ASOS Team Leader Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Team Leader

ASOS Team Leader Reviews

Updated 18 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.4
34%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
ASOS CEO Nick Beighton
Nick Beighton
7 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Watford, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASOS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great fun, young work place vibes, amazing discount, progression opportunities, good pay

    Cons

    shift work, busy, loud office

    ASOS2019-04-24
  2. "ASOS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ASOS full-time

    Pros

    Salary arrives in time. No issues with salary.

    Cons

    No benefits, low opportunity for development, company in crysis

    Continue reading
    ASOS2020-03-18

    ASOS Response

    March 26, 2020Talent Assistant

    Hello, thanks for your review! We really appreciate your feedback and we want to assure you we have passed it onto the relevant teams to ensure we strive to do the very best for our ASOSers. Thanks ASOS.

    Continue reading
  3. "Amazing Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Night Shift Team Leader in Leavesden Green, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ASOS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meeting new people and the 20% discount code

    Cons

    It expanded too quickly and it lost some of its original structure and feel.

    Continue reading
    ASOS2020-01-30
  4. "Un-motivating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Team Leader in Hemel Hempstead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASOS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good People to work with. Everyone accepts you for who you are.

    Cons

    Un-motivating place to work. Alot of changes going back and forth.

    Continue reading
    ASOS2020-01-07
  5. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Watford, East of England, England

    I worked at ASOS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fair salary based on workload

    Cons

    Not appreciated/ no development

    ASOS2019-12-30
  6. "Working at asos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Leavesden Green, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ASOS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working with great people on the night shift.

    Cons

    Upper management does not have a clue.

    ASOS2019-11-20
  7. "many better options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Team Leader in Leavesden Green, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ASOS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the people you work with, flexibility with shifts (after tenure)

    Cons

    no opportunities for progression within, lack of functions to manage team, lack of basic kpi's (removed and new ones not fully introduced at this stage: 6 months later), serious lack of support from senior management, no training / no development (1 year in role), no accountability on poor performance, false promise of salary reviews, ... , most recently removal of employee benefits

    Continue reading
    ASOS2019-12-21
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Team Leader in Leavesden Green, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at ASOS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nostalgia and memories of working for ASOS when it was good. Personally, being allowed to manage my team to success with autonomy. Some decent members of management to collaborate with - but this is extremely rare (see below). Work/life balance is good. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Reaction and change - working in a fast paced and changing environment is to be expected in any growing company but ASOS tried too quickly to grow itself. A 'chuck money at problems' attitude. No confidence when collaborating with other members of the team leader community due to lack of management by their manager or experience. Nepotism is rife within customer care and most 'support' teams are made up of friends who've been given free reign to offer roles to those who have zero experience. Development opportunities are more of a popularity contest than of deserved applications - which shows in the recent cull of people at management level. There has been a restructure due to business issues which has seen over a hundred people made redundant due to bad business decisions made the last few years. No-one ever really seems to be pulling in the same direction - too many members of management have difference of knowledge but not in a positive way (this is down to too many senior management only having knowledge of ASOS as a business - which is an issue since the customer care department has grown). Very specific, but the term 'perception is reality' being used by high level management as a way of judging people's ways of working or personalities within their roles. This is frightening considering the amount of people that work within customer care. Rumours, bitchiness and college-like feel about the place is the absolute worst. It is like being back at school (that's just the management). The current CEO.

    ASOS2019-07-25
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Thank God I got out when I did"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader in Watford, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ASOS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - informal environment - no dress code - easy job

    Cons

    - unprofessional, racist management - lack of structure and policies - no clear guidance on progression - not customer oriented - cool kids club - lies used to lure people into the business - minimal sick days - horrible pay - terrible connection to leavesden - lots of pressure on advisors and staff - overcrowded building - terrible canteen food - drug culture - uneducated managers and no support - a joke of HR (people team) their HR advisors are not trained and everybody sat in their will give you a different advice, instead of speaking to each other and advising one or the same advice - hypocritical behaviour e.g. asos advocates for gender equality, not racially motivated etc. but are the worst when it comes to racist jokes, sexist remarks and homophobia

    Continue reading
    ASOS2019-06-25

    ASOS Response

    July 2, 2019Talent Partner

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to review us, we really do appreciate the feedback which helps us to strive to do the very best for our ASOSers. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed the informal environment and our relaxed dress code, but we’re very disappointed to hear of some of the negative feedback and we’d like to address some of these issues. We pride ourselves on our inclusive culture and are one hundred percent committed to treating everyone as equals. The behaviour you have described is not representative of our values and your comments have been passed to senior management. Any allegations of bullying, harassment or discrimination are treated extremely seriously and we would encourage you to reach out to someone from your previous Senior Management Team or a People Partner to allow us to investigate this further. Being an inclusive company also means that on occasion, and where appropriate, we may employ people with criminal convictions. Where this happens, we assess the risk of employing and continuing to employ that person based on the role and their individual experience and talent to succeed. On progression, promotions across the business are awarded based on demonstrated skills in line with the competencies and behaviours required for the role. These are always reviewed by a member of management and the People Experience team to ensure decisions are considered and objective and not based on bias. We’re also currently working to make this process more visible to all our ASOSers. In relation to pay, we regularly use external providers who provide data which helps us to ensure our salaries remain competitive and relevant to the market. It is important to us that our ASOSers are being rewarded for the hard work they put in and this is something incredibly important to us. We also have a company-wide framework for compensating people fairly for the job they do. Our reward decisions are based on the responsibilities of the role, market benchmarking, and the individual’s skills, experience and performance; and we review this twice a year across the business and are very thorough and considered when doing so. Part of our reward packages are the benefits such as our free gym, our subsidised canteen offering a selection of hot and cold food 24hrs a day and staff discount. We’re sorry to hear you were upset at the staff discount not applying to discounted items, but, like many organisations, we constantly review our benefits to ensure they represent the best value and are the most appropriate for our employees, and sometimes this means making changes, for example removing the discount on sale items in April 2018. In regard to your comments about the work/life balance, Customer Care is a fast-paced environment and we know it’s the same at ASOS. We’re conscious of how fast paced it is and have worked hard over the last couple of years to improve people’s work-life balance. We know there’s still some work to do but feedback we’ve had so far has been positive – we’re accommodating more and more part time working patterns/requests, trialling fixed shifts and looking at many other alternatives. We are very clear on our stance on drugs and alcohol in our Disciplinary and Social Events Procedures. It’s upsetting to hear you feel policies are being used to instil fear as this should absolutely not be the case. Likewise, no-one should get a ‘kick’ out of these procedures and we would welcome the opportunity to talk to you further regarding this point. Finally, customers are key to ASOS’s success and we put them at the forefront of everything we do. We’re very disappointed to hear some of your comments around our customer care because we not only feel that we provide first class service but we’re also on a mission to continuously improve the care we offer to our customers. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we wish you all the very best in your future career.

    Continue reading
  10. "I'm so lucky to love my job :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Watford, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ASOS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It honestly is the best place to work. The people are so wonderful and no one is ever too busy to help you. The culture of ASOS is unique and they truly care about their staff. Staff development is a real passion of ASOS and we love to watch our staff climb the ladder and celebrate in their success.

    Cons

    Not a single thing !! - I honestly cant think of anything

    Continue reading
    ASOS2017-12-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews