A.S. Watson Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

A.S. Watson Group Reviews

Updated 10 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Dominic K. M. Lai
27 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "HK IT is a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Engineer in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible internal procedure (Cons too) Global project reach Good fit if you are aggressive type, but not progressive type

    Cons

    Long working hour ( you are sold to this company) No respect from management ( slave type) Chaos internal procedure . Crazy project timeline and workload. Blame culture. Finger pointing style

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employee Be realistic in project timeline Take engineer advice seriously and not from PM

    A.S. Watson Group2018-09-08

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    October 12, 2018Comms Manager

    Thank you for your comments. We appreciate if you could share more information about your experience with us. Kindly get in touch with our Group HR team on iSuggest@aswatson.com who will ensure your case is properly looked after. We are looking forward to hearing from you.

  2. "It's a brilliant company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Intern in Hong Kong
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management wants you to succeed.

    Cons

    No cons. Continue doing what you are doing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    A.S. Watson Group2018-08-09

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 17, 2018

    Hi there and thanks a lot for your feedback! We’re very happy you rate your experience with us so highly, and would like to wish you all the best for the future.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "eCommerce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    there are no pros at all

    Cons

    Very bad culture No prospect Inefficient system Redundant works

    A.S. Watson Group2018-07-12

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 2, 2018

    Hello and thank you for your review. We’re really disappointed to hear your feedback and would like to let you know we’re committed to do our best in order to address it. So as to investigate things further, it would be great if you could share more information about your experience ...

    Show More
  4. "Management’s mind need to be updated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Hong Kong
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - good colleagues & teammates. Treated each other like family - fair benefits. Different company events to engage staff - sizeable

    Cons

    - outdated mindset of management. Making staff waste time & effort on work which is not doing much to the business. - asked us to be creative but not taking our opinions - low wage with unreasonable workload - not enough resources for requested work / production - high turnover rate

    Advice to Management

    Trend has been changing from time to time, both retail trend and business management trend. Listen to your people.

    A.S. Watson Group2018-01-16

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    January 24, 2018

    Hello and thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear about your experience with A.S. Watson over the past year. We wanted to let you know that your feedback and advice means a lot to us - we will ensure that it is forwarded in the right direction across ...

    Show More
  5. "store supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manila, Manila
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Big chances and opportunity to grow in retail/promoted

    Cons

    attitudes of workmates you work with

    Advice to Management

    continue to grow the business

    A.S. Watson Group2017-10-13

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    October 20, 2017

    Thank you for such a great review! We're thrilled to know you're enjoying your time with one of our retail brands. Best of luck for the future!

  6. Helpful (9)

    "Some Group teams not respects their people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sha Tin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    - Multi Country projects - Works on strategic projects - Some group departments more focus on people than other. They hire good talent and treat better.

    Cons

    - Asia IT is very defensive, yells and not open to ideas - No realistic planning everything is urgent and important. Too much long hours. - IT contracters brought in to save day but does not grow permanent people. -little respects for subordinates and colleagues.

    Advice to Management

    There is a lot of employer branding this year and a more HR on social media. But real situation in company doesn't change even if dress it up. Better if company look hard at the leaders / bosses and bring in people that will change to respect, allow to fail and learn. Appreciate innovative thinking.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-10-11

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    October 30, 2017

    Hi there, and thank you for your honest review. We always appreciate seeing the pros as well as the cons when it comes to feedback we receive from our people – it helps us move forward as an organisation after all. As you correctly noticed, at A.S. Watson we take big pride in ...

    Show More
  7. "Has pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    - Great colleagues - Learn a lot at work - Good environment - Strong controls

    Cons

    - Benefits were a bit limited

    A.S. Watson Group2017-08-29

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    September 4, 2017

    Hi there, and thank you for your review! We’re happy you enjoyed your time with us. Your feedback will be forwarded in the right direction and followed up on. We would like to wish all the best in your future endeavours. Best of luck!

  8. "Dynamic international company & great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Zürich
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ASW is a dynamic international company with fast paced business. Work is never monotone and the opportunity to grow is given to employees. Great team spirit in Zurich and regular team building activities.

    Cons

    ASW is often unknown in Europe better incentives for milestones

    Advice to Management

    Regular updates regarding strategy and new markets would be appreciated.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-08-23

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 25, 2017

    We’re happy to see you enjoying your time at A.S. Watson in our lovely Zurich office. We appreciate seeing the pros as well as the cons and are grateful for your recommendations. In fact, we’re actually working on them as we speak… Overall we hope the rest of your team shares your ...

    Show More
  9. "Multicultural and caring employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Buying Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at A.S. Watson Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Multicultural teams and strong feeling that ASW is caring for its employees and taking action (not only blabla)!

    Cons

    Current organizational structure does not always allow the standard career evolution path but very much encourages talents to express their wishes and take opportunities if existing.

    Advice to Management

    Take more concrete actions also towards career aspirations from employees, not only well-being/health/benefits package. Career evolution is a big focus especially for young and talented people which could unfortunately lead to losing some of our great colleagues!

    A.S. Watson Group2017-08-18

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 23, 2017

    Thank you for your review. We’re exceptionally happy you strongly believe we stand up for who we say we are as a company – that’s something invaluable to us, really proving the recent focus around strengthening our Employer Brand globally. We also wanted to thank you for taking ...

    Show More
  10. "Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at A.S. Watson Group full-time

    Pros

    Fellow Designers were a great team to work alongside.

    Cons

    Unappreciative managers. Seniors look down on other staff. Long hours. Always backlogs. Not paid enough for the work we do.

    A.S. Watson Group2017-08-24

    A.S. Watson Group Response

    August 29, 2017

    Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience. Your feedback will be forwarded in the right direction. We would like to wish you all the best in your future endeavours.

Found 80 reviews