A.S. Watson Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

A.S. Watson Group Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
57%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
A.S. Watson Group Managing Director; Chairman, Hutchison Whampoa Limited  Dominic K. M. Lai (no image)
Dominic K. M. Lai
34 Ratings
  1. "Forward thinking, people focused company - great to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay & benefits, career progression, good work/life balance promoted, inspirational people, diversity embraced, "work hard play hard" mentality.

    Cons

    Can be a little corporate, not necessarily a "cool" brand to work for (and often unknown in Europe).

    Advice to Management

    Increase brand awareness of ASW (not just their brands). Become more flexible for younger generation.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-04-10
  2. "Great team, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team and environment in the London office, very open and honest culture. Senior managers/directors are very busy but approachable. Work-life balance is ok.

    Cons

    Very small teams means less space for growth, there's no place to step away from your desk to have lunch, flexible working could be improved.

    Advice to Management

    Rearranging/relocating the office should be considered - it's difficult to focus being stuck at your desk all day, there isn't always time to go out for lunch.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-04-06
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group

    Pros

    Great Team, good development and internal promotion and moves. Good culture and always lots to do.

    Cons

    Office facilities aren't up to standard. Could do with an upgrade on refresh of the office.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-03-13
  4. "Good company to work! Nice People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible and cares about employees. Great people. Good collaboration among teams

    Cons

    The turnover rate of employee is very high therefore the promotions in the career is very slow.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-03-09
  5. "Exciting company to be part of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Huge global presence, if you work in a group function you get to interact with all the global business units. Retail is normally fast and ASW is no exception decisions get made rapidly and you can see your work implemented very quickly. Lots and lots of examples of people starting in junior roles and working their way to the top. Some great career opportunities.

    Cons

    Can be a cultural minefield but that's normal for any global organization. Due to the need to turn things around quickly some weeks will be very busy with some long hours required.

    Advice to Management

    Spend as much time as possible in the stores

    A.S. Watson Group2017-03-09
  6. Helpful (4)

    "I like my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Group CRM in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group

    Pros

    The team I work in is collaborative and welcoming. Office drama is kept to a minimum, and everyone behaves like adults. The work is varied, there are lots of opportunities to get involved with exciting things. People tend to leave the office on time.

    Cons

    Terrible coffee! And tea. Not enough toilets. Battersea isn't a particularly convenient place to get to. Chinese work culture can sometimes clash a bit with British work culture. A lot of archaic technology (moving all my email to an external folder every week since there's no storage, a shared desk phone for a whole team)

    Advice to Management

    The teams themselves are overall quite happy, but with a bit more office investment people would be able to do their jobs better.

    A.S. Watson Group2016-11-04
  7. "Exciting company with massive scope for career development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group

    Pros

    Fabulous team: people in the office are real nice and willing to help. Invest in the people: spend time going through skill sets with staff and encourage continuous learning. Massive scope for career development: a huge international company with many opportunities and chances to relocate!

    Cons

    Structure and culture is hierarchical at times which takes time for information to feed through the communication chain.

    Advice to Management

    Provide a more flexible working schedule & staff benefits

    A.S. Watson Group2016-11-04
  8. "Warehouse Operative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Warehouse Operator in Dunstable, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group

    Pros

    Stable long-term opportunity, safe working environment

    Cons

    Demanding workload, fast-paced environment, wages slightly below industry average

    Advice to Management

    Try to engage the employees on different levels

    A.S. Watson Group2016-09-23
  9. "Fair place to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    The office is locate in a nice area of London

    Cons

    Working time is not very flexible.

    Advice to Management

    A more modern way of staffing is recommended.

    A.S. Watson Group2016-09-06
  10. "Great company to learn & grow with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist Digital Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have learnt more here in the last 2 years than I have done in the last 5 years previous industry experience. The team was amazing, all with a range of skills which complimented each other, but also enhanced us individually. The higher management team were very understanding and approachable with personal life circumstances.

    Cons

    Possibly more training and development and also discussions about job progressions would help to see where you could possibly be in a few years time. A more casual work environment, i.e; working from home - once a month / summer hours / Social events etc.

    Advice to Management

    Try to make everyone feel valued and stimulated in the workplace, these are the things that keeps me happy and loving my job.

    A.S. Watson Group2016-08-01
Found 95 reviews