AQA Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AQA Reviews

Updated 24 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
AQA CEO Mark Bedlow
Mark Bedlow
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of diversity in senior management and appears to be limited determination to address issue(in 6 reviews)

  • "Due to a large temporary staff during summer, it can take some time for everyone to learn everything to do with their role(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AQA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice office environment, most summer temps are students so easy to get on with, nice supervisors and any issues sorted out quickly.

    Cons

    They decreased the pay for the same role this summer so I didn't go back. Short contracts so not guaranteed a whole summer of work.

    AQA2019-11-24
  2. "Great summer job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AQA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    nice people, great money, really taking care of temporary employees. The job is boring but Supervisors are really trying to make it fun which is great

    Cons

    The job as an administrator is very boring

    AQA2019-11-19
  3. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AQA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere, supportive colleagues, lots of nice staff benefits and activities, flexible working and respectful of work-life balance. Comprehensive list of training programmes, including fierce conversations and resilience. Access to online training database including general (non-AQA) courses. The best place I've ever worked. AQA are a charity and the work is rewarding and incredibly important to me - we... give people qualifications after all. We regularly raise money for other charities and our staff volunteer in community projects. If we choose we can get up to 5 days paid leave to volunteer each year. I have several physical and mental health conditions and find this a welcoming, understanding, accommodating and supportive environment. I have healed and grown so much here.

    Show More

    Cons

    As with nearly every place I've worked there are some issues with gossip and office politics, but nothing extremely serious and no bullying. Some of the roles here involve rather tedious work but mostly this is given to staff on temporary contracts.

    AQA2019-11-15
  4. "A worthwhile summer job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Coordinator 

    I worked at AQA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seasonal work, great people, fair pay

    Cons

    Work sometimes repetitive (okay on the wjole)

    AQA2019-11-07
  5. "Technical Customer Service Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AQA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Managers are good with holidays Weekly Pay Plenty of treats as a Customer Advisor Shift times vary

    Cons

    No bonuses Training isn't effective - feel as though you're thrown in on the deep end on your first day as you don't shadow people

    AQA2019-10-20
  6. "Good summer job if you need the cash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production and Logistics Worker in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AQA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The long, regular hours means it is a good way to earn money.

    Cons

    Mundane, repetitive work. It will get boring!

    AQA2019-10-10
  7. "general admin work, nothing to difficult."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at AQA full-time

    Pros

    easy and quick to understand processes

    Cons

    job may be very repetitive, so can get boring

    AQA2019-10-01
  8. "Casual work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AQA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexitime Canteen on site Friendly atmosphere Helpfull Progression

    Cons

    Temporary Targets Can be strict with breaks

    AQA2019-08-15
  9. "P&L Seasonal work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production and Logistics Temp Staff in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at AQA part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hourly salary and working hours are flexible

    Cons

    There's no accountability for seasonal staff so work is very mundane and repetitive

    Advice to Management

    Management should take a more proactive approach with seasonal staff to encourage a better working environment

    AQA2019-08-19
  10. "A fantastic place to work with lots of lovely people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AQA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Relaxed working environment. Majority of people passionate about their role and education. Generous holiday allowance. Culture of working together. Focus on wellbeing of employees. Clearly defined salary structure. Development opportunities outside of core role.

    Cons

    Communication between departments could be much better. Lack of diversity in senior management and appears to be limited determination to address issue. Quieter personality types can be overlooked when it comes to promotion. Limited promotion opportunities within certain departments leads to talented people moving on.

    Advice to Management

    Reward staff taking on additional responsibility during peak periods better. Take action in addressing issues with lack of diversity rather than only talking it. Look at better methods of exchanging information between senior management and others as disconnect encourages silo mentality.

    AQA2019-07-13
Found 80 reviews
</>Embed