AKQA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AKQA Reviews

Updated Nov 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
AKQA CEO Ajaz Ahmed
Ajaz Ahmed
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Absolutely great people to work with(in 50 reviews)

  • "Great clients, the people are very friendly and intelligent, dogs are allowed in the office(in 39 reviews)

Cons
  • "long hours and unrealistic expectations on all projects i worked on(in 55 reviews)

  • "Difficult to maintain a good work-life balance(in 51 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great agency to start your carreer!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Account Manager in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AKQA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lot of time invested in young and starting employees helping them to learn the ropes and fundamentals of agency work.

    Cons

    Difficult to maintain a good work-life balance.

    AKQA2019-01-03
  2. "Empowering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AKQA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    AKQA has an abundance of benefits for its employees and i feel very fortunate to have access to these. I find the new leadership resilient. Their honesty, integrity, empowerment, vision, and transparency is uplifting. It's energising for the MD to always involve the team and share credit and recognition. They definitely reignited my inspiration by rolling their sleeves up and getting stuck in - thank you all... for not just managing but importantly leading us!!

    Show More

    Cons

    Don't really have anything bad to say - I really respect the changes that have taken place recently.

    Advice to Management

    Some don't like change but in an ever-changing world it's inevitable and the only way we succeed is to continue moving forward - the recent transparency and honesty we've had this year have been uplifting and hope we don't lose it!

    AKQA2019-10-02
  3. "It was fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Accounts Manager in London, England

    I have been working at AKQA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of good client and brands

    Cons

    Lots of work, often too much

    AKQA2019-10-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Finance in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at AKQA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Monthly breakfast Nice office

    Cons

    Micro management No proper trainings and handover Some people are extremely rude and unhelpful Workload is unmanageable Management doesn't support employee well being Long hours

    Advice to Management

    I was very excited to join the company, but found the environment very toxic. Management should invest time on supporting employees and work life balance.

    AKQA2019-09-28
  5. "Avoiding the beaten path, Seeking terrain unexplored"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior User Experience Architect in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AKQA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing clients Amazing people AKQA Quality - never settling for less, always setting the standard Investment in people - good coffee, monthly breakfasts, training, healthy pension & holiday and more

    Cons

    Commitment to the best service, sometimes means there's a compromise / sacrifice to personal time or preferences Lots of change has been challenging in recent times, but the tide is turning

    Advice to Management

    The world, our industry, our company is in a state of change. We can either adapt to change and ride the wave; or simply wipeout! I believe in the values, ambition and people at AKQA. We've continued to deliver the very best work to our clients in the midst of change and uncertainty. Change is unavoidable, but I believe we'll be the team, the work, the company will be stronger as a result.

    AKQA2019-08-19
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Spinning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AKQA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    AKQA brand holds weight with clients and means there are really cool opportunities that come in and are great fun. office is nice and well stocked

    Cons

    Londons 2019 MD has a lack of connection to reality and his decisions have triggered a massive dip in performance and vibe. Hiring and promoting his under qualified friends has been hugely negative and shows deep rooted bias. Office is always empty Key people leaving all the time Listening sessions were ran at the start of the year and everything ignored No financial rewards

    Advice to Management

    To the senior leadership of AKQA please intervene.

    AKQA2019-08-15
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AKQA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, great benefits, flexible working.

    Cons

    Change of leadership, everything since went down hill. No salary reviews unless you're in with the right people, favouritism is a key trend. Same people getting rewarded/promoted. People disappearing left/right in the Company and they kept it all under the radar. with no explanation. As soon as Senior Management leave, you know that you should too.

    Advice to Management

    Bring Sam back as MD

    AKQA2019-07-10
  8. Helpful (5)

    "A business that's lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Program Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AKQA part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great brands and talent Excellent facilities and benefits

    Cons

    Management changes and company has lost its way and left the London office in a state of flux.

    AKQA2019-06-12
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Continuous decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AKQA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Having the name of a once very reputable agency on your CV can open a lot of doors. The outside world remain clueless to the catastrophic state of internal affairs at AKQA.

    Cons

    The churn of staff, even at a snr level, mediocre work, complete lack of inspiration and toxic culture make for a particularly soul crushing environment.

    Advice to Management

    There are some great talents that are consistently ignored within your walls.

    AKQA2019-06-18
  10. Helpful (5)

    "No loyalty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AKQA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff and nice building

    Cons

    No leadership Let people go at the drop of a hat. Make employees feel like they have done something wrong Do not listen

    Advice to Management

    MD,Operations need to go absolute joke

    AKQA2019-05-23
Found 109 reviews
</>Embed