Achilles Information Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Jul 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 200 reviews

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Achilles Information CEO Jay Katzen (no image)
Jay Katzen
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, great product and great prospects(in 9 reviews)

  • "My colleagues are great and the ability to work with people across many countries is a major benefit(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "This has been a discussion amongst many women recently in Achilles (even on virtual chats)(in 23 reviews)

  • "Manager, Senior management are adding too much work to employees without giving proper compensation(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    The latest conversations about Consulting

    Join the conversation on

    Consulting

    1y

    works at 

    McKinsey & Company

    Consultants of Fishbowl, I'm 31 and have ~$2m. No kids, student loans, etc... I'm also getting CTL'd. If you were in my position, would you scramble to get a new position or retire early?

    359

    130 Comments

    Consulting

    343.6K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/consulting/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Achilles Information~506249
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "great people"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Been with the company for 6 months now and have thoroughly enjoyed it

      Jul 23, 2020 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, great product and great prospects

      Cons

      Nothing negative to add - covid has obviously got in the way of things but the company dealt with it well

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Achilles Information Response

      Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I note that you've not been with us very long, so firstly it's really encouraging to hear how positive you feel about the business and the opportunities we have. I share this positivity. Secondly, COVID has indeed created challenges, not just for us but our customers as well, and I'm really proud of the way we've risen to this challenge. Everyone has shown resolve, resilience and compassion, and that's a testament to the people we have at Achilles and the support we have from our customers. I wish you well with your career at Achilles. If you have any feedback for me in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to me.

    2. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Falling like a stone

      Oct 5, 2018 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Office accommodation is quite good. There is some flexibility for workers. For the lucky few, a chance to travel globally. If you look and try hard enough, you will find the tiny number of great people.

      Cons

      Since writing a positive review in June (at the insistence of the CEO) and believing in it, my view has rapidly changed. The brutality with which seniors have been exited and threats of the same made to others has shocked me. Any half decent company would treat people with dignity and respect. What I have witnessed has destroyed any goodwill towards, and belief in, the CEO. I hadn’t recognised the behaviours described by others in previous reviews. Now I realise that it was just a matter of time. The perilous state of the company is continuously denied. Regrettably truth is jettisoned to maintain a positive, upbeat outlook. Yet the inability of the Sales team to drive real growth is now clear for all to see. The latest executive savagery, culling three executives, has led to shockingly bad decisions. Basic principles of organisation design have gone out of the window and it is now muddled, unclear and incoherent. Worse though, is the sidelining of good people, promoting staggeringly under-qualified people to jobs whose success will be down to those that know what they are doing or, certainly in one case, is likely to fail. I thought the CEO and the company were better than this. I could provide constructive help, help others see how to improve and identify those that are genuinely out of their depth. Instead, we have a CEO who encourages feedback, but simply cannot take it. The dysfunctional behaviour and disintegration of relationships in the executive team is as sad as it is appalling, with one notable exception. There is a crisis at Achilles and I will allow myself to be treated in this way. You almost always reap what you sow and you get what you deserve from others when you treat them badly. I am bitterly disappointed as I thought there was bright future.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Achilles Information Response

      CEO

      Thank you for your feedback. I value all feedback but obviously I’m concerned by the comments you make. As we reshape the business to meet market demands, we have to organise the business accordingly, and I truly believe that we really are simplifying and streamlining business processes, bringing teams together and reducing inefficiencies. This has been reinforced by the many discussions with people across Achilles that strongly support the changes we've made. That said, it does impact people and we never take any changes lightly. We try to do what we can to help anyone impacted. To say we have a ‘tiny number of great people’ is unfortunate and just plain wrong in my view given the fact we have so many good, passionate, and dedicated people across Achilles trying to do what's right. I'm proud of the people we have here. To say we are in a crisis or in peril is blatantly wrong and misleading. In my Town Hall in October, I mentioned we had significant new contracts signed, with major buyers coming on board and opportunities across different markets. The feedback from customers about our Technology improvements and Insights program has been extremely positive. We, like every company, face challenges and I know we can improve. I talk to people all the time and appreciate the feedback, good and constructive, as people want to participate in our success. I’m sorry you don’t feel this way. It's easy to say your feedback won't be listened to, but I encourage you to take responsibility and come talk to me, provide feedback and let's see how we can work together to do better.

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Challenging times and changes

      May 1, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed my time at Achilles, right up to the end, there are many great people who work (and worked) there who are supportive and helpful, with a great work ethic and attitude, these go right up to the top in some cases. I always found some business functions to be much more helpful than others and I can see that that this is because of the way these departments were managed from the top down (others not so much, again because of the way they were managed from the top). There has been a lot of change, some positive, some reactionary. Positive change is always good, but there was a lot more reactionary change, leading to uncertainty and poor moral.

      Cons

      There are a number of people who work there who are too single minded in their goals, this goes all the way up to the top. There are some people in roles that they genuinely shouldn't be doing, either because they are not right for the role or because they have little understanding of what the role entails. I'm not going to pick on people or give examples, but there are some people who really shouldn't be there. The impact of the large scale negativity in certain areas is having a detrimental effect on the work/life balance of some of the great people who work there

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Achilles Information Response

      CEO

      Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I totally agree that there has been a lot of change over recent months, and that this can lead to uncertainty. There has certainly been positive change, and we do empathise with the challenges facing staff, and never make changes without considering the wider impact it will have on our staff and customers. I believe that the changes we have put in place have had a real, positive impact on how the business operates, and as a result, we are in good shape for FY19. I am disappointed to hear that you feel that there is a detrimental impact on people's work life balance. This is something I believe is very important and is something we are striving to get right - I'm pleased that the recent Employee Engagement Survey demonstrated that employees consider that their work life balance has improved since the last survey. It seems from the review that you have left Achilles, but I would still welcome hearing your views on how we can improve this, so please do get in touch. I wish you well in your new job.

    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Always delegate down

      Apr 25, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Abingdon, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some great people although dwindling as every week goes by.

      Cons

      An Executive Board who constantly delegate everything down as they offer very little themselves and eventually there shall be no one left to do the work . The current bunch shall no doubt move on and leave a mess behind them once they are uncovered as not being in control. A CEO who works on soundbites that offer very little substance who struts around not getting involved with those of us working whilst looking forward to his next business class flight home. A company that is becoming very brand conscious, however lack of sales and products shall soon make branding irrelevent. A new false positive review shall be along shortly.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Achilles Information Response

      CEO

      I was really disappointed to read your review, and as always, I would encourage you to come to me directly to offer your feedback. We have a strong Executive team, of which I am proud to be a part of, and I'm proud of the people that work here who are dedicated and committed to our success. I spend a lot of time with our key customers and the general theme from them now is, Achilles is delivering on the promises we made and has made significant progress over the past year. From a customer standpoint, product, technology, sales and servives are in a vastly better place. We always have room to improve and would love to hear your thoughts on that. I am very open to having a discussion. I believe the key thing is to approach these challenges together, positively, as a team.

    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not a Great Experience

      Jul 12, 2017 - Software Quality Assurance Engineer in Abingdon, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, nice office (Abingdon) Good location Good middle management

      Cons

      Lack of strategy Chronic "Short Termism" when making business decisions Lack of employee benefits

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company - new exec team

      Jun 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with, real sense of community. flexibility on work life balance lots of opportunity for relocation to other offices around the world

      Cons

      New exec are removing flexibility and some perks small company so limited career advancement at the top end

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      On a maturity path

      Mar 30, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Milton, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great location, great people, great business model ready to launch into something big

      Cons

      Lack of consistent processes/systems especially in HR

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Achilles Information Response

      Global HR Assistant

      Thank you for providing your review - its great to know you like both people and the location, we certainly have a great and committed team who are passionate about the company and its product offering. We fully appreciate and take on board the comments about processes - I am sure you will be pleased to hear that a huge part of the change currently taking place is to do with reviewing and streamlining the way we do things to make them more efficient and consistent. No doubt this can be a bit unsettling, but the end goal will make the working for the company easier for all Employees.

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      -

      May 2, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Hong Kong
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will meet some great people. Just don't get attached to them. And if you are a business student, this place is a treasure trove of lessons on what not to do.

      Cons

      If you are honest, hardworking, and/or talented, stay FAR AWAY from this company. The service Achilles provides revolves around their proprietary software, and it is a bug-riddled embarrassment to the internet. The members of management tend to be inept, corrupt, or bullies. The one good thing this company has going for it is the exceptional workers who make up for the faulty product and backwards environment, but these are the very people the company treats the worst. Most have been driven away in one manner or another. Opportunities for promotion are rare, and even if it comes up for you, this also means you will need to become further enmeshed in this company’s warped office politics. If you take the promotion but keep your honesty, you will probably lose your job. If you are good at what you do, this company will not fail to punish you for it. I was there four years and saw it every time. This company does not DESERVE to have anyone that is good. If you are mediocre and good at taking abuse while keeping your head down, you can last for a long time at Achilles. I will leave that up to you to decide if that is how you would like to live. If you are some twisted bureaucrat, you will probably find your heaven here, but I predict that even this heaven will be short lived. While this company spends its days driving away its linchpin employees and reacting to the latest debilitating glitch in their software, their competition Avetta gets stronger and stronger. You would be better off finding a job in the government

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Stay Away

      Jan 23, 2017 - Customer Onboarding Agent in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will meet some great people. Just don't get attached to them. And if you are a business student, this place is a treasure trove of lessons on what not to do.

      Cons

      If you are honest, hardworking, and/or talented, stay FAR AWAY from this company. The service Achilles provides revolves around their proprietary software, and it is a bug-riddled embarrassment to the internet. The members of management tend to be inept, corrupt, or bullies. The one good thing this company has going for it is the exceptional workers who make up for the faulty product and backwards environment, but these are the very people the company treats the worst. Most have been driven away in one manner or another. Opportunities for promotion are rare, and even if it comes up for you, this also means you will need to become further enmeshed in this company’s warped office politics. If you take the promotion but keep your honesty, you will probably lose your job. If you are good at what you do, this company will not fail to punish you for it. I was there four years and saw it every time. This company does not DESERVE to have anyone that is good. If you are mediocre and good at taking abuse while keeping your head down, you can last for a long time at Achilles. I will leave that up to you to decide if that is how you would like to live. If you are some twisted bureaucrat, you will probably find your heaven here, but I predict that even this heaven will be short lived. While this company spends its days driving away its linchpin employees and reacting to the latest debilitating glitch in their software, their competition Avetta gets stronger and stronger. You would be better off finding a job in the government.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Achilles Information Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Achilles Information? Share Your Experiences

    or