Aetna Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Jan 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 570 of over 3,577 reviews

3.6
63%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Aetna Chairman, President, and CEO Mark T. Bertolini
Mark T. Bertolini
1,678 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work from home on unwell days or appointment days w/ manager approval(in 548 reviews)

  • "Strong leadership with great work life balance(in 224 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Need to be careful of work/life balance(in 109 reviews)

  • "Repetitive day to day, health insurance wasn’t the best(in 91 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "work from home"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good Benefits and pay

      Dec 27, 2020 - Social Worker/Case Manager in Irving, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is equal to most insurance companies. PTO is excellent adding up to essentially a paid month off (19+ days), and insurance is very available and cheap with a great HSA, In general the managers are great. There was only one area where they were totally unsupportive, but it was a big one for me unfortunately.

      Cons

      Health plan has a very high deductible and essentially nothing other than preventative actually covered unless you have catastrophic casualty that exceeds deductible. Everything else is paid out of your HSA, but Aetna does give you $1000 in the HSA per year. Company has rapid changes, like all insurance companies, and I had to learn and work in two EMRs at the same time. Biggest negative, that will probably cause me to leave, was that my particular position required I move at my expense and stay in a desert city (El Paso) even after we went to mostly online and my spouse started having serious mental health damage from separation from her support system. Management was great about everything else, but totally rejected any request to move and keep my job even though I work from home.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Be wary of your needs

      Nov 3, 2020 - Technical Writer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The ability to work from home was helpful, and they are large enough to have a very strong support staff for when you need it. Matching 401k to 6% was good, and my coworkers were excellent on average. I also liked the variety of health plans, though they were not exactly cheap. Additionally, the office in chicago was lovely and had a nice view, as well as a nice overall facility to work.

      Cons

      Terrible benefits, low pay, limited raises despite year after year of explosive positive growth, expect to be asked for a lot of overtime, potentially unpaid, and be aware that there's not a lot of room for growth or development unless you're a project manager. Otherwise, you'll just stay in place and never get a meaningful raise or promotion, unless you're one of a very limited, lucky few. I cannot promise this is true for non-writers: I can only speak as a technical writer out of the HDMS office.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good benefits

      Jan 19, 2021 - Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits and ability to work at home. Flexible hours and accommodating to work life balance

      Cons

      Forward career movement can be a challenge

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Job review

      Jan 22, 2021 - Senior Product Consultant in Moon Township, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours and work at home

      Cons

      Pay could be better for the stress to meet deadlines

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Work from home for Aetna

      Dec 30, 2020 - Senior Underwriting Associate in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good and fair benefits as well as a great work at home job

      Cons

      Micro management was a issue when folks where sent to work from home.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good Company to work for

      Dec 8, 2020 - Senior Applications Delivery Advisor in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home Amount of vacation days Internal Job opportunities

      Cons

      Limited advancement unless you are willing to constantly switch positions

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Sales Support

      Jan 13, 2021 - Sales Support in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I like the company culture.

      Cons

      limited work from home opportunities

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Aetna Review

      Jan 8, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working from home, great 401k and retirement selection

      Cons

      insurance barely covers anything for doctors or dentist visits

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Cool

      Jan 4, 2021 - Case Manager in Louisville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, pay, ability to work from home

      Cons

      Lots of paperwork and little communication

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Experience Depends on Department

      Nov 13, 2020 - Senior Actuarial Consultant in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ability to Work From Home

      Cons

      Company Culture, Work Life Balance, Benefits (PTO, Health, Retirement) Actuarial Exam Support and General Promotion Process

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 570 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Aetna Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Aetna? Share Your Experiences

    Aetna logo
    or