Abt Associates "senior staff" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Abt Associates Employee Reviews about "senior staff"

Updated 15 Oct 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Abt Associates President and CEO Kathleen L. Flanagan
Kathleen L. Flanagan
153 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Like anywhere else, more discretionary benefits like flex time and remote work depend entirely on your manager, as does work/life balance in general(in 11 reviews)

  • "Your personal experience will depend greatly on the dept you work in and the senior staff person/people who support most often(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior staff"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Abt Associates full-time

    Pros

    Ability to work remotely, ability to work across divisions

    Cons

    Disconnect between junior and senior staff

    Abt Associates2018-10-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Abt Associates full-time

    Pros

    Surrounded by very smart, talented, and (mostly) very kind folks. Doing work that can have a positive impact on policy and practice. Decent work-life balance though things get hectic during proposals or prior to deliverable due dates.

    Cons

    Working on soft money is challenging. You are always chasing new contracts. Your personal experience will depend greatly on the dept you work in and the senior staff person/people who support most often. Most are good.

    Abt Associates2018-06-08
  3. "Mid-level manager insights"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abt Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of online learning opportunities Cross project learning Positive organisational culture

    Cons

    Inequity in salary structure and promotion opportunities. Policies are more focused towards retention of the senior staff, middle tier staff feels left out at times

    Continue reading
    Abt Associates2017-07-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Abt Associates full-time

    Pros

    Mission-driven company; great people to work with; work-life balance.

    Cons

    Sometimes junior, less experienced staff are assigned to be the supervisors for more senior and more experienced staff - which can be demotivating for the more senior staff.

    Continue reading
    Abt Associates2016-05-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Analyst in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abt Associates for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, smart and dedicated people, teaches high-quality research skills and methodologies

    Cons

    Pay for Masters-level Senior Analysts is low compared to other companies, some senior staff need serious training in interpersonal skills

    Continue reading
    Abt Associates2015-10-23
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Demotivating environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Abt Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clark Abt is a true visionary. Cambridge office is close to Trader Joe's. Bethesda office is near metro.

    Cons

    Work greatly depends on your manager, and I've struggled greatly with mine. In this case the problem is with my manager’s level of competence, self-awareness, willingness to share information and support – all of which create delays and limit what we can actually accomplish. Manager claims to respect my skills and abilities but actions don't align with words. It’s really sad to know that you can do more and have so many unnecessary barriers. I’ve tried to have discussions about this but have not succeeded. From all my observations, I don't feel that senior staff truly care, more that they want to look like they care. The department itself is very hush-hush and doesn’t share even the most basic information such as voluntary departures or promotions, or what projects different teams are working on. Aside from that the environment in which I work is not very collegial, but rather cliquish, with colleagues either overtly not being helpful or passively not "noticing," not responding to or "not understanding" your email requests. Over my career I have had difficult bosses, challenging jobs, but this is the only one that has squashed my motivation entirely.

    Continue reading
    Abt Associates2015-08-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Decent overall, but some issues need to be addressed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Cambridge, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abt Associates full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    - Company has been transformed and professionalized in recent years with new library, IT, HR, production and other systems - Smart people - Interesting work - Flexible work schedules - Interesting building to work in, close to Fresh Pond walking trail - On-site cafeteria, yoga/pilates classes - CEO listens to and is interested in staff at all levels - Staff are consulted on some important company decisions

    Cons

    - Collegial with peers, but organization as a whole is very hierarchical and feels stifling. - No formal mechanism for upwards assessment. Feedback is one-way, top-down, all the way down the chain. This is bad for creativity and stressful to staff. - As a result, even senior staff can feel disempowered, disrespected and unappreciated in day-to-day interactions with people they report to. - Pay is not adjusted for cost of living in Abt's various locations. If you have young children, in Boston, compensation is insufficient to cover rent, daycare and living expenses.

    Continue reading
    Abt Associates2015-06-13
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Abt Associates full-time

    Pros

    It seems that many have positive experiences here. Abt is involved in many different sectors, and it's a place full of smart people who seem to want to make a difference.

    Cons

    Immature junior and senior staff that impede ability to do your work. Atmosphere is one of distrust and favoritism. There isn't anywhere to turn to, management or HR, if you have concerns. Billable hours is annoying. Lack of diversity among staff - mostly white, mostly women.

    Continue reading
    Abt Associates2015-06-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Workplace Environment and Challenging Opportunities, Little Mobility for Junior Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Analyst in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abt Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Abt takes work life balance very seriously and it shows in the workplace. People genuinely enjoy working with one another and are very respectful. Projects are engaging and challenging. It is great to work in an environment where people enjoy their work, are challenged by it, and are so talented in their approaches. The benefits are also very competitive.

    Cons

    Many of the senior staff at Abt have advanced degrees in social science fields. They tend to be very smart but seem to think that because they are experts in public health or the economics of developing countries, that makes them experts in communications or technology. Leave some of these aspects to the experts on your team, even if they don't have PhD's, and don't get offended when they try to teach you best practices.

    Continue reading
    Abt Associates2015-01-03
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abt Associates full-time

    Pros

    - Mostly good colleagues - Interesting work (sometimes) - Fairly flexible - Nice office - Senior management is good

    Cons

    - Some senior level people are obnoxious bullies - Need be fairly aggressive about marketing yourself internally to get on good projects (i.e. not the ones with the obnoxious senior staff) - Promotion policies are opaque - The annual review process is bad

    Continue reading
    Abt Associates2013-04-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews