AKQA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AKQA Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
AKQA CEO Ajaz Ahmed
Ajaz Ahmed
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "Absolutely great people to work with(in 50 reviews)

  • "Great clients, the people are very friendly and intelligent, dogs are allowed in the office(in 38 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours and unrealistic expectations on all projects i worked on(in 52 reviews)

  • "Difficult to maintain a good work-life balance(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "The World is Your Oyster Here: Write Down Your Goals, Share Them with Management, & Watch Yourself Grow!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AKQA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Diverse Culture With Many Walks of Life - Benefits Help offset Challenging Moments: Yoga, Meditation, Massages, & Acupuncture - Great Location Near Convenient Gym, Restaurants, & Bars - Transparent All-Hands Meetings to address state of company - One of the Best Rooftops in the City - Internal Tools for Personal Growth - Communication Opportunities with other North American Studios - Fast Paced... Environment - Open work space

    Show More

    Cons

    Like any opportunity one decides to take on, at AKQA, you're in control of your own experience. Morale at agencies typically tend to be a roller-coaster of emotions and if you let the negativity effect you, it can quickly take a toll. The beauty of AKQA SF is if you take advantage of the benefits and open seating to avoid distractions, you can focus on your work and continue to execute on your goals.

    Advice to Management

    Churn rate is high and needs to be acknowledged. When good people leave, unfortunately the idea begins to float around to other great contributors. Avoid this pattern by continuing to encourage employees to voice their goals and the desired support. (Conferences, Meet-Ups, Courses, Off-Site Mentoring)

    AKQA2019-05-23
  2. "Avoiding the beaten path, Seeking terrain unexplored"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior User Experience Architect in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AKQA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing clients Amazing people AKQA Quality - never settling for less, always setting the standard Investment in people - good coffee, monthly breakfasts, training, healthy pension & holiday and more

    Cons

    Commitment to the best service, sometimes means there's a compromise / sacrifice to personal time or preferences Lots of change has been challenging in recent times, but the tide is turning

    Advice to Management

    The world, our industry, our company is in a state of change. We can either adapt to change and ride the wave; or simply wipeout! I believe in the values, ambition and people at AKQA. We've continued to deliver the very best work to our clients in the midst of change and uncertainty. Change is unavoidable, but I believe we'll be the team, the work, the company will be stronger as a result.

    AKQA2019-08-19

    AKQA Response

    September 2, 2019Managing Director

    Thank you for making such a valued difference. Excited for the future. If anything that we can help reimagine to make things better for our teams and clients, let's go for it. Ron, MD, ron@akqa.com

  3. Helpful (5)

    "Spinning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AKQA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    AKQA brand holds weight with clients and means there are really cool opportunities that come in and are great fun. office is nice and well stocked

    Cons

    Londons 2019 MD has a lack of connection to reality and his decisions have triggered a massive dip in performance and vibe. Hiring and promoting his under qualified friends has been hugely negative and shows deep rooted bias. Office is always empty Key people leaving all the time Listening sessions were ran at the start of the year and everything ignored No financial rewards

    Advice to Management

    To the senior leadership of AKQA please intervene.

    AKQA2019-08-15

    AKQA Response

    September 2, 2019Managing Director

    Thank you for being a part of our humble, never-perfect journey. We won't be perfect. But together, the intent of our teams will be. With positive energy, deep care, courage, and an ambition to redefine the future of our clients and our teams, we will continue to set our path forward. ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (4)

    "A business that's lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Program Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AKQA part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great brands and talent Excellent facilities and benefits

    Cons

    Management changes and company has lost its way and left the London office in a state of flux.

    AKQA2019-06-12

    AKQA Response

    August 7, 2019Managing Director

    Thank you for being a part of our journey. Together, let's turn change and flux into the oxygen for leading invention as we commit with deep care for each other. Would love to grab coffee and hear your valued input as we shape it together, Ron, MD, ron@akqa.com

  5. Helpful (5)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AKQA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, great benefits, flexible working.

    Cons

    Change of leadership, everything since went down hill. No salary reviews unless you're in with the right people, favouritism is a key trend. Same people getting rewarded/promoted. People disappearing left/right in the Company and they kept it all under the radar. with no explanation. As soon as Senior Management leave, you know that you should too.

    Advice to Management

    Bring Sam back as MD

    AKQA2019-07-10

    AKQA Response

    August 7, 2019Managing Director

    Big respect, thank you for the input so that we're always getting better. We are committed, all the way, to listen, learn, push, challenge, and humbly reinvent ourselves forward. Would love to chat and listen more, Ron, MD, ron@akqa.com

  6. Helpful (6)

    "Continuous decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AKQA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Having the name of a once very reputable agency on your CV can open a lot of doors. The outside world remain clueless to the catastrophic state of internal affairs at AKQA.

    Cons

    The churn of staff, even at a snr level, mediocre work, complete lack of inspiration and toxic culture make for a particularly soul crushing environment.

    Advice to Management

    There are some great talents that are consistently ignored within your walls.

    AKQA2019-06-18

    AKQA Response

    August 7, 2019Managing Director

    Thank you for being a part of the journey. We're in it to push with care, passion, and the willingness to reinvent so that every year, our teams deliver output that inspires society more than the year before. Please let us know of any talent (great, hidden, or ignored) - and we will ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (4)

    "No loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AKQA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff and nice building

    Cons

    No leadership Let people go at the drop of a hat. Make employees feel like they have done something wrong Do not listen

    Advice to Management

    MD,Operations need to go absolute joke

    AKQA2019-05-23

    AKQA Response

    August 7, 2019Managing Director

    Much respect, thanks for sharing. We're in a journey together, admittedly not always perfect, but with deep care and resolute commitment to ensure you and each of our colleagues have the most fulfilling careers. Please drop me a line anytime - I would love to listen over lunch or ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Art Director in City of London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AKQA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great projects to work on and the team is really amazing

    Cons

    Salary doesn't seem to be on London average.

    AKQA2019-03-13

    AKQA Response

    August 7, 2019Managing Director

    Big thanks for helping make this team what it is. Also thanks for your feedback on salaries, let's look into this. Important that you, and each of our teams, are valued and fulfilled at every point. If any further feedback, happy to meet or grab coffee anytime. Let's keep going. ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Nice People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AKQA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice People in data team

    Cons

    Agency Life is sometimes hectic.

    AKQA2018-08-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Creative Copywriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AKQA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Improved my presentation skills, opened my mind about the creative work

    Cons

    The copywriters weren't too much involved in film shootings, and production which can be the funniest part.

    AKQA2018-07-12
Found 106 reviews
</>Embed