ATB Financial Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ATB Financial Reviews

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
70%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
ATB Financial President and CEO Curtis Stange
Curtis Stange
110 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Must be willing to live in Alberta(in 38 reviews)

  • "The pay is mid tier but the work life balance makes up for it in my mind(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Intentional and positive culture building across the organization which makes for a great place to work.

    Cons

    Not applicable at this time.

    ATB Financial2020-01-18
  2. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Relationship Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture Good management Excellent career growth

    Cons

    Can get very busy most of the time.

    ATB Financial2020-01-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great people, flexible hours, good benefits, good variable pay (STIP), good banking benefits.

    Cons

    Subject to province rules, like pay freezes, reduced hiring, limited budget.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in your people. Right now a lot of the best employees are leaving as they do not feel valued.

    ATB Financial2020-01-10
  4. "Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Trust 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home perks, bonus, career development opportunities, amazing culture

    Cons

    Limited spots for upward mobility, consistent strategy changes, salary freeze

    ATB Financial2020-01-13
  5. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The ATB Story and purpose was inspiring and drove the actions of all people across the organization.

    Cons

    It's sometime difficult to provide proper incentives / rewards for the front-line sales staff.

    Advice to Management

    Keep leading from the heart and with purpose. Seek to find ways to provide more training and ongoing learning opportunities to support the front-line team.

    ATB Financial2020-01-07
  6. "Flexible schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Small Business Advisor in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Create work life balance Great benefits Flexible hours

    Cons

    Salary can be commensurate

    Advice to Management

    None

    ATB Financial2020-01-07
  7. "Worst Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great health benefits and employee banking benefits

    Cons

    Except the benefits everything is worst, people sitting on manager seat know nothing. They dont know how to keep their employees happy. I got hired and I was told that because I have enough experience in the same field so I will only get about a month training. While struggling with the system I never got any support or guidance. I was never told about the 6 months training period. I worked for 1 year and that was the worst working experience ever.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please change managers in the branch at every 2-3 years so they dont exploit their employees.

    ATB Financial2020-01-18
  8. "One of the Best Employers in Canada"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Advice Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful camaraderie, full package benefits, one of the best employers in Canada focused on customer service with an ambitious goal to be the best

    Cons

    Repetitive task, politics which is always present no matter where you work

    ATB Financial2019-12-31
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Constant restructuring and purging of good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There are some good leaders (but fewer now). Good customers.

    Cons

    Senior Executives don't know what they are doing.

    Advice to Management

    Stop drinking the cool aid and live your values rather than just talk about them.

    ATB Financial2020-01-10
  10. "Rewards hard work and proficiency with more work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Room for advancement and a pretty solid culture for the most part. Tons of great people work here and really care about ATB and their customers.

    Cons

    Great performance usually results in a heavier work load. People that have no idea what they are doing are often in management roles and lack the understanding of the subject matter they are supposed to be experts on. Constantly stealing credit for ideas and the work of others.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting people who are good at politics and talking a big game and start looking at results orientated individuals that are truly driving innovation, breaking down doors and pushing others to achieve their goals.

    ATB Financial2020-01-10
Found 740 reviews