Akira Chicago Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Akira Chicago Owner Erikka Wang (no image)
Erikka Wang
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast cheap fashion, no dress code or regulations to limit your style, good hours for neighborhood boutiques(in 12 reviews)

  • "Fun environment, no dress code, sense of community, good discount, room for advancement, flexible scheduling, fun employee events(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "100 it felt as though I was just making minimum wage most checks(in 12 reviews)

  • "low commission and hourly rate for stylists(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Literally was my family’s"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akira Chicago full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts, family environment, great music while working

    Cons

    Long work hours, long closing hours

    Akira Chicago2020-02-21
  2. "Working at Akira"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Skokie, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akira Chicago part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The employee discount was 40%

    Cons

    The management was unprofessional and childish

    Akira Chicago2020-02-18
  3. "Okay Experience"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Out Patient Surgery Sceduler 

    I worked at Akira Chicago part-time

    Pros

    - Building clientele - Discount - Seeing modern trends everyday

    Cons

    - Micromanaging - Favoritism - Management misleading

    Akira Chicago2020-01-09
  4. "Stylist/ Keyholder"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Keyholder 

    I worked at Akira Chicago full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They encourage you to be yourself and all times.

    Cons

    Being under pressure to sell cheap clothes to entitled people

    Akira Chicago2019-12-13
  5. "Great work environment for young fashion students"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Aurora, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akira Chicago part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee Discount Diversity of Employees Work environment culture is super supportive

    Cons

    Discount only works in store

    Continue reading
    Akira Chicago2019-11-13
  6. "Good hours! awesome people!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Stock in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akira Chicago full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    weekends are off. They have Saturdays as optional. (food is available sat) IT HELPS A LOT TO MAKE UP FOR HOURS if you miss any days. . overtime is 19.50. The people are really cool to work with. overall definitely an improvement from my last job. They are very understanding with life situations. plus we get an hour lunch and 2 10 minute breaks People are very welcoming. Health plan is really good!

    Cons

    old warehouse was way too small (new warehouse more room) Location more buses than trains. Food options are limited if no car. wish for more bathrooms.

    Akira Chicago2019-07-20
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Long work hours that don't coincide with pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Stock Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Akira Chicago full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A Job 30% off discount to Akira Friendly employees and manager

    Cons

    Expected to work 10 hour shifts (8-6) with a one hour lunch Schedule is suppose to be M-F, however, the plague of being asked to work every Saturday every week is completely having no regard for family or work-life balance

    Continue reading
    Akira Chicago2019-07-15
  8. "Great interviews"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akira Chicago full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    New store and newer company so lots of room to grow and be promoted, great benefits, decent salary amazing higher ups, for training they pay for everything. I live in detroit and they are having me train in chicago and they pay for gas and have their own loft to stay in.

    Cons

    Wish I was offered more pay and although its fin there is more than 1 store manager I wish I could have snagged one of the store manager positions!

    Continue reading
    Akira Chicago2019-07-14
  9. "Work for Akira 😍"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Tasker in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akira Chicago part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff,Nice workers discount on clothes.

    Cons

    Heavy lifting of various clothes.

    Akira Chicago2019-07-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not Open Minded"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Akira Chicago full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lunchbreaks, comany parties, as management you make bonuses IF Store sales goals are ment

    Cons

    Expected to work longer hours to make store's sales goal. Low hourly and low commission, no help, learn as you go environment, work environment is FULL of drama and catty groups, aggressive selling is burdening, customer discrimination (makes you wonder if you'd be talked about in the same manner if you didnt work there)

    Continue reading
    Akira Chicago2019-06-26
Found 160 reviews