Alcumus Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Alcumus Group Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 49 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Alcumus Group CEO Alyn Franklin
Alyn Franklin
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "In terms of support, the senior management team are easily approachable should they be needed, which is a refreshing change(in 5 reviews)

  • "Fast paced and willing to make the positive decisions to keep their services as the market leaders(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "No cons at present worthy of a comment(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Impressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Director in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcumus Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Value centric (truly - many say this and aren't). Positive atmosphere and business is performing well.

    Cons

    Longer commute, but there is flexibility in working locations.

    Advice to Management

    I look forward to helping the business on it's impressive trajectory.

    Alcumus Group2019-08-13
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Wow!! What a welcome."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Sales Officer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcumus Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Started here in June, so far, the pros are; Internal recruitment team (Beth Jenkins) were fast and constantly in touch, very quick turn around Interview process was slick Excellent induction by Amelia Excellent training Shown around the Cardiff office to meet the staff All equipment was ready, laptop, keyboard mouse etc. Joined my team in Manchester and made to feel very welcome. Company values run deep... across the company

    Show More

    Cons

    So far, no cons. Maybe an early finish on a Friday. But 5 isn’t too bad.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Alcumus Group2019-06-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Autonomy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Snelling Human Resources Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcumus Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Autonomy to do job well to meet client needs. Great WLB, feel listened too. Great clients.

    Cons

    None to note. Great employer

    Alcumus Group2019-06-13
  4. Helpful (3)

    "A great place to work with a forwards looking management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nantgarw, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcumus Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've been working at Alcumus for approximately a year. I haven't got a bad word to say. The company is investing heavily in tech and people in an attempt to become best in class for its software. I think they can achieve this. During my time here I have faced several unforeseen difficulties not related to work necessitating me taking large amounts of time of. The company could not have been more accommodating. From... HR to my line manager, my treatment was first class. A great deal of thought and care, plus aftercare was provided to me, nothing was too much trouble. I have never worked anywhere where its people are considered so integral a part of the company. If you want to work hard, you'll get out more than you put in. the perks and discounts on everyday items are unexpected but gratefully received, the pension more than fair. with Alyn at the helm this company appears to only be going upwards.

    Show More

    Cons

    Communication can be an issue. Spread over several sites in the UK it is sometimes difficult to work out what is going on where. This is not a detriment as such, its just an observation and common in multi-site companies

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you're doing!

    Alcumus Group2019-06-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcumus Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - My team were very friendly - Lots of driven people

    Cons

    - A lot of saying and not doing - Poor pay - Lack of respect

    Alcumus Group2019-04-14

    Alcumus Group Response

    May 20, 2019Head of Recruitment and Retention

    Hi Thank you for your feedback We agree with you that the strength of our organisation is our people and we believe that through our 'put others first' value that we treat all of our colleagues in a positive and respectful way As a growing business we are going through many changes, as a result, some of our projects are taking a little longer than we would have liked however it is important to us that we do things properly We conduct benchmarking exercises to ensure we are competitive in the market and have introduced a number of enhanced benefits in addition to improve our offering to our employees On behalf of Alcumus, I wish you the best in your future endeavors If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Auditor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcumus Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have enjoyed my time with Alcumus. The company have a strong set of values that are demonstrated from the top down. The Senior Team are strong, with some great new additions that bring an air of positivism. Our business MD is a breath of fresh air and her arrival is turning the business around. I have recently had a tough time personally losing a member of my family and cannot fault the support from my... management team and Senior HR Business Partner. I havent felt like a number here, i feel like people care. The benefits are good, company events are brilliant, my team manager is supportive. A focus on well being is shining through

    Show More

    Cons

    There is a lot of travel in my role but it's the nature of the role. The only con for me is a mix of IT systems. i know this is being fixed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep going we're on a good path. We're behind you on the ride

    Alcumus Group2019-03-07

    Alcumus Group Response

    March 18, 2019Head of Recruitment and Retention

    Really enjoyed reading this review! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your role with Alcumus and feel the support you receive from managers, HR and the SMT is focused around our people. As you noted in your review, there is a lot of work going on currently to ensure we have the best IT systems to make your job easier and we genuinely appreciate your patience whilst we get these built and rolled out. If you have anything you want to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch! terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Global Leading Integrated Risk Management Company -helping our customers become safer, healthier and stronger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcumus Group full-time

    Pros

    Strong SMT leadership Clear company purpose and vision Great people Super benefits Exciting period of growth Technology and software led Disrupting EHSQ for the better Higher sense of purpose, we save lives Fast growth business Year on year growth Innovative and creative Flat org structure and everyone has an open door Reward success Personal development encouraged

    Cons

    You need to be comfortable with an entrepreneurial culture that wants to accelerate growth.

    Alcumus Group2019-02-17

    Alcumus Group Response

    March 4, 2019Head of Recruitment and Retention

    Thank you for the excellent feedback, it's great to see the changes we are making to make Alcumus an even greater place to work are having such a positive impact for you. We agree that it is an exciting period of growth and we have some great people steering the ship and within our teams across the Group. If you have anything further you wish to add, please do get in touch! terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for with great career prospects"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alcumus Group full-time

    Pros

    Business is in rapid growth, with clear objectives and direction. Team's across this complex business are helpful and willing to get things done. This is a company that if you give them 100% to get 100% back

    Cons

    Communication is an issue which is being worked on

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you're doing clear, decisive clear direction, unification of the business under a single Alcumus name

    Alcumus Group2019-01-23

    Alcumus Group Response

    January 30, 2019Head of Recruitment and Retention

    Great to read such a positive review and we agree that we have a really helpful team! The new intranet is currently being finalised which should really help to improve communications and ensure that everyone has a voice. We are always open to suggestions on how we can improve so if you have anything to add, or any ideas to make Alcumus an even greater place to work, please do let us know! terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Enjoyed working with my team members."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Stratford-upon-Avon, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alcumus Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Liked the people I worked with as well as the CEO.

    Cons

    Very backward thinking when it comes to working from home. They have a values system which only applies to management not their staff. You work long hours when it comes to travel with no thanks or benefit in kind. If you need to go to a doctors appointment you get told to make up the time even though you have just worked a 12hour day.

    Advice to Management

    Apply your values to your staff that are not management.

    Alcumus Group2019-02-04

    Alcumus Group Response

    March 4, 2019Head of Recruitment and Retention

    Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We agree with you that we have some really great people within our business, including our CEO and are sorry to hear that you didn’t feel our values were embraced by all employees. We regularly recognise colleagues across the business for living our values at our company events and have begun to embed these into performance reviews and development plans across the Group. We appreciate that many of our roles require an element of travel, particularly those employees in client facing roles. We are currently working hard to utilise Technology to reduce travel to support the Health and Wellbeing of all employees and our HR team are reviewing our People policies with a focus on flexible and smarter working. Once again, thank you for your feedback. It’s important for us to learn about the experiences of both previous and current employees so that we can make our working environments better. On behalf of Alcumus, I wish you the best in your future endeavors. If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

    Show Less
  10. "Lovely staff, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Alcumus Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long established company with generally good reputation in the marketplace Experienced and very knowledgeable consultants

    Cons

    Too many layers of management and poor systems therefore slowing down processes Management very subjective, sometimes very unprofessional and seem unable to hold information confidentially

    Advice to Management

    Translate the theory of your people strategy into practice and you will see staff morale increase, less retention and make the millions the investors are breathing down your necks to achieve. Genuine care and concern for employees and their wellbeing goes a very long way.

    Alcumus Group2019-01-24

    Alcumus Group Response

    January 30, 2019Head of Recruitment and Retention

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As a business that has grown by merger and acquisition, we have a larger management population than a business that has grown purely organically. We are working hard however to ensure that our leaders are properly equipped to support their teams effectively via regular development sessions, quarterly conferences and guidance from senior HR professionals who are experts in dealing with sensitive information/situations confidentially. Following the hire of our Chief Technology Officer and 300% growth of our Tech department over the last 12 months, we have an ambitious technology roadmap that is underway to replace all of our systems with new, streamlined versions that’s are efficient and easy to use. We have a clear business strategy that has our people at the heart of all of our plans and aspirations, demonstrated by the hire of a Chief People Officer during 2018. We invest in enhanced benefits for all of our employees (healthcare, maternity/paternity, sick pay, life assurance etc), wellbeing weeks and have mental health first aid training in the plan to be rolled out in 2019 across the business to ensure we are doing the best by our employees. At Alcumus we do genuinely care about our people, and we wish you the very best in your future endeavors. If there is anything you would like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

    Show Less
Found 49 reviews