! You have a great company that is not going to stop anytime soon. Keep listening to your employees and keeping them happy!

    2U2019-02-07
Found 36 reviews
</>Embed