Admiral Group Claims Handler Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Admiral Group Claims Handler Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Admiral Group CEO David Stevens
David Stevens
4 Ratings
  1. "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Motor Claims Handler in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends

    I have been working at Admiral Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are very friendly - we have a reputation for being a great place to work, and people are keen to keep this. One of our mottos is "People who enjoy what they do do it better" - a lot of effort is made to make sure work is fun and people enjoy coming to work. Lots of perks.

    Cons

    Sometimes part-time evening staff miss out on perks. You need to wait until shares are 3 years old before you can cash them. The basic wage (not taking shares into account) isn't amazing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Admiral Group2019-09-19
  2. "Best career move I've ever made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Motor Claims Handler in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's like one big family at Admiral, I really do love my job. The role can be challenging at times but they really do make it worth working there. Team and department days out, a great social life and huge benefits from working here. I would recommend it to anybody and everybody, it'll be a move you won't regret at all. They're brilliant with being understanding with childcare and flexible working hours, and... everybody is so appreciable right up to the big bosses!

    Show More

    Cons

    A few angry customers here and there but nothing at all off putting.

    Admiral Group2019-07-11
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Favoritism rules the office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Claims Handler 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Admiral Group for less than a year

    Pros

    good benefits to the job and a good wage.

    Cons

    if you aren't close with management you are just another number. you take calls and get given piles and piles of work and they expect you to get through it all. i have seen numerous people burst into tears on the floor and people quick because of pressure and stress. i strongly advise you do not work here. you also cannot maintain a healthy lift style or any kind of social life when working here. the rota you work... changes all the time and you cannot balance your life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    change completely.

    Admiral Group2018-12-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "FNOL Claims Handler Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - FNOL Claims Handler in Swansea, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people work with you, make good friendships

    Cons

    very stressful with the volume of calls, and also a lot to be learned after training (on the job)

    Admiral Group2018-09-25
  5. "Good place for young people if you don't mind call centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Service Handler in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Admiral Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits to keep up team morale e.g. pizza, team days out, target prizes Casual dress code Great Social Aspect One week paid training in office and then in newbie team with lots of support before going on floor.

    Cons

    Flexitime was always declined. I didn't feel comfortable answering inbound calls as most of the time I would have to pass the call on as I wasn't yet trained in total loss etc however they got you doing inbound right from the start

    Admiral Group2018-09-03
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Ok company to work for but money isn't great or training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - FNOL Claims Handler in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Admiral Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    friendly culture ok management , but still a few bad eggs but they let you get on with it

    Cons

    Invest more in training and pay your staff more

    Admiral Group2017-10-20
  7. "Brilliant company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Claims Service Handler in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group for more than a year

    Pros

    - Firstly what a great company to work for, the whole ethos of the company is fantastic and everyone in the company will bend over backwards to help one another. -It is nice to be a part of a company that is performing well -The share scheme is a major incentive and really does make you feel apart of the company, if the company performs well I get a better dividend

    Cons

    The company is constantly changing and for some people this is a bad thing

    Advice to Management

    Keep the great ethos up

    Admiral Group2017-10-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Areas for improvement but going in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Handler in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Admiral Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Very good, comprehensive training - Brilliant share scheme - Free fruit! - Opportunities for progression are there if you need them - Clearly have a vision for what's coming and are trying to develop as much as possible - Supportive management - I know this is a divisive opinion as it depends where you are, however I have had nothing but support from my manager and I can only praise them for the way they... handled conflicts and settled disputes - If you get stuck on a call, you can claim flexi time back - Receptiveness of feedback - when staff was unhappy with certain shift patterns, higher management took it on board and changed it. Kudos for that

    Show More

    Cons

    - Admiral culture can sometimes go too far. It was often the case that when I was on the phone, it was too noisy around me and customers would complain. Not fun - Systems crashing all the time - Frontline staff can sometimes be penalised for small mistakes, without being given a chance to defend themselves - Similarly, frontline staff get a lot of abuse from customers and there could be more support given in this... area

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work on your systems' speed because it will make everyone's life much easier Find the right balance between having a relaxed culture and a culture where people don't do the work they're paid to do. Create an understanding support network for staff (especially frontline staff) that they can turn to if they need it

    Admiral Group2017-09-12
  9. Helpful (2)

    "a good place to rest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BI Claims Handler in Rome
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Admiral Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    atmosphere is okay average age is low site is ok and there are a lot of fun activities insurance business is interesting

    Cons

    very false, everyone "has" to be happy complaints are not accepted low pay middle management is awful things are not improving at all

    Advice to Management

    look at yourself and try to change things. Get help from outside if it is necessary. if you really believe in certain values then some of the management is obviously not right

    Admiral Group2016-07-26
Found 9 reviews