AbbVie "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

AbbVie Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 30 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
AbbVie Chairman & CEO   Richard A. Gonzalez
Richard A. Gonzalez
539 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning Partner in Maidenhead, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AbbVie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice office with a gym and cafe on site; flexible working arrangements; good culture

    Cons

    difficult to maintain work-life balance

    AbbVie2019-08-22
  2. "Good culture, difficult work life balance, development opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Finance Manager in Maidenhead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AbbVie full-time

    Pros

    I have learnt a lot in my position and have been given opportunity to progress. There is a general sense both in myself and from the work colleagues that the organisation promotes friendly and productive reltionships at work.

    Cons

    Despite continuous negative feedback work life balance remains major challange. It is not possible to meet deadlines without putting in extra hours on a daily basis.

    AbbVie2019-03-17
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Could be so much better...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial in Maidenhead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at AbbVie full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people across the affiliate Truly trying to put the patient at the centre of everything they do Great UK Office - inspires creativity and innovation

    Cons

    Horrendous work life balance for certain functions that just was not ever acknowleged or addressed Promotions go to the wrong people and regularly are just announced without being advertised internally Not agile despite trying to shed previous Abbott "big pharma" roots - too many layers of process and decision makeing to get even the smallest things done

    Continue reading
    AbbVie2017-06-21
  4. "Good company overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AbbVie

    Pros

    Ethical, transparent, smart people flexibility in working hours

    Cons

    Busy days but company focuses on work life balance

    AbbVie2016-07-19
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Beware!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at AbbVie full-time

    Pros

    Decent salary Appears to be respected by customers

    Cons

    Talks of work-life balance yet most employees working 12-14 hour days, including weekends. Very much a 'face-fits' organisation. 'Blocks' of new starters moving en-masse from one company to the next. Claims that the patient comes first.....unsubstantiated.

    Continue reading
    AbbVie2016-03-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Category specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AbbVie full-time

    Pros

    - good company - flexiblility -work life balance

    Cons

    - Locations - restrictions - still have to find its way, as a new company still lots to implement

    Continue reading
    AbbVie2015-04-19
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Middle Management sUcKs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Maidenhead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AbbVie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Patient Centric drives and Programs ; Good Top level Management; Increasing product pipelines;

    Cons

    Middle Management really bad, very manipulative ; Non-transparent communication ; Aversion to IT ; Obsolete Tools & Technology ; Unsettled workflow ; Work-life balance only on papers;

    Continue reading
    AbbVie2014-10-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Your experience is dependent on the department you work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in Worcester, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AbbVie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are quite impressive, including pension. The building is evolving and modernizing. There are several long-term employees who started at Abbott who stayed on when Abbvie became independent. The level of science is high, resulting in getting much needed products to patients. Very diverse work force and many opportunities for all. Salaries align with fair market value in the state.

    Cons

    It depends on what group you are in to determine the workload that is expected of you. Other reviews claim a good work/life balance while my experience and that of colleagues proves otherwise. Working at home after hours and weekends is necessary to meet deadlines. I heard of at least one employee who routinely stays until 1:00 AM to complete their work while another co-worker claimed they are working much harder than they did in a academic job, which are notoriously demanding. Scientists conduct experiments but don't have time to document them in the electronic notebook. The salary is good but you will work for it at the expense of personal time.

    Continue reading
    AbbVie2019-12-15

    AbbVie Response

    December 18, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We have a strong commitment to employee satisfaction, as well as delivering a positive work environment for all. We would like to hear about your concerns in more detail. Please reach out to us at oec@abbvie.com or HRCentral.UnitedStates@abbvie.com.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Culture has changed dramatically from collaboration to last man standing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AbbVie

    Pros

    I can only think of pros that I experienced my first few years at Abbvie

    Cons

    Toxic culture. Every man for himself, doesn’t matter who you crush to get where you want to be. NO work life balance - expectation is that you are checking your email 24/7, even on vacation.

    Continue reading
    AbbVie2019-12-30

    AbbVie Response

    January 8, 2020Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for voicing your concerns. We have a strong commitment to employee satisfaction as well as delivering a positive, safe work environment for all. We would like to hear about your concerns in more detail. Please reach out to us at HRConnect.northamerica@Abbvie.com. Concerns may be reported anonymously.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist II 

    I have been working at AbbVie full-time

    Pros

    Great work-life balance and culture!

    Cons

    Communication isnt always the best (not very transparent)

    AbbVie2019-11-04

    AbbVie Response

    November 12, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your feedback. We strive to be transparent in our internal communications. If you would like to share more about your concerns please reach out to us at oec@abbvie.com or HRCentral.UnitedStates@abbvie.com.

    Continue reading
Found 190 reviews