Airbnb "free food" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Airbnb Employee Reviews about "free food"

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Airbnb CEO & Co-Founder Brian Chesky
Brian Chesky
676 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great mission, free food, quickly growing(in 49 reviews)

  • "great benefits and great working culture(in 45 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too many people being hired, which means that work life balance is great (i(in 65 reviews)

  • "Some growing pains around organizational grown(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free food"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great, BUT..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Operations in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, you'll be likely to make friends here. Culture, free food, relaxed atmosphere and quirky offices.

    Cons

    No career development, no learning, strong vegan/liberal/alternative views

    Airbnb2019-12-30
  2. "Good company as far as corporate world goes, but going through tremendous growing pains into a mature company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Airbnb

    Pros

    Great mission, free food, quickly growing.

    Cons

    Unbelievably and chaotic environment internally, from the very top.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2020-02-21
  3. "Awful leadership, but team itself was amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Design Reviewer On Plus in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb for more than a year

    Pros

    Free food (Breakfast, lunch and dinner) Work remote as needed Beautiful office with amazing work spaces Fairly diverse (Though could be better...) Fun off-sites, office activities (first thursday experiences), fun office environment (Contractors were allowed on off-sites on our team, though it may vary within Airbnb)

    Cons

    Leadership was awful and didn't care about our team. Contractors are treated as less than by full-timers Awful fraternity bro culture on parts of the larger team that made a lot of people uncomfortable. No room for growth. I saw someone work extremely hard and be strung along to get converted to a full timer and then get screwed over. "Belonging" a huge theme but the few people that did represent the core values of Airbnb were very underappreciated. Low pay

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2019-10-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great starting position... Not great advancement opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Organizer in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perfect for those who like to travel and have a flexible schedule. Free food, great benefits, wonderful work culture. Plenty of chances to work cross functionally outside of the Public Policy department

    Cons

    Upward mobility is nearly impossible for this role. In 4 years, only 3 people have been promoted from this position into a more senior position.

    Airbnb2019-08-03
  5. "Free food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Cook in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food and good hours

    Cons

    The bathrooms are very small

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2019-08-10
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Not that great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pilot Perfect Scale in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food, travel vouchers on airbnb (500 usd every 3 months), some nice people

    Cons

    Lack of authenticity, global fakeness from the management downwards, my manager told me that i looked like i got a chemical peel because i have a skin condition. They talk about mobility and promotions but its almost impossible to do so. I was told my manager would not support my application to another role since other more tenured agents would be applying and it wouldnt be fair to them if I got it having only been in the company for 7 months.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2019-06-20
  7. "Do not Get the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Sales in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Airbnb

    Pros

    Free food and you can bring the dog to the job

    Cons

    Treated like a second class person. Don't have access to internal information, courses. If you are sick, you don't get paid and you guy with a blue badge in order to differentiate yourself among others.

    Airbnb2019-06-25
  8. Helpful (3)

    "After 3 years... Happy I left!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Amazing learning experience - Good benefits - Free food

    Cons

    - NO work/life balance - Middle Management is the WORST! - No check & Balance system to hold management accountable -Incredible lack of growth opportunity!! Some amazing talents have been there for 4 or 5 years with no growth opportunity. - Professional growth does not depend on your hard work, but on how much your manager likes you. - Focused right now solely on IPO. Everything else, including employees are completely deprioritized - TONS of empty promises!!! Airbnb very rarely lives up, or even comes close to keeping the promises it makes to it's employees. - Toxic environment due to bad management and lack of growth opportunities.

    Airbnb2019-03-14
  9. "Not good as a contractor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb

    Pros

    Free food at the cafeteria everyday

    Cons

    It obsolete the systems are very old

    Airbnb2019-01-17
  10. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time

    Pros

    free food, healthcare paid for, commuter benefits, awesome coworkers

    Cons

    pay is low for field

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2018-12-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 49 reviews