Abcam Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Abcam Reviews

Updated 1 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
96%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Abcam CEO Alan Hirzel
Alan Hirzel
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is also a strong focus on work/life balance driven from the CEO down(in 22 reviews)

  • "Friendly and enthusiastic colleagues; Beneficial Discussions and meeting; Perfect engineering working Environment; Casual Style(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "no bonuses, poor communication, low pay(in 9 reviews)

  • "Decision making/approval processes slow things down(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "A career with purpose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Change Project Manager in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Meet amazing bunch of bright people! Great team work, everyone pulls together and enjoys helping others! A shared focus on helping our customers! Challenging pace and learning new things everyday! Fantastic new facilities with great coffee!

    Cons

    Due to the fast pace and been a growing company, the way we work is not as structured as it could be.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget to praise the people who are achieving so much with their dedication.

    Abcam2019-02-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Data Engineer in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Positive mission to help life scientists Relaxed and friendly company culture Senior management strongly support the use of data and insights across the business

    Cons

    There are so many exciting projects underway, it is easy for us to get distracted and leave things unfinished.

    Advice to Management

    More of the same, please.

    Abcam2019-09-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Employer & Team to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Director in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Leadership from CEO and ELT Great "How can we..." culture Ambitious growth plans

    Cons

    There are almost infinite opportunities for growth, the only problem is that time is finite and working out what to do first

    Advice to Management

    Keep focusing on the great communication and culture development

    Abcam2019-09-13
  4. "Good Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Administrator in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture, Nice building, Friendly Staff, Good management

    Cons

    IT systems are just awful

    Abcam2019-10-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company going places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere; friendly and supportive co-workers; interesting work and many opportunities to develop my career; lots of traing and encouragement for self development; amazing building; fast paced and exciting buzz; flexible working encouraged

    Cons

    a lot of change as we grow; new finance system just gone live so a lot to learn; can be long hours at peak times

    Advice to Management

    keep investing in developing people; recognise pace of change can be stressful

    Abcam2019-09-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work! lots of opportunities!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Logistics UK/EMEA in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Abcam has an extremely nice culture, with a very welcoming attitude. There are plenty of opportunities and ways to develop your own skills. We have a great team of people, all ambitious and willing to help others build and create something special.

    Cons

    Nothing really, its fast paced - prepared.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep an eye out for good talent coming through the ranks.

    Abcam2019-09-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "I love working at Abcam; the challenge, the people and the place #theplacetobe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Lead Business Process Owner (Supply Chain Mgt) in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Abcam has a great mission and it is easy to get behind it and work hard for the projected growth. We are growing rapidly and the people make it a pleasure to be working hard to get it done

    Cons

    really hard to think of any

    Abcam2019-09-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Manager in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Abcam is a challenging and dynamic workplace with great progression opportunities. It's fulfilling to be working collectively to help achieve the company goals. The new HQ building is also a great place to work with fantastic facilities.

    Cons

    Abcam is growing at quite a pace and has been for a number of years. Therefore, especially in busy periods, teams will become quite strained by the amount of workload. if you thrive in a fast-paced and changeable environment, then Abcam may be the place for you!

    Abcam2019-09-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced, fun and flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very friendly culture, outstanding people, tremendous growth and opportunities. Lots of flexibility. I love the fact that I can make my family life work around my job and that Abcam supports me to do this.

    Cons

    There is very little not to like. There has been a focus on constantly improving reward and benefits which has been very well received and much more is planned in this space

    Abcam2019-09-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It just gets better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Director in Cambridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abcam full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Abcam is one of those companies I have waited my whole career to join. It is growing, high tech and successful. It is also passionate about constantly improving itself. I have never sees a business that listens to its people and then implements improvements so quickly. The company has invested in a fantastic all employee share scheme to share success with everyone, has great training programmes and has moved to an... amazing new office in Cambridge. It is ambitious and as a growing business asks its people to grow their careers and learn more in a truly global business. This is not a company you can come into and hide away. It is a high performance business which expects people to contribute. In return you get lots of support, flexibility, route to grow your career and fun!

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is ambitious so sometimes things need a bit of ‘air traffic control’ to help land things in a joined up way. But that’s the output of a creative business which moves with pace. Better that than indecisive big business.

    Advice to Management

    Keep all the straight talking, listening and ambition. Keep attracting the people who can join this business to share the journey.

    Abcam2019-09-02
Found 89 reviews