Akzo Nobel Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Akzo Nobel Worldwide Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1036 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Akzo Nobel Worldwide CEO Thierry Vanlancker
Thierry Vanlancker
86 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Project Chemist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Great company Learn loads everyone is very welcoming and it was a pleasure to work there.

    Cons

    The pay is far below the over companies in the area

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-02-20
  2. "Marketing Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Newcastle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good travel and exposure to our customers

    Cons

    Dated attitude towards marketing. Very set in their ways

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-05-01
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Aims at greatness achieves mediocrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Market leader. Dynamic and inspiring UK manager (not the corporate CEO from Amsterdam). Multi national. Lots of opportunities for those inclined to network.

    Cons

    Soulless corporation does not care for its employees and does little to no investment in its people. I basically trained myself to do my job. Red tape galore. Monolithic and not agile. Also recent focus on profit means slashed investment in perks. Goes through regular "restructuring" which basically means redundancies. Finally a real lack of leadership. Unlike the CEO departments are lead by project managers with little...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lead and inspire your people. Don't employ a single manger that cannot do this

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-02-08
  4. "What a fantastic company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Distribution Territory Manager in Chigwell, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have joined the company 7 months ago with already on progression to my next step with involvement in major charity work lots of support Great culture.

    Cons

    Office location with several schools surrounding

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support and engage with larger team

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-01-23
  5. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly people and good atmosphere.

    Cons

    Wasn't given much responsibility and had to ask everyday for tasks.

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2019-01-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Development technologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good training, quality facilities, good software, procedures.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy, barriers to innovation, pay is relatively low.

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2018-11-29
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great brands but poor senior management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Akzo Nobel Worldwide

    Pros

    People, brands and employee benefits

    Cons

    Constant restructuring chasing cost savings that have actually caused more delays and inefficiencies

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2018-11-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Place, very friendly, Poor structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Process Engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Travel, Free coffee, some opportunities, variety off work

    Cons

    Too much travel No social life when travelling Too much time spent on admin tasks Business gets fragile every 2 years and puts employees at risk. Salary should account for travel i.e. if away for more than 7 days you get 1.25 times salary and 1.5 for 14 days then double thereafter.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you look out for your employees, my boss was an absolute legend. Don't overwork yourself.

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2018-11-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Once a good, strong company, but now it’s struggling to stay independent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - R&D Team Leader in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great team spirit, stability, interesting projects

    Cons

    Silo mentality- different parts of the organisation do not talk with each other, so people end up constantly reinventing the wheel

    Advice to Management

    Break down communication barriers, quit being political, and stop trying to play the game on the competition’s terms. Have some swagger.

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2018-10-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Akzo Nobel Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Great people, good opportunities for career progression if you are prepared to relocate, flexible.

    Cons

    Very corporate, constant restructures, employees do not feel valued. Functions such as IT support and HR either outsourced or located overseas, makes getting problems solved more difficult. Employees in other countries have better holidays, pensions.

    Advice to Management

    We need stability and to feel valued, not just a number.

    Akzo Nobel Worldwide2018-09-21
Found 1036 reviews