ACORN Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ACORN Reviews

Updated 8 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
ACORN CEO Bertha Lewis
Bertha Lewis
2 Ratings
  1. "disgruntled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ACORN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    none at all dredfull company

    Cons

    every thing .corrupt appalling company

    Advice to Management

    find your soul ps, its in hell

    ACORN2019-06-13
  2. "Horrible experience horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Organizer in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ACORN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excited to be involved in socially active organization at first They are always hiring (wonder why?)

    Cons

    Horrible management, horrible working conditions, awful management made this the worst job I've ever had

    ACORN2019-08-08
  3. "Really good organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser 

    I worked at ACORN part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is a bit more than minimum wage, and the work is really important and is going towards an amazing cause.

    Cons

    Tough on the body and the self esteem to do door to door work, you will learn a lot about people and social skills and build lots of resilience, but if your already having a bad day, then this job can feel impossible to do on those days.

    ACORN2019-07-01
  4. "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fundraiser 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ACORN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Sadly it is not applicable

    Cons

    no cons it a good place don't worry

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    ACORN2019-06-23
  5. "Worked here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ACORN full-time

    Pros

    Great people and good mission

    Cons

    Not any at this time

    ACORN2019-02-17
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ACORN

    Pros

    They really take care of you and care about you even as an intern

    Cons

    None really, super laid back

    ACORN2018-08-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Field Organizer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at ACORN part-time

    Pros

    Unrivaled field experience. Great opportunity to understand issues at hand and gain perspective.

    Cons

    Few opportunities for upward mobility

    ACORN2018-08-25
  8. "Rude and disrespectful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ottawa, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ACORN part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Got to help people file their taxes, learned how to do my own taxes.

    Cons

    The place was crazy, no organization, no sense of team. It's run by one woman who can't accept that life happens and sometimes people are in car crashes (almost die) and can't call in. I was basically edged out with a new employee who took my desk and most of my work after I gave 5 months of hard work doing my job and doing other work that isn't even a part of my job description (campaigning for local election).

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of your stupid (no call, your fired policy) maybe you'll retain some employees and feel wanted.

    ACORN2018-06-25
  9. "Canvas Team Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Canvas Team Leader in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ACORN part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Doing door to door canvasing is easy work.

    Cons

    Cold weather, lots of walking.

    Advice to Management

    Enact, and enforce organizational policies.

    ACORN2018-05-07
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internship in Halifax, NS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ACORN

    Pros

    Passionate environment and individuals who are truly trying to make a change

    Cons

    The management is a bit scattered

    ACORN2017-09-12
Found 26 reviews