A&K USA LLC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

A&K USA LLC Reviews

Updated Oct 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
A&K USA LLC CEO Geoffrey J. W. Kent
Geoffrey J. W. Kent
11 Ratings
  1. "Sales Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at A&K USA LLC full-time

    Pros

    Overall a very good company culture with manageable office politics

    Cons

    Lack of business acumen in members of the senior management team

    A&K USA LLC2018-10-22
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of confidence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at A&K USA LLC full-time

    Pros

    Great Training programme, depending on what time of year you start

    Cons

    The company is well organised, however due to it's upmarket status a huge amount of intricacy goes into the role and takes some time getting used to. Leading up to their busy months they are very pushed for deadlines leaving staff under a great deal of pressure. The main issue was there was not enough staff to spread the work load and therefore issues arose.

    Advice to Management

    Ease employees into the role more and generally HIRE MORE STAFF

    A&K USA LLC2017-05-03
  3. "You want to work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A&K USA LLC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and professional work environment. Great opportunities within the company. It's a nice place to work and there are lots of people from different backgrounds. Awesome travel benefits.

    Cons

    Some travel benefits are contingent upon your role.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be selective in hiring.

    A&K USA LLC2019-10-24
  4. "Not a bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Downers Grove, IL

    I have been working at A&K USA LLC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most people are very pleasant, good work environment at the Downers Grove office. HR tries to put on events (potlucks, ice cream socials, etc.) to break up the monotony of work. Decent starting salary and benefits package. Most people are very

    Cons

    Unorganized at times. Not much room for advancement. It seems there is only availability when another position is vacated. Few (depending on the department) to no opportunities outside of the travel consultant team.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your non management employees they have more insight on what is driving sales than you think. Numbers are not the only indication of

    A&K USA LLC2019-09-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "The most toxic, gossip filled, and unprofessional company I have ever had the displeasure of working for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at A&K USA LLC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For a brief time you will feel like you’re a part of something real and special. It’s false

    Cons

    The faux friendly culture is quickly stripped away as managers and coworkers take place in gossip and spreading lies. It’s all about appearances here and it’s all they care about.

    Advice to Management

    Quit so someone with real management skills that didn’t get there through extreme nepotism can come in and fix your messed up social points system of management.

    A&K USA LLC2019-09-19
  6. "Exciting company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Downers Grove, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A&K USA LLC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Comprehensive benefits, great training program, and very exciting industry. It's for certain that you will never be bored and you'll never run out of new things to do, to try, or places to go. If you love traveling or have always wanted to travel, this is the place to be. I also love that the company has a well-established philanthropic arm that is committed to giving back and improving the communities in which it... operates.

    Show More

    Cons

    They do a great job of introductory training, but training in procedures needs a little more investment.

    Advice to Management

    I think it would be quite helpful for new staff members to have a mentor within the company (preferably from another team) to help with the transition into the company. While the benefits are excellent, I always have concerns about combining PTO that doesn't carry over. I think separate sick time that carries over indefinitely helps staff members with a health crisis. Maintaining a catastrophic leave bank that all... employees are allowed to contribute to has been an extremely helpful, compassionate option at a couple of my former employers.

    Show More
    A&K USA LLC2019-07-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Best Luxury Travel Agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tailor Made Travel Consultant in Downers Grove, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A&K USA LLC full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone works as a team

    Cons

    Traffic getting to work sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring skilled people that make a difference.

    A&K USA LLC2019-06-01
  8. "Such a great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at A&K USA LLC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team is very collaborative across the board. People work together to get things done!

    Cons

    Some challenges with management basing changes on their own ideas, not always factual data.

    A&K USA LLC2019-06-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Workplace Bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Downers Grove, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at A&K USA LLC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mostly nice people Team atmosphere Good benefits Occasionally they buy pizza or food when goals are met

    Cons

    Workplace bullying is tolerated Promotions are often sabotaged Low pay Work is very stressful for low pay. People are called I to meetings and threatened over typos and other small issues. People are set up to fail.

    Advice to Management

    Take workplace bullying seriously.

    A&K USA LLC2019-05-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Downers Grove, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at A&K USA LLC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, work-life balance and the many fun things that are done around to office throughout the year. Very nice new renovated office!

    Cons

    The systems need an update and face lift, but hopefully that is on the horizon.

    A&K USA LLC2019-04-23
Found 26 reviews