Airbnb "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Airbnb Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 26 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Airbnb CEO & Co-Founder Brian Chesky
Brian Chesky
674 Ratings
Pros
  • "500 in Airbnb credits per quarter, free food (breakfast/lunch/dinner), and all the cool Silicon Valley perks(in 48 reviews)

  • "great benefits and great working culture(in 44 reviews)

Cons
  • "Too many people being hired, which means that work life balance is great (i(in 65 reviews)

  • "Some growing pains around organizational grown(in 35 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "New hire review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Design Lead in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb

    Pros

    It's a very creative environment. People are happy to share ideas. I feel empowered to get work done. I am free to manage my own time. I'm surrounded by talented and kind people. I feel like I can make a difference.

    Cons

    Work/life balance is not resolved and this means I am away from my family too much. Not enough structure or clear process. Feels like we're constantly creating the rules as we go, which is exhausting. Not happy with the hierarchy of my department – doesn't feel like the best or most experienced people are in control.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2015-07-10
  2. "Strong Focus on Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance and flexible working

    Cons

    Lack of racial and social diversity, particularly in leadership roles.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2018-08-29
  3. "Sales Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Support in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people. Definitely a west coast vibe. A lot of smart and hard working people from around the world. Benefits are great and some positions pay well.

    Cons

    If you are in sales watch out!! You will find yourself working all hours of the day. With zero work life balance. This is expected of you. Impossible to work less than 55 hours a week. If you have a family I would think twice about applying here. I would travel to come back 3 weeks later and see people in their 20’s age as if it was 5 years later.

    Airbnb2019-12-26
  4. Helpful (23)

    "Messy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    All of the usual tech company perks, plus a quarterly travel credit.

    Cons

    *Young, inexperienced mid and senior level management, who leadership believes are "great." These young managers are catty, entitled, don't understand people who aren't 25, and don't have a baseline understanding of what they can and cannot legally say and do. *Lacking diversity when it comes to age + race or ethnicity *Top down leadership style *Work/life balance is lacking for many areas *If research doesn't say what design and PMs want, then it doesn't count. If you are a researcher, RUN, and run FAST.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2019-10-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer() in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people and culture - Flexible working hours and good work/life balance - Relatively diverse team - Leadership is very open to feedback from employees

    Cons

    - Technical debt is rampant - Product and Design decisions generally usurp technical ones

    Airbnb2019-11-16
  6. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Growth Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb for more than a year

    Pros

    - Culture and benefits are absolutely amazing, you can really feel that the company values you as an employee - Intelligent and fun teammates - Competency at its finest, Airbnb employees are probably the smartest people I have ever worked with - Cohesive teams and great cross-collaboration opportunities

    Cons

    - Most exciting projects still sit within HQ and decision-making processes are pretty top-down - Too many people being hired, which means that work life balance is great (i.e. I see people leaving the office at 2pm). But that means that if you are prone to boredom, this may not be great for you

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2019-11-10
  7. "Good earning potential but no balance or growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Villa Specialist in Montreal, QC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This position has a lot of earning potential as commission is not capped.

    Cons

    There is no work/life balance. You will find yourself answering emails and working during your own hours to achieve the necessary success

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2019-10-25
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Airbnb for less than a year

    Pros

    High salary, good benefit, healthy work-life balance, and smart and fun people working with!

    Cons

    No meet on Tuesday.

    Airbnb2019-09-24
  9. "Trust and Safety Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities to develop and upskill, good people

    Cons

    Work life balance may suffer

    Airbnb2019-09-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Enriching work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Airbnb full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Commitment, dedication and innovation is incredible at Airbnb. Everyone works together to build a trusted community and sees any mistakes along the way as an opportunity to grow and learn. Such an enriching work environment!

    Cons

    Often decision makers are lacking and work/life balance can be challenging.

    Continue reading
    Airbnb2019-06-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 101 reviews