Alaska Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Alaska Airlines Reviews

Updated 7 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Alaska Airlines President & CEO Bradley D. Tilden
Bradley D. Tilden
300 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, outdated culture, poor leadership(in 35 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is not great in many of the managerial positions(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Congessional 

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines part-time

    Pros

    Great hours and the staff always worked diligently

    Cons

    Management was horrible in every station

    Alaska Airlines2020-01-07
  2. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A great training program that takes place in Seattle.

    Cons

    I had no issues with working there.

    Alaska Airlines2020-01-07
  3. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lounge Concierge 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people Good benefits Good bonuses

    Cons

    Jobs are very competitive

    Alaska Airlines2020-01-02
  4. "The benefits are great!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fir part time employment you get really good health benefits and unlimited flight benefits. And 401k employer contributions and stock options.

    Cons

    It’s crazy hours. CRAZY hours.

    Alaska Airlines2019-12-22
  5. "Like one big family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA - Customer Service Agent in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pretty awesome company to work for so long as you are at a location with good management team. Overall great benefits and decent Union

    Cons

    The management is different at every airport so you can have a completely different experience based on where you work

    Alaska Airlines2019-12-14
  6. "Dnd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Ore, MO

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay benefits scale travel family

    Cons

    Pay benefits scale lay over service

    Advice to Management

    Apply

    Alaska Airlines2019-12-04
  7. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Flight Attendant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pretty good benefits. I love my job. I am passionate about it.

    Cons

    Pay could be more competitive. This job can be stressful and tiring.

    Alaska Airlines2019-12-17
  8. "Decent place to work if you are favored."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    • Benefits: Medical, Dental, 401k, Travel.. Alaska Airlines has great employee benefits and most are available upon hiring. • Ability to make lasting friendships with coworkers. • Free parking

    Cons

    • Lack of Communication between Supervisors, Leads, and Agents. • Leads and Supervisors play the favorites game with Agents. •Odd work hours are expected until you have seniority. •Quick to terminate those on probation without proof or just cause. •Training is minimal. Some seasoned trainers are rude when called for assistance, as instructed.

    Advice to Management

    Pay closer attention to those who are appointed to leadership positions. Those people are the ones who will eventually break the company.

    Alaska Airlines2019-12-17
  9. "Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alaska Airlines part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Family atmosphere, they care about their employees

    Cons

    Shift changes four times a year

    Alaska Airlines2019-11-19
  10. "Customer Service agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Portland, OR
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alaska Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Shift trades are allowed on short notice.

    Cons

    Poor Leadership. Leadership Micromanages every minute and uses fear tactics.

    Advice to Management

    Train Leadership to Lead and motivate subordinates. Stop using Fear Driven Style leadership.

    Alaska Airlines2019-12-21
Found 524 reviews