Aegon Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Aegon Reviews

Updated 13 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 209 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Aegon CEO Alexander R. Wynaendts
Alexander R. Wynaendts
64 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aegon part-time

    Pros

    I liked the majority of my colleagues, I was made to feel comfortable.

    Cons

    Some elements of micro management.

    Advice to Management

    You do not always know better.

    Aegon2019-05-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "What is was like to work at Aegon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Platform Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    What made my job enjoyable were the people I worked with.

    Cons

    It was very disorganised in terms of managing employees and there were a lot of times where myself and my colleagues were left in the dark about certain new aspects of the business.

    Advice to Management

    I understand that the business world is subject to constant change but make sure to keep employees in the loop. They will be much happier.

    Aegon2019-05-06
  3. "Nothing works"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aegon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They’re not firing everyone, just people in England, so for the time being we’re safe.

    Cons

    HR - useless, when you get a response from them it’s usually ‘speak to your manager’ - I won’t, that’s what ye’re there for. Resourcing - the company they use called Sanderson are useless, either don’t get paid or incorrect pay when it comes through. Management only interested in profit, not customer focussed at all.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your customers better, otherwise ye’ll lose them all.

    Aegon2019-05-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities and experience. Good people to work with.

    Cons

    Too much work and pay could be better

    Aegon2019-04-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Back Office Administrative in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    parking is good that is all

    Cons

    everything is bad at aegon

    Advice to Management

    get to know your staff

    Aegon2019-05-16
  6. "“Front office administrator”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Administrative in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people however a lot don’t stay around for long. Overtime available regularly

    Cons

    Poor pay, they recently upped it for new comers, higher than everyone else that was on floor already which is a bit of a kick in the face. If you’re a contractor stay away - I seen about 6 contractors in one week be taken away into a room and told to leave. Shift pattern can change very last minute. If you have a medical appointment to attend you have to ether do it out with work time, work back the hours or take annual...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn the products, be around more for your team. In fact know your team!

    Aegon2019-04-11
  7. "Pension"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Aegon full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Innovative, industry leading pension and savings platform

    Cons

    Failure to deliver to timescale

    Aegon2019-04-10
  8. "Head of IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of IT in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive inclusive forward thinking ambitious environment

    Cons

    None really. It’s what you make of it

    Advice to Management

    Carry on and deliver the MTP

    Aegon2019-03-05
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Claims assessor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Aegon full-time

    Pros

    Good pension, supportive management

    Cons

    Old historic systems for legacy business

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in systems and people

    Aegon2019-02-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time

    Pros

    They were fairly agile and had good employee benefits.

    Cons

    They didn't realistically plan a large systems integration and caused massive customer service issues.

    Aegon2019-01-29
Found 209 reviews