Advanced Employee Reviews about "no training"

Updated May 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 854 reviews

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Advanced CEO Gordon Wilson
Gordon Wilson
479 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fantastic team and work life balance(in 62 reviews)

  • "Great people (Advanced Family ethos)(in 35 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management are out of touch from their staff(in 29 reviews)

  • "Very little to no training given and expect you to know everything down to a T even though their own manager has no idea what they are doing(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Technical Account Manager

    Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

    379

    57 Comments

    Tech

    204.3K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Advanced~12631
    Join the conversation on

    Reviews about "no training"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Former Employee

      I was diagnosed with Anxiety after working for them.

      May 23, 2021 - Associate Service Desk Analyst in Slough, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Would be a place to learn some IT trouble shooting knowledge. But there are much better places out there with proper training. One hour unpaid break. You will become a pro in admin work as they will throw so much admin work at you. They do not believe wasting time on training and believe in learning the system as you go. They offer really strong Coffee as you need it to get through the day.

      Cons

      Really unhelpful Supervisors. No training given. So much admin work was allocated where I had to work 3 to 5 hours after my shift to complete them. The best part is after resigning the HR department is asking me to pay the company £150 for leaving them. Every Analyst that left after me said the best thing they did was to leave One Advanced.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Poor

      Apr 14, 2021 - Anonymous Former Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very few pros, the office layout is nice I guess?

      Cons

      Very little to no training given and expect you to know everything down to a T even though their own manager has no idea what they are doing. Poor culture. Little to no diversity Not team orientated, only money orientated so targets are hardly met due to that

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Advanced Response

      Employer Brand Executive

      Thank you for sharing. I am sorry to hear that you feel so strongly about some of the comments you have made, this certainly is not how we would want anybody feeling about working for Advanced. If you would be happy to discuss this further and share a little more detail, please contact me directly at Jordan.cooper@oneadvanced.com. I look forward to hearing from you.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      A good starting point

      Aug 6, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Lavish corporate events. There is normally a two-day sales conference with a gala dinner on the first night, hosted somewhere nice like the ICC. - People here have a great sense of humour and are fun to work with - To some extent, because its a corporate environment and no-one really knows what it's like to do another person's job, you get to say if you have too much on or not enough to do, so you can define your workload to some extent - Can pretty much leave work problems at the door

      Cons

      - Depending on your role, it can be very much a case of sink or swim. You are often thrown in at the deepend with very little to no training, and you either make the best of the situation by using your initiative or you are left to flounder - Pay is fairly low for the amount and complexity of work you are expected to do - It's riskier being in a small team that doesn't carry a sales quota, as there will be no rush to replace the colleague that left - If you want to get anywhere and excel, working from 9 - 5.30 just won't cut it. You will have to work long past your expected hours, and paid overtime is rarely given. - There is no gender parity. I will routinely be on meetings and calls of over ten people, and be the only woman. - HR seem to want to block progression rather than encourage it

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Advanced Response

      Employer Brand Executive

      We really value the comments you have made here, especially for highlighting those points around the atmosphere and our wonderful events put on by the team. Regarding some of your other comments - I would be really keen to discuss further in more detail. We are passionate about our commitment to internal mobility, with over half of all our experienced roles being filled by existing staff and progression is very much encouraged. Please email me at jordan.cooper@oneadvanced.com if you are happy to continue the conversation. Thanks again for the review, and all the best!

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Ok Company let down by terrible upper manahement

      Sep 4, 2019 - Deskside Engineer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good amount of experience amongst the teams Friendly engineers and entry level staff One or two good team leaders left.

      Cons

      Terrible upper management structure. Poor pay for the job titles. Advanced say that your at or above "market value" for the job when all they do is compare salaries with other companies who pay poorly. Managers are too busy fighting amongst themselves to care about their staff No training for client sites, I was put into a site within a week of joining advanced with no training, they promised alot of opportunities and learning experiences working with other departments but their staff turn around is so high they can't backfill you on site. No care for legal working hours even when mentioned to HR. HR don't follow up on complaints basically non existent. Company loses more clients than it gains and forces their clients to renew contracts due to advanced selling them old and bespoke softwares and services.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Advanced Response

      Group HR Director

      Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I would like to have the opportunity to discuss your feedback in greater depth. I encourage you to please email me directly so we can discuss further; alex.arundale@oneadvanced.com

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor company ethos

      Jul 20, 2019 - Support Consultant in Ashford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team, good/work life balance

      Cons

      Developers are useless, can't follow the simplest instructions and have support hold their hand because they cannot replicate issues themselves. No training whatsoever. Little chance for progression past Support Consultant roles Teams are falling in numbers because: HR/recruitment take ages to approve anything because they are too busy going to Vegas or some other place to do non work related stuff Team morale drops because other companies treat their employees right and pay them a decent wage for the same job, which also means that product knowledge can go with them as the company never gives these people time to do training in the teams to pass on said knowledge Managers are either too scared to resolve annimosity in the team, seem to not bother with team meeting , or do not have the slightest idea of other team products when they go on call. Management should have cross training if they are to support other products out of hours. Managers should be able to sort disputes/annimosity in teams instead of appearing to be worried about upsetting one person instead of the whole team. Managers should not be draining team morale due to not giving team meetings when requested by the majority of their team

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      Advanced Response

      Group HR Director

      Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I would like to have the opportunity to discuss your feedback in greater depth. I encourage you to please email me directly so we can discuss further; alex.arundale@oneadvanced.com

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Terrible Company surviving by the last few good managers.

      Apr 29, 2019 - Deskside Engineer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Oppitunities to grow wthin the company.

      Cons

      Overtime and Expense Procedures are made as hard as possible for staff to get approved. No contact from Upper levels of mangemnet for Months on end sometimes No "one" procedure for anything.(Every manager/department claims/performs the same tasks in different ways) Tight Salaries. Losing its biggest clients with no signs of signing any new ones. No training provided to staff for new OS updates/Sever versions.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Advanced Response

      Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I would like to have the opportunity to discuss your feedback in greater depth. I encourage you to please email me directly so we can discuss further; alex.arundale@oneadvanced.com

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Horrible Company

      Oct 29, 2018 - Technical Account Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good staff members. Several customers.

      Cons

      Horrible management. Too many inexperienced managers. Too many layers of management. No training or development plan.

      Continue reading
      17 people found this review helpful

      Advanced Response

      Head of Talent

      Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your experience with us, although I am disappointed to read that you don't seem to have had a positive experience. We don't recognise your comments, particularly around our management community, as we invest significantly in developing our managers to deliver a fantastic experience for employees and customers. If you would be willing to share more feedback around your comments so that I can understand them in more detail, please contact me directly, or drop a mail to yoursay@oneadvanced.com

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good way to get a foot in the door, but hang around too long. (H&C Unit)

      Aug 31, 2018 - Senior Consultant in Ashford, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Advanced will take pretty much any skill level. High technical skill ceiling, allowing for any skill to be developed to a good ability. Ability to move through the company into a better career elsewhere.

      Cons

      Due to the very wide scope, often staff will be ill-equipped for the job. Very little to no training. Training is expected to be done by those who have self taught only. Improvement is focused on self-improvement only, and comes off as an indoctrination into a cult via the HPEL programme. Ability to spin a negative as a positive, even if that is overtly obvious to much of the company. HR seemingly has little care for the individual employee - often causing disasters with any sort of job change. Outsourcing key departments to "cheap" countries, making it difficult to communicate between departments and causing quality issues with products. 3 Years experience is considered most technical on a team. (Partially due to experienced folks being offered close to one and a half of their wage)

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful

      Advanced Response

      Head of Talent

      Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your time with Advanced. We are working hard to build a culture of opportunity, by focussing on potential and accelerating careers where we can. I'm sad to read about your experience and would welcome a further discussion around some of your concerns. We are really proud of our HPEL programme - which has successfully onboarded and developed the career of over 600 individuals, but we also recognise the need for evolution, which is why we are re-launching our entry-level programmes in early 2019. If you would be willing to share more feedback, please do contact me directly or drop an email to yoursay@oneadvanced.com.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Awful. The worst place you'll ever work

      Feb 16, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Birmingham, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home. That's it.

      Cons

      No training, no prospects. No payrise. All project managers are uninformed about their jobs. The mailbox is a cold boring and ugly office. Everyone there is miserable. Despite bringing in hundreds of thousands of pounds in professional services money I never had an individual payrise, so my colleagues who were on more money effectively got more of a rise when we all got a pathetic 1 or 2 percent rise. I had to make a business case in order to obtain a 32gb pen drive. The company is run by accountants. Exchequer. What a disgrace of a product. It doesn't work. At all. Ever. Lots of people made careers out if this which is crazy. As has been mentioned many times the company are making most of the workforce redundant and replacing them with graduates or offshoring them. Though because you get institutionalised by advanced, when they do kick you out the door or you jump the sinking ship, you'll love your next place of work. Every yesr i was at advanced i worried for my job security despite bringing money in. The new job I left to go to is infinitely better in every way. ( I got a 128gb pen drive on my first day )

      Continue reading
      44 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A great example of how not to do it...

      Nov 9, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People - not that there are many of the good ones left

      Cons

      The management - middle and senior Inability to do your job Offshoring of development to India No training No career development Promotion = more work, same pay and if you're lucky title change Poor pay Little to no recognition (unless you agree with senior management) Closure of the not so fancy smaller offices Profit driven, people and customers dont matter - money does Constantly asked and expected to do things that are not part of your role Blame culture Poor Communication Management do not listen when concerns / risks raised and act dumb when the inevitable happens.

      Continue reading
      24 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Advanced Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Advanced? Share Your Experiences

    or