Air Force Reserve Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Air Force Reserve Reviews

Updated 30 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
96%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Air Force Reserve President  Donald Trump
Donald Trump
39 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, you just have to know where to look for them(in 36 reviews)

  • "Get to serve while being a civilian(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "sub-par training, not as many opportunities as active duty(in 21 reviews)

  • "Deployments are hard on family life, but worth it(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Financial Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Controller in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Air Force Reserve full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent Company to work for at anytime

    Cons

    No cons what so ever

    Continue reading
    Air Force Reserve2017-10-05
  2. "Community Activity Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CAC Director in Croughton, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely people to work with

    Cons

    Not enough hours in the day to do my job to the best of my ability

    Continue reading
    Air Force Reserve2019-02-07
  3. "Administration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personnel Assistant in March Air Reserve Base, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very relaxed environment. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Slow career progression. Not much hands-on training.

    Continue reading
    Air Force Reserve2020-03-31
  4. "AF Reserves was a great career choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Air Force Pilot 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    To be a part of something larger than just my career is rewarding. I became a navigator in my late twenties and after doing that for a few years I got my pilot wings. Each step is a personal achievement to be proud of but also to be relied upon to complete a mission for your unit is rewarding. And it's not just aircrew, every piece of the puzzle matters. Great benefits, you just have to know where to look for them. I transferred my education benefits to my child and she will have zero college tuition to worry about and most living expenses paid for as well.

    Cons

    It's not a fast process to get picked up for a flying position, you must be patient. (Possibly years) Nothing on a .mil computer is fast, somedays it is painful beyond words just to open email. Balancing career development with a civilian job is tough and not all employers understand the amount of time you will need to be away especially aircrew, we don't just fly one weekend a month and two weeks a year.

    Air Force Reserve2020-03-20
  5. "Great Part-time Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Superintendent in Lackland AFB, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Serve your country; receive great training, education, medical, travel, pay, and retirement benefits.

    Cons

    No job is perfect, but this one comes close. You get out, what you put in!

    Continue reading
    Air Force Reserve2020-03-04
  6. "AF Reserve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    An exceptional way to serve your country! Opportunity to earn benefits for education

    Cons

    Requires you to be proactive with work life balance.... If you have a hard time balancing this you might find it difficult.

    Air Force Reserve2020-02-24
  7. "great start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Enlisted Military 

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time

    Pros

    great if you want to continue college and still serve

    Cons

    you may have deploy mid way through class so plan accordingly

    Air Force Reserve2020-02-23
  8. "Proud to serve with the finest professionals - integrity-service-excellence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve

    Pros

    I worked with a dedicated team of professionals defending freedom, learning to be a leader, and ultimately finding a sense of purpose higher than myself.

    Cons

    Changes happen slowly; technological advances lag behind the private sector.

    Continue reading
    Air Force Reserve2019-12-27
  9. "Great Experience barring Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aircraft Maintenance Technician in Seymour Johnson AFB, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Air Force Reserve full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great resume builder, Great benefits, opportunity for more money

    Cons

    Politics, Constant Demand, Orders system

    Air Force Reserve2019-12-12
  10. "Job opportunities and advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Security Forces 

    I have been working at Air Force Reserve part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    There is great room for advancement and career progression. Opportunity for retraining and cross training within career fields. Benefits are great as well.

    Cons

    Insurance has to be kept on top of when in orders

    Air Force Reserve2019-11-24
Found 324 reviews