Abcam Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Abcam Reviews

Updated 12 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
96%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Abcam CEO Alan Hirzel
Alan Hirzel
75 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is also a strong focus on work/life balance driven from the CEO down(in 21 reviews)

  • "the work environment looks and feels much more professional and modern(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Somewhat low pay, with no opportunity for pay increases other than COLA adjustment(in 9 reviews)

  • "This means you don’t get a car parking space every day(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great opportunities to grow, amazing people to learn from"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you like a challenge and fast-paced environment, this is the place to be

    Cons

    Sometimes feels like we are growing too fast - not enough resource, not being looked after well enough

    Abcam2020-02-12
  2. "You can really make a difference at this company with a difference!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Integrated Marketing in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic values which are truly lived. Despite the company's success there is a 'glass is half empty' mentality - a culture of constantly learning and striving to do the extraordinary.

    Cons

    Grew up quickly so in some areas structure and processes are catching up! But everyone has the opportunity to shape these.

    Continue reading
    Abcam2020-02-12
  3. "Forward thinking, flexible employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Operations Manager in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility (work from home a few days a week). No set break/lunch etc so you are treated like an adult. Great restaurant on site. Great, positive culture.

    Cons

    Car parking, park and ride nearby is annoying!

    Continue reading
    Abcam2020-02-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Owner in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The culture and people at Abcam are amazing. It is a fun environment with so many treats and perks such as free fruit, a games room and not forgetting our very own Barista making us fresh coffee in our fabulous cafe Mollys. We have an Agile working policy meaning we can work elsewhere at times making life just that little bit easier. The investment in development and training for employees is a huge bonus giving everyone opportunities to grow. I have worked at Abcam for a long time and developed my career with support and guidance from amazing Managers who have believed in me and my abilities.

    Cons

    Being on the biomedical campus at Addenbrookes has its disadvantages depending on where you live due to the volume of traffic coming into Cambridge. This is dependent on what time you come into the office though. Abcam has a car park for ~140 card with ~450 employees in the building so we only get to park at the building about 7 times a month. Alternative options must be used such as the park and rides and buses. This was annoying when we first moved to the new building but now I have my new routine I don’t even think of it.

    Continue reading
    Abcam2019-12-11
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Abcam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Manager in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company with fantastic people.

    Cons

    Parking can be a challenge

    Abcam2019-12-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Exceeded Expectations, Continues To Do So"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Laboratory Support Technician in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture of care is amazing here. Everyone from line managers right up to the tippy top CEO actually care about their employees. Abcam is also pretty well funded so, unlike other companies, you're not cutting important resources just to make budget each month. Also, if you're in the Cambridge site, you get to work in a gorgeous building that's full of eco-friendly features.

    Cons

    The only one I can think of is not being able to drive to work every day. But honest, that works for me.

    Continue reading
    Abcam2019-12-11
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Data Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Positive mission to help life scientists Relaxed and friendly company culture Senior management strongly support the use of data and insights across the business

    Cons

    There are so many exciting projects underway, it is easy for us to get distracted and leave things unfinished.

    Continue reading
    Abcam2019-09-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent Employer & Team to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Director in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership from CEO and ELT Great "How can we..." culture Ambitious growth plans

    Cons

    There are almost infinite opportunities for growth, the only problem is that time is finite and working out what to do first

    Continue reading
    Abcam2019-09-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing company going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere; friendly and supportive co-workers; interesting work and many opportunities to develop my career; lots of traing and encouragement for self development; amazing building; fast paced and exciting buzz; flexible working encouraged

    Cons

    a lot of change as we grow; new finance system just gone live so a lot to learn; can be long hours at peak times

    Continue reading
    Abcam2019-09-10
  10. "Good Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Administrator in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture, Nice building, Friendly Staff, Good management

    Cons

    IT systems are just awful

    Abcam2019-10-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 95 reviews