ASPire Financial Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 28 reviews

2.6
39%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
ASPire Financial President Pete Kirtland (no image)
Pete Kirtland
18 Ratings
  1. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Awesome prior to acquisition

    Oct 19, 2020 - Client Relationship Manager in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved working at Aspire prior to the acquisition. Even though there were internal issues, like any other company, and constant changes, management had your back, you felt supported and valued. Once PCS took over that was no longer the case.

    Cons

    PCS management or rather micro-management and lack of support

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to work

    Feb 3, 2020 - Conversion Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Collaboration between team members Great location Nice people to work with

    Cons

    Disjointed departments Transitioning roles and positions

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Very shady after acquisition

    Feb 18, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    strong relationship with peers and colleagues. Leadership prior to sale to PCS was very open, trusting, empowering and trustworthy.

    Cons

    Tat leadership is now gone. New owners laid off a large portion of operations and then couldn’t get the work done. Not trusting of their people. Terrible place to be. Thumbs down on CEO is not about Pete Kirtland. He is great. But he’s no longer the CEO. Lots of issues. Neither HR nor management will address. People are just workers. Was told more than once since acquisition that there is no answer except “yes” and our input is not wanted.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Not For The Experienced

    Sep 8, 2019 - Processor in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The experience of working with the third party administrators.

    Cons

    I've been in this industry 25 years. I find a majority of the people are rude and uneducated to the industry.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Poor Leadership values short term over long term

    Jul 23, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent commute most of the bay area. Flexible work schedules.

    Cons

    Bad Executive leaders- no work life balance - bad 401k - bad healthcare offerings - no standard of security

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Bigger isn't always better

    Feb 12, 2014 - Billing in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many years ago, this was a fabulous place to work. I enjoyed every single day that I was there. The original owners really cared about the employees and we were all a part of making this growing company successful. Over the past couple years, this has really changed.

    Cons

    The current line up of middle and upper management doesn't fit the culture that was originally what made ASPire so great. Many employees that added great value have left because the company has lost it's way. Employees that were there a very long time and who cared about it were not rewarded with overdue promotions. Instead many outsiders were brought in as directors, but are a terrible fit.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Be prepared to work hard and believe in the promise of a bright future.

    Dec 8, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is founded on full disclosure of fees and relevant investment performance information that benefits the end consumer - a noble pursuit in an industry known for "hidden fees." Employer needs smart, outgoing people to bring leadership and influence company's direction. There is an interesting mix of veterans who were amongst the first employees to new hires who bring fresh, new experiences. Good opportunity to gain unique financial services experience for veterans or newbies to the industry.

    Cons

    Record keeping in financial services is not a rich business so don't look for big starting salaries or cushy benefits. You'll be signing on to the promise of the future you must help build (not sure that's a con). There is some culture challenge that the company is still growing through so turnover is higher than one might expect.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Aspire

    Jun 22, 2016 - Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had a great experience working for senior management & specifically the CEO. Aspire has grown rapidly over the last few years, so with that comes - Rolling up your sleeves, being nimble, understanding change and adapting to a rapid environment. I'm not sure all of the folks coming from large companies to a smaller PE backed organization understood the dynamic environment that we were in & sometimes we're not ready for all the change, growth and slight bumps that happen when rapidly growing. The ride was great for me and I learned a great deal to help me in my next role.

    Cons

    I'm not sure there are cons for me? I understood growth, change, being nimble, process changes, trying new things and rolling up your sleeves to adapt at all times.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Aspire....to move on

    Sep 15, 2011 -  in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people that work there are all dedicated and really go the extra mile. Some of the managers are really knowledgeable and are the best. They put in the blood sweat & tears to grow the company.

    Cons

    Some of the managers have no experience in the industry and only were promoted because they were at the right place at the right time. Also, we work in the retirement industry and you don't provide a 401k match to employees? Employees have more work then we know what to do with and they don't hire anyone-a team of 5 can be doing the work of 16-it's pathetic and this mentality will backfire. When you can't service your clients, they will find someone who can. The worst part? Being part of the fastest growing companies in 2011-you didn't even give out raises to people you promoted.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Don't work here

    Jul 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I will have to say that employees are very friendly. The culture is a friendly environment.

    Cons

    No training. You are basically thrown to the wolves when you start from day 1. Also, there is a ton of management favortism towards certain employees. If you are not liked by your manager, then GET OUT FAST and don't look back.....your days will be numbered. Benefits at Aspire really stink. First, you are a RETIREMENT company but only give employees 25 cents on the dollar for the 401k plan.....how can anyone subsidize their retirement with that? Health benefits...where do I even begin....a doctor visit and I'm stuck with an $85 co-pay...really??? For a small to mid-size company, I have never seen so much turnover. Over-working and stressing good people in the Business Relationship Department creates a huge turnover margin.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

Popular Careers with ASPire Financial Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ASPire Financial? Share Your Experiences

ASPire Financial logo
or