Abt Associates "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Abt Associates Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 13 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
Abt Associates President and CEO Kathleen L. Flanagan
Kathleen L. Flanagan
153 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Like anywhere else, more discretionary benefits like flex time and remote work depend entirely on your manager, as does work/life balance in general(in 11 reviews)

  • "Your personal experience will depend greatly on the dept you work in and the senior staff person/people who support most often(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Analyst in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abt Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance and paid vacation

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult to get exciting and challenging work as a junior staff member

    Abt Associates2019-08-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great people and mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abt Associates full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Attracts wonderful talent and passionate people. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Annual increases are low and it’s hard to get promoted.

    Abt Associates2019-07-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Abt Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    smart and supportive colleagues, great culture and work-life balance, a lot of opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Lack of transparency from leadership; misguided corporate decisions; your experience may differ, depending on your position and field of study

    Abt Associates2019-07-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great mission-driven company with good work life balance, recently going through digital transformations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in North Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Abt Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work life balance, meaningful work, friendly and intellectual colleagues; learning account, mobility marketplace and commuter benefits

    Cons

    Digital transformations can give some major hiccups to the company and may be disorienting for some staff

    Abt Associates2019-07-09
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Style over substance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Abt Associates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The recent office redesign means work spaces are generally well thought-out—rooms are color-coordinated and have shiny new furniture. There are also hoteling spaces with lockers for staff who normally work remotely or in a different office. Varidesks and other perks like fizzy water on tap are available throughout the office 5% 401k match is immediately vested—by far, the best perk from my perspective. Colleagues are generally a kind and friendly bunch.

    Cons

    The building’s location is a little depressing and hard to get to—I’m not sure how the company’s initiatives to be environmentally-friendly jive with an office park. It’s just so much easier to get here in a car. While there’s a shuttle, it stops making drop-offs pretty early, and there isn’t always a safe route to walk back with all the street repairs. To their credit, they do have a bike room. Cubicles for everyone, regardless of role. On one hand, this is very egalitarian—but it isn’t great for getting focus work done, or for fielding remote meetings. Some positions just aren’t suited to an open office, no matter how much white noise you pipe in. Leadership is very top-down—they make a point of “hearing people out” but there’s not a ton of candid discussion during various report-out meetings. Staff input doesn’t seem to get incorporated into decision-making, but that’s just from my limited perspective. Like anywhere else, more discretionary benefits like flex time and remote work depend entirely on your manager, as does work/life balance in general. I wouldn’t recommend the team I left, but I’m sure there are others that are ok.

    Continue reading
    Abt Associates2019-04-30
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Great company, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Rockville, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abt Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Abt offers excellent work/life balance. There is a strong emphasis on learning and the company makes it possible to grow through formal learning and through other options such as marketplace mobility which allows you to connect and learn from other departments. There is a lot of flexibility in terms of work schedule. I find that many of my colleagues telecommute at least once per week.

    Cons

    There is a strong emphasis on meetings, which may not be everyone's preferred method of communication. However, it is nice to connect with others that may work remotely through these meetings.

    Continue reading
    Abt Associates2019-01-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, hard time to be a govt contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abt Associates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mission, and very nice people. Usually very good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Not very good growth opportunities, in my personal experience. It also happens to be a tough time to be serving the government, but that isn't the company's fault!

    Continue reading
    Abt Associates2019-01-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Abt Associates full-time

    Pros

    Surrounded by very smart, talented, and (mostly) very kind folks. Doing work that can have a positive impact on policy and practice. Decent work-life balance though things get hectic during proposals or prior to deliverable due dates.

    Cons

    Working on soft money is challenging. You are always chasing new contracts. Your personal experience will depend greatly on the dept you work in and the senior staff person/people who support most often. Most are good.

    Abt Associates2018-06-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Abt Associates full-time

    Pros

    Great team, work/life balance, interesting work

    Cons

    Slow to promote, to grow

    Abt Associates2018-01-29
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Inconsistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager/Analyst in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Abt Associates full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work. Good work/life balance. Some opportunities to travel if you want that.

    Cons

    Little room for growth, low pay, no career development or mentorship for junior employees. Your experience will depend on the group you work in - some people in different departments love it there. I just happened to work with people who didn't care about my future with the company.

    Abt Associates2018-01-23

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 71 reviews