Alberta Health Services "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Alberta Health Services Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 8 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Alberta Health Services President and CEO Verna Yiu (no image)
Verna Yiu
165 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good wage, good Benefits and good environment(in 45 reviews)

  • "Good pay, opportunity for growth(in 40 reviews)

Cons
  • "Salary freeze due to economic situation in the province(in 19 reviews)

  • "Wellness strategies, work life balance, workload(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Average company I dont know how it is rated top 100 employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisory in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Health Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance. Competitive salary

    Cons

    Poor team members No cultural diversity and inclusion Worst manager

    Alberta Health Services2020-01-08
  2. "Huge public sector company, with pluses and minuses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Relatively good culture that supports work/life balance, size allows for a broad range of opportunities.

    Cons

    Size also leads to stifling bureaucracy and dysfunction, salary and hiring freezes for several years mean no opportunity for advancement.

    Alberta Health Services2020-01-02
  3. "Fair salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Calgary, AB
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary, vacation, personal leave, continuing education

    Cons

    Wellness strategies, work life balance, workload

    Advice to Management

    Increase staffing levels

    Alberta Health Services2019-12-05
  4. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Edmonton, AB
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, great benefit

    Cons

    Political Interference, tight deadlines

    Alberta Health Services2019-11-28
  5. "Good over all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Health Services part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and decent work life balance

    Cons

    Pay should be increased.

    Alberta Health Services2019-10-29
  6. "More work/life balance please!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Health Services part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    1. part time position helps maintain work/life balance. 2. competitive wages

    Cons

    1. ineffective strategy to deal with bullying 2. ineffective leadership 3. movement towards reducing part time positions and flexible work hours

    Advice to Management

    costs could be reduced by simplifying processes and requiring all levels of leadership to be accountable for all the funds they spend.

    Alberta Health Services2019-10-05
  7. "Good work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Advisor in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance in some departments. There is no expectation that you work one minute passed quitting time.

    Cons

    The work is not rewarding. Their values only apply to those that are front line workers. Those that are not on the front line don't count.

    Alberta Health Services2019-09-26
  8. "Radiologist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Radiologist in Edmonton, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I don’t think I have anything that this jobs better than other jobs

    Cons

    Garbage work life balance I am overworked

    Advice to Management

    Reasonable hours

    Alberta Health Services2019-04-18
  9. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great benefits and work-life balance

    Cons

    no promotion and rapid changes

    Alberta Health Services2019-02-22
  10. "Occupational Therapist II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Alberta Health Services full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It has great work life balance

    Cons

    It is a very large organization

    Alberta Health Services2019-01-23
Found 49 reviews