Alcumus Manager Reviews

Updated 7 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.6
96%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Alcumus CEO Alyn Franklin
Alyn Franklin
10 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    A1 Employer - fully deserve the 5 star rating

    7 Sep 2020 - Regional Operations Manager in Scotter, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked for the company for 14 years - they are the most caring, friendly, family style company I have ever worked for. I started out as a rookie auditor fresh out of manufacturing/laboratory work and have never looked back. I have progressed through the ranks completing many courses/training along the way and the support throughout has been second to none. I now manage a team of 24 auditors and enjoy sharing my experience/knowledge to other auditors.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Loved this review and thank you for your loyalty over the last 14 years! It's great to read that you've progressed through several roles and have so many new qualifications under your belt! Here's to another 14 years! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    😁

    7 May 2021 - Customer Service Manager in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Quick fast paced working environment

    Cons

    Work life balance isn't how is like it to be

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Culture eats strategy, but you still need strategy

    7 Feb 2021 - Manager in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture: Alyn sets the right tone of purpose, openness and qualified optimism which rubs off on the executive.

    Cons

    However strategy is not only MBAs financial strategy, ROI , EBITDA, high level targets and words encouragement from the executive. Unless Sovereign Capital and the CXOs just want to take the money and run, senior management would benefit from appointment of experienced executives that really knew the business they were managing . It would be a better, sustainable business.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    I love working for Alcumus!

    16 Jun 2020 - Software Development Manager in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Although there are around 500 employees in Alcumus, there is a family feel to the company. There is no hierarchy on ideas, and this is motivating when you feel like you have ownership of improving the company you work for. The company is expanding and on a journey to becoming a more software led company, this is hugely exciting!

    Cons

    Not working for a household name, we are looking to change that though!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Great to reach such a lovely review and I agree with you about the family feel! Glad to hear that you find the lack of hierarchy motivating, everyone's voice is equally important! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    never upset the senior managers

    30 Oct 2020 - Manager in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great staff and audit teams

    Cons

    do not follow their values or culture they talk so much about

    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Thank you for your review. Agree with you that the audit team is great and we have some excellent people working for us! We've just had over 600 nominations for people who have been living the values in 2020 so I'm sorry to hear you didn't experience this. Best of luck in your future career and wherever you moved on to. If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumus.com

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Passionate Employer

    25 Jan 2020 - Account Manager in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people and the culture here is excellent! There’s a real work hard play hard environment with people laughing on the floor every day. High energy, high reward, canteen on site, career progression, excellent company benefits, free onsite parking in Cardiff office, recreation room, involved and approachable CEO. Generally a fantastic employer to work for.

    Cons

    This is a fast paced employer which worked for me but it won’t work for all. Your role will not be the only role you do and you will be expected to involve yourself in other areas. There are very high expectations and management will be looking for people to constantly be moving forward and driving the business upwards (which is a good thing). However, if you like to get comfortable in a role by simply getting your work done and going home, this role may not be for you.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Really appreciate your review and I agree with you that the people here are fantastic! There has been a lot of positive change over the last 12-18 months so we do appreciate that the pace can feel uncomfortable for some people- glad to hear that wasn't the case for you! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Enjoyed working with my team members.

    3 Feb 2019 - Project Manager in Stratford-upon-Avon, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Liked the people I worked with as well as the CEO.

    Cons

    Very backward thinking when it comes to working from home. They have a values system which only applies to management not their staff. You work long hours when it comes to travel with no thanks or benefit in kind. If you need to go to a doctors appointment you get told to make up the time even though you have just worked a 12hour day.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Recruitment and Retention

    Hi, Thank you for your feedback. We agree with you that we have some really great people within our business, including our CEO and are sorry to hear that you didn’t feel our values were embraced by all employees. We regularly recognise colleagues across the business for living our values at our company events and have begun to embed these into performance reviews and development plans across the Group. We appreciate that many of our roles require an element of travel, particularly those employees in client facing roles. We are currently working hard to utilise Technology to reduce travel to support the Health and Wellbeing of all employees and our HR team are reviewing our People policies with a focus on flexible and smarter working. Once again, thank you for your feedback. It’s important for us to learn about the experiences of both previous and current employees so that we can make our working environments better. On behalf of Alcumus, I wish you the best in your future endeavors. If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Development and Growth

    11 Sep 2017 - Technical Manager in Nantgarw, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Since working with the Alcumus Group, they have showed the ambition and willingness to invest in systems and individuals. Key Points: - Lots of internal progression opportunities - Fast paced and willing to make the positive decisions to keep their services as the market leaders - Willing to invest and support additional qualifications and training for all employees - Investing in new technology and online platforms - Impressive head office facilities - Good selection of employment benefits – including free tea and coffee! - Ready and willing to engage with the workforce with a number of active employee forums - Mon-Fri 9 to 5 hours - A high number of long term employees

    Cons

    No cons at present worthy of a comment

    2 people found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Recruiter

    Hi, thank you for your review. We love all our offices but especially our head office in Cardiff! Please feel free to contact me directly if there was anything further you would like to add at euiain.herring@alcumusgroup.com

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Fantastic working environment

    2 Jan 2018 - Client Mobilisation Manager in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working for this company for just over two years now and during this short time, I have been given the opportunity and means to develop myself as an employee and as a professional. I have completed training, multiple courses and self-development workshops. I have progressed through the company already and further progression is achievable. Management are genuinely interested in our ideas and goals and are always happy to offer their time. It is a great place to work and my colleagues here are a pleasure to work with.

    Cons

    I have not had any negative experiences during my time at Alcumus.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Recruiter

    Hi, Thank you for your review and well done on your progression to date. If there was anything further you wanted to add, please feel free to contact me directly at euiain.herring@alcumusgroup.com

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Exciting, Friendly, Unpretentious, Ambitious - FREE PARKING!

    3 Nov 2017 - Account Manager in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is really open from top to bottom and keen to work with each member of staff to uncover everyone's unique potential. In my role as part of the management team, I've found the environment to be really welcoming and down to earth. I feel I have the autonomy in my role to lead and be creative, whilst also having support and guidance to help me grow. It's proven a lovely place to work so far! And now for the most important bits - good canteen and free parking!

    Cons

    Jury's out - all good so far!

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 13 Reviews

Popular Careers with Alcumus Job Seekers

Health and Safety Consultant
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Business Development Manager
Learn About the Job
Business Development Director
Learn About the Job

Work at Alcumus? Share Your Experiences

Alcumus logo
or