APCO Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

APCO Worldwide Reviews

Updated 16 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
APCO Worldwide Chief Executive Officer Brad Staples (no image)
Brad Staples
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible in holiday-taking, professional in doing business, friendly working environment(in 19 reviews)

  • "APCO Worldwide would be a great place to start a career(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "sometimes long hours and hard life-work balance(in 17 reviews)

  • "Very demanding clients meant that work-life balance was a challenge(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A company on the up!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at APCO Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working from home, great hard working environment and sociable. Interesting work.

    Cons

    Salary could be improved for those who contribute to company success, particularly at lower level.

    Continue reading
    APCO Worldwide2019-07-18

    APCO Worldwide Response

    October 18, 2019

    Thanks so much for your feedback and comments, which we will certainly take on board. Alison Chisnell, Global Talent Director

    Continue reading
  2. "AWFUL COMPANY - AVOID AT ALL COSTS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultancy in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at APCO Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Based in Covent Garden

    Cons

    These days APCO is known mostly for internal bullying and harassment. The work is most often insignificant, for unfavourable companies and there is no work culture. Constantly trying to squeeze margins to improve profitability at the expense of their employees.

    APCO Worldwide2020-01-16

    APCO Worldwide Response

    January 20, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time and sharing your views so honestly – I was saddened to read your note and would very much like to work with you to take on board and fully address the serious issues that you have raised in a timely way. I know this can often be difficult to do and I want to share with you the options that are available to do this. Ideally I would love to have a private conversation about this, however if you do not feel comfortable with this approach, other options would be to either talk to HR or to raise it via the STOPit app (our confidential anonymous reporting app for whistleblowing and serious issues). We expressly prohibit harassment and bullying behaviors and would like hear the facts so we can address them immediately. Please be assured that we are taking your feedback extremely seriously and are committed to creating the best culture we can for all of our staff. Steve Earl, London MD

    Continue reading
  3. "Some room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at APCO Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, lots of travel opportunities and opportunity to work with offices abroad.

    Cons

    Get ready to say goodbye to your social life. Whilst here, I felt like it was expected for me to an employee 24/7.

    APCO Worldwide2019-09-17

    APCO Worldwide Response

    October 18, 2019

    Thanks for sharing your experience. I’m glad that you had lots of opportunities and enjoyed the environment, although I am concerned about your comments on the work/life balance and I would really like to understand more about that, as we value employee wellbeing very highly. Please do get in touch for a confidential discussion about how we can improve this. Alison Chisnell, Global Talent Director achisnell@apcoworldwide.com

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (5)

    "London Finance disgraceful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at APCO Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Close to city and tube. Easy to get to on most tube lines

    Cons

    Worst management. Push staff to almost tears. Nasty, gossip, rude, lies

    Continue reading
    APCO Worldwide2019-07-06

    APCO Worldwide Response

    July 10, 2019

    I’m really sorry to hear that you have had such a negative experience with APCO, which is not at all in line with our values. Please do get in touch with me to discuss as I would very much like to understand the detail behind your comments, so that we can fully resolve the situation. Alison Chisnell Global Talent Director achisnell@apcoworldwide.com

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at APCO Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Thought provoking and interesting work. It’s a small company, so you can really thrive. Great people.

    Cons

    The pay can be suboptimal.

    APCO Worldwide2019-04-10
  6. Helpful (6)

    "London Finance - Proceed with caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at APCO Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Central location. Perfect to decompress after what was probably another ordeal day.

    Cons

    Environment very close to a live version of "The Office" but with multiple David Brents. Over 100% finance staff turnover in the past year. Depressing atmosphere between bipolar outbursts and constant lying by Finance "management" (sic!). Proceed at your own risk.

    Continue reading
    APCO Worldwide2019-01-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Bad office atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at APCO Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Salary around the average level.

    Cons

    The tone and attitude of the senior management caused a feeling of a fragmented office with very demotivated staff. Limited opportunities to grow as the management doesn't really address the promotion issue and the turnover is really high. Not many interesting accounts.

    APCO Worldwide2018-12-04
  8. "Project Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at APCO Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Great work environment for teaching young professionals how to conduct themselves in the workplace and talk to/manage clients. Fantastic fellow coworkers and peers.

    Cons

    Inflexible hierarchy. Hard or outstanding work does not help you climb the ladder any faster than your peers. I left at a time of extremely high staff turnover which was demoralizing.

    APCO Worldwide2018-10-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good variety"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at APCO Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good variety. Nice staff and above average salary and benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing significant to report really

    APCO Worldwide2018-01-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Freelance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at APCO Worldwide for less than a year

    Pros

    Young and dynamic team was lots of fun,

    Cons

    Projects tended to be mediocre and small budget.

    APCO Worldwide2018-01-12
Found 191 reviews