Admiral Group "shares" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Admiral Group Employee Reviews about "shares"

Updated 17 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Admiral Group Group CEO David Stevens
David Stevens
108 Ratings
Pros
  • "Share scheme - Incentives - Culture(in 25 reviews)

  • "Free fruit was good and canteen was actually pretty decent(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "You need to wait until shares are 3 years old before you can cash them(in 21 reviews)

  • "Company are flexible with part time working/childcare are brilliant share scheme(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "shares"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing company with some great benefits and special culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity if you're willing to work hard. Amazing culture, caring, friendly and innovative.

    Cons

    Starting salary can be low, but is quickly increased with shares and dividends

    Admiral Group2020-01-17

    Admiral Group Response

    March 27, 2020Recruitment

    Hi, Thanks for the review, if you want any support in the future feel free to get in touch with our People Services team. Thanks, Amy

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Recruitment Consultant in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with real people who treat you as they do their customers.. amazingly

    Cons

    The initial pay seems low but when you include shares and other incentives it's actually higher than some competitors

    Admiral Group2019-10-18

    Admiral Group Response

    November 12, 2019Digital Recruitment Officer

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear that you enjoy working here! All the best, Linzi

    Continue reading
  3. "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Motor Claims Handler in Newport, Newport, Wales
    Recommends

    I have been working at Admiral Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are very friendly - we have a reputation for being a great place to work, and people are keen to keep this. One of our mottos is "People who enjoy what they do do it better" - a lot of effort is made to make sure work is fun and people enjoy coming to work. Lots of perks.

    Cons

    Sometimes part-time evening staff miss out on perks. You need to wait until shares are 3 years old before you can cash them. The basic wage (not taking shares into account) isn't amazing.

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2019-09-19

    Admiral Group Response

    September 23, 2019Digital Recruitment Officer

    Hi, thanks for sharing your views on working here. It's great to hear that you enjoy it. Linzi

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "What a cesspit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Renewal Consultant in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Admiral Group full-time

    Pros

    You get a reality check when you work there

    Cons

    Where do I even begin. Within days I considered leaving this place along side a few other colleagues I was training with. Free fruit, most of the drones here consider this a “pro” when in reality that being a pro is absolutely mediocre. Everyone seems to think this is something remarkable, hilarious to watch when you see the slaves swarming around the fruit stand as you walk in watching them all taking quadruple the portions they require before you get the chance to even get close to it. How is Admiral? Interested in drink and drugs culture? Crack on. Anyone with a brain cell that left this cesspit let me guess your probation is going down hill fast? all because you didn't finish that Jager bomb and attend the 90 socials down brewhouse last month despite spending your entire week grafting for a pathetic wage with the Neanderthals. Why would I want to spend my spare time with you as well, get a grip. If spending your entire month grafting for a absolutely pathetic wage in between being held at gunpoint to take part in “Ministry of fun” which basically forced fun, taking part in the the most cringiest tasks you could possibly imagine to then so be it, this is the job for you. Full of brown nosers, managers who spend their entire shift avoiding doing their job completely MIA from their desks. Dreadful systems where you have to do 10 times the work you’re being paid for on rubbish hours. Can’t even plan your life as this changes constantly. “Oooo we’ve got an underground car park we’re so good” yeah there’s like a 30 year waiting list for that, enjoy. They bang on about the shares OH THE SHARES YAY CANT WAIT FOR THAT. What? Wait 3 years to receive the pathetic shares so you can catch up on pay that better other companies are giving their employees in there good salaries. Comical. Claiming you’re a top 100 company to work at any given opportunity is just merely a complete facade. The CEO who people worship and brownose about him at any given opportunity (they’ve never even met him) even admitted the fact the only reason there’s an office in Cardiff is due to the fact it was cheaper labour, says it all. Keep on thinking you’re something you’re not, plenty of people that have moved onto better things from this tip and the reviews prove it. Avoid like the plague, your life’s worth more than becoming a drone to appease these dregs.

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2019-07-31

    Admiral Group Response

    August 2, 2019Digital Recruitment Officer

    Hi, thank you for your feedback. Some of your feedback is concerning and we're very sorry to hear that you feel this way about Admiral. If you'd like to speak to a HR representative in more detail about the issues raised, please feel free to get in touch with me - linzi.mullane3@admiralgroup.co.uk, thanks Linzi

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Admiral Group"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility Some colleagues/team workers Free fruit Big employer so you expect job security

    Cons

    Favouritism amongst management; if you’re friends you’ll progress (rather than work ethic). Management continue to talk about shares being an incentive but we would prefer to be paid a competitive salary than have to wait 3 years to catch up with other employers salary scales in the market.

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2018-08-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I worked for Admiral 5 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Handler in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Admiral Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training provided was reay good. Company Shares scheme, buy a book scheme, development opportunities, full funding for CILEX course. The company is motivating.

    Cons

    Team management was awful, head of department was awful as well as it does not deal with employee issues appropriately. Management shares all your personal and professional information with everyone. Listening to calls made by management and colleges which can put pressure on you.

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2018-01-27
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Fun to work for but don't pay enough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time

    Pros

    they won't throw you in at the deep end on the graduate scheme. It's more of an ease you in and build you up approach. Socially it is amazing. You will form friends with fellow graduates and people in your department. They push for a flat hierarchy which makes it comfortable to ask anyone for help - including senior managers. If you push for responsibility and you show you are capable they will give it to you. The grad scheme offers the chance to do 3 rotations anywhere in the business so you can build a strong portfolio before applying for full time positions.

    Cons

    They pay low compared to others in the market. Equally when they say 'you will get £3,600 worth of shares a year' this is true however you cannot sell these for 3 years and if you want to sell them tax free you have to wait 5 years.

    Admiral Group2017-12-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Perks that mask the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - New Business Sales Executive in Cardiff, Wales
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Admiral Group full-time

    Pros

    Free fruit, good chill out areas, table tennis, kitchen

    Cons

    Gym membership is on appointment on day only, late nights sometimes, dont touch company shares for about 5 years

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2017-12-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed feelings on working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Admiral Group

    Pros

    Great people mostly Fun days out Great career if you are someone who has left school early without any qualifications. Once you finally get your shares (3-4 years later) you are on a decent wage finally

    Cons

    Management have their favourites who they promote to a more senior level which means that most of the time the best candidates for the position are overlooked. Broken promises. They go on and on about shares from the start making it out that they are yours instantly, however, you do not start receiving the share money until 3 or 4 years after employment, so to illustrate this point: even though you get letters making you believe the shares are yours from the very start, if you leave the company within 3-4 years you won't get any share money at all, the shares go straight back to the company. It's a sneaky tactic to get you to stay and once you finally get your shares it's then difficult to leave. Some tasks and checks are completely pointless, irrelevant and a total waste of time. All this said, many large organisations are the same really so difficult to say whether they are any worse than other companies, some staff really do love their job here and you do meet really good friends and lots of them.

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2017-10-11
  10. "Summer undergraduate internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Internship in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Admiral Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The culture -Many advantages (free gym, free accommodation, free fruits, free books, shares- for full time employees...) - Flexible time table -availability to evolve in your career and change departments very easily (or change business- country...) - The business is very focus towards innovation and the managerial hierarchy is quite horizontal which means anyone has its word to say and every idea , advice towards the improvement of the business is welcome very much. - As an intern I would say that admiral is following the trend of major tech companies, which is offering very interesting intern positions- in the aim to attract young talents into their business. -Everyone is working hard towards working the business, people are always there to help you and everybody is always positive. (During my internship I have never heard anyone talking on someones back.) - The recruitement in Admiral is very well done and the team members are usually very talented.

    Cons

    No specific cons for an undergraduate intern. The main cons that I have sensed, talking to other employees, are the quite low salaries. However we can also justify that the cost of living in Cardiff is relatively low and that the shares compensate for the low income.

    Continue reading
    Admiral Group2017-08-02

    Admiral Group Response

    August 3, 2017Digital Recruitment Executive

    Hello Current Employee, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. It’ great to hear you are enjoying your role and our way of working. We will see what we can do about the weather though! :) If there is anything we can do for you to support you in a future career with Admiral, feel free to get in touch with People Services, or if you would prefer, you can reach us at workwithus@admiralgroup.co.uk. Thanks, Amy

    Continue reading
Found 21 reviews