ATB Financial Reviews

Updated 25 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
ATB Financial President and CEO Curtis Stange
Curtis Stange
122 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, talented people, ideal work-life balance(in 132 reviews)

  • "Work from home perks, bonus, career development opportunities, amazing culture(in 62 reviews)

Cons
  • "Must be willing to live in Alberta(in 38 reviews)

  • "The pay is mid tier but the work life balance makes up for it in my mind(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "The best place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Underwriting Manager B in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I absolutely love working for ATB, it gives me a great work/life balance, I work with a team of great people and I have a lot of opportunities to move up and advance in my Career. The CEO it's great and really cares for his team members and the customers.

    Cons

    You could have one direct supervisor that is not so great but if you are a hard worker you could easily move to another role.Most of the leaders are good but there are a few that should not be there.

    Continue reading
    ATB Financial2020-04-25

    ATB Financial Response

    April 28, 2020

    Thank-you for your candid and balanced feedback. Our desire to be an inclusive and open organization drives us to make mindful choices about the representation we have at the top, as we truly value cognitive diversity and continue to make that a priority. We hope you continue to see the evolution of our efforts and continue to feel a meaningful sense of contribution to your work.

  2. "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Market Research Manager in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flexibility, good work life balance, lots of exposure to cutting edge work

    Cons

    sometimes project execution can be slower than normal which can lead to frustration

    ATB Financial2020-04-13

    ATB Financial Response

    April 28, 2020

    Thank-you for your review and feedback, we're so happy to see ATB has been and continues to be a fulfilling and meaningful place for you to advance your career. We always strive to do better so your insights are heard and noted and we strongly encourage speaking with your direct leader to further express your concerns with specific projects and engagements you have been involved with.

  3. Helpful (3)

    "Company does not live what it preaches"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Office 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits Ability to work remotely depending on your position and supervisor

    Cons

    Some terrible directors, who are more interested in promoting themselves then making sure their staff are supported. HR department is a joke and will not look into complaints of bullying or be involved in any sensitive matters.

    Continue reading
    ATB Financial2020-04-01

    ATB Financial Response

    May 4, 2020

    Thank-you for your candid feedback. We're sorry to hear your experiences are not living up to your expectations. We would love to dig deeper with you and encourage you to reach out to ServiceExcellence@atb.com to further the discussion.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Think carefully before you apply"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Option to work form home is a pro.

    Cons

    If you have cancer of suffer from any kind of serious illness, don't let them know. They will find an excuse to fire you, to make sure you have no income and no insurance coverage to pay for your medication, and left to die. Very upsetting. You will see that they would keep people who violated code of conduct but fire you because you are not your manager's favourite.

    Continue reading
    ATB Financial2020-04-20
  5. "No Complaints"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule Banking and mortgage benefits Great people

    Cons

    Uncertainty in the organizational structure (continuous changes ins structure)

    Continue reading
    ATB Financial2020-03-11

    ATB Financial Response

    May 4, 2020

    Thank-you for taking the time to write a review and for your balanced feedback. We are going through significant change as an organization to better serve the needs of our customers. We thank-you for your contributions and take your feedback to heart.

  6. "Good place to work"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator 

    I worked at ATB Financial part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, fulfilling work, and good people.

    Cons

    Culture is somewhat cult-like and off-putting at times.

    ATB Financial2020-03-10

    ATB Financial Response

    May 4, 2020

    Thank-you for your feedback. We're glad to hear your experiences were positive. Our culture is certainly ever evolving and our focus on obsession with customers helps drive our mandate forward in meaningful ways. We appreciate that it may not resonate with all but glad you had a balanced experience in your time with us.

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Crown Corporation"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with. Very supportive of Mental and Physical ailments while an employee there. Countless opportunities to advance your career and learn new skills

    Cons

    You are just a number. You work ethic, your personality and what you could potentially bring to the company mean nothing to them. They don't value you as a person, they value you as a number and they also devalue you in the same way,

    Continue reading
    ATB Financial2020-03-12
  8. "Research"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Specialist in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team and good place to work

    Cons

    No issues while working here

    ATB Financial2020-02-22
  9. "Great work-life balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Advice Specialist 
    Recommends

    I have been working at ATB Financial full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very Great work life balance

    Cons

    Shifts schedules can be crazy

    ATB Financial2020-02-20
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Crazy management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ATB Financial full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Multi culture is good with ATB

    Cons

    Management did not provide good training, fire people who has been strictly following the training. Very cheap by making staff doing overtime work without overtime pay

    ATB Financial2020-03-25

    ATB Financial Response

    May 4, 2020

    Thank you for your feedback and view your time with ATB Financial. We're sorry your experiences didn't live up expectations. As we are evolving and growing, this feedback only helps us get better and we very much take it to heart.

Found 757 reviews