Alcumus Reviews

Updated 11 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
96%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Alcumus CEO Alyn Franklin
Alyn Franklin
59 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company

    9 Oct 2020 - Configuration Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Competitive Benefit packages Very approachable HR team Good internal promotion avenue Forward thinking

    Cons

    Information sometimes takes a while to trickle down from upper management.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Thank you for your review. It's great to read that you feel the internal promotion avenue is good; we launched career pathways earlier in 2020 and a lot of colleagues have said that they feel the development opportunities are very visible. I hope wherever you have moved to, they are looking after you! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Pre-start Review

    3 Aug 2020 - Senior Applications Developer in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    So far, from my experience, the recruitment and hiring process has been the best I've experienced as a software developer. Each member of Recruitment / Onboarding / HR have been friendly and professional and I look forward to starting very soon.

    Cons

    Before starting, there are no cons for me.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Loved reading this review- it's great to hear that the experience of joining the business has all been positive and that everyone has been friendly and supportive. We look forward to welcoming you to the Alcumus family! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    I love working for Alcumus!

    16 Jun 2020 - Software Development Manager in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Although there are around 500 employees in Alcumus, there is a family feel to the company. There is no hierarchy on ideas, and this is motivating when you feel like you have ownership of improving the company you work for. The company is expanding and on a journey to becoming a more software led company, this is hugely exciting!

    Cons

    Not working for a household name, we are looking to change that though!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Great to reach such a lovely review and I agree with you about the family feel! Glad to hear that you find the lack of hierarchy motivating, everyone's voice is equally important! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Supportive and Encouraging Environment

    16 Jan 2020 - Consultant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Support, in so many ways. From the benefits offered to if you need additional support on a personal/well-being level. So much has changed in the company over the past few years but it's all been for the better. I cannot enthuse enough about being able to discuss a chronic condition with my line manager and have support to "feel better" and be encouraged to "be better" at the same time. I've now been able to progress into a job role which is an amazing opportunity and to know the Company listens and does as much as it can for employees just adds to how much I hope I'm here for many years to come.

    Cons

    The fast pace of the business isn't for everyone, but if you love being busy then this isn't an issue.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi there Really enjoyed reading your review as your feedback really resonates. It's lovely to hear that you feel supported, you're able to progress with the business and that your well-being has been a priority. We hope you are here for many years to come also! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company

    23 Jul 2020 - Business Development Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great office location with plenty of parking space.

    Cons

    Some management think they're more important than everyone else.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Thank you for the review- I agree with you that it's a great company and we have some lovely offices- even more so now after the recent renovations! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A fantastic company with great people

    18 Feb 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Stratford-upon-Avon, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with some great people who support me everyday. I have a laugh every day! My manager and senior management team are very supportive and care about our wellbeing, development and how we are doing. The benefit package is really good; healthcare cash back, pension, money off discounts, gym discounts. We even have free fruit, food for lunchtime and a wicked coffee machine! The MD is really inspiring, the HR Partner is cool and supportive, the sales and delivery teams work better than ever to make sure we have great customer experience

    Cons

    The learning and development offering hasn’t been great, but the HR Partner is working hard with us on career mapping and cool things like Linked In learning

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi there Appreciate your review and it's lovely to know that you had a laugh every day and felt supported, we agree that our people have the best ideas! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  7. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good company

    19 Aug 2020 - Unemployed in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Everyone there is really nice - Good place to work if you are just starting up your career, and want to learn about working in an office environment - Annual company party at the Celtic Manor

    Cons

    - The food in the canteen is dreadful and way to expensive - No clear progression path - There is a ‘click’ in management and if you are not in that click you might not do so well

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Thank you for the review- it's lovely to read that everyone is really nice and you feel it's a supportive culture for people starting a career in an office-based role. We also appreciate the feedback on career progression- we've had 19 internal promotions already this year but we could definitely shout more about it. The new career pathways site should help make opportunities to develop more visible too! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A great place to work with a forwards looking management team

    10 Jun 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Nantgarw, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been working at Alcumus for approximately a year. I haven't got a bad word to say. The company is investing heavily in tech and people in an attempt to become best in class for its software. I think they can achieve this. During my time here I have faced several unforeseen difficulties not related to work necessitating me taking large amounts of time of. The company could not have been more accommodating. From HR to my line manager, my treatment was first class. A great deal of thought and care, plus aftercare was provided to me, nothing was too much trouble. I have never worked anywhere where its people are considered so integral a part of the company. If you want to work hard, you'll get out more than you put in. the perks and discounts on everyday items are unexpected but gratefully received, the pension more than fair. with Alyn at the helm this company appears to only be going upwards.

    Cons

    Communication can be an issue. Spread over several sites in the UK it is sometimes difficult to work out what is going on where. This is not a detriment as such, its just an observation and common in multi-site companies

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi there Lovely to hear such a positive review and I'm so pleased that you feel you have been supported through difficult times- it's important to us that our people feel they can be open with us and we genuinely care about the well being of everyone we work with. We are certainly working on ways to improve communication across the group also so any ideas on things we could try, please let us know! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    never upset the senior managers

    30 Oct 2020 - Manager in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great staff and audit teams

    Cons

    do not follow their values or culture they talk so much about

    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Thank you for your review. Agree with you that the audit team is great and we have some excellent people working for us! We've just had over 600 nominations for people who have been living the values in 2020 so I'm sorry to hear you didn't experience this. Best of luck in your future career and wherever you moved on to. If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumus.com

  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Passionate Employer

    25 Jan 2020 - Account Manager in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people and the culture here is excellent! There’s a real work hard play hard environment with people laughing on the floor every day. High energy, high reward, canteen on site, career progression, excellent company benefits, free onsite parking in Cardiff office, recreation room, involved and approachable CEO. Generally a fantastic employer to work for.

    Cons

    This is a fast paced employer which worked for me but it won’t work for all. Your role will not be the only role you do and you will be expected to involve yourself in other areas. There are very high expectations and management will be looking for people to constantly be moving forward and driving the business upwards (which is a good thing). However, if you like to get comfortable in a role by simply getting your work done and going home, this role may not be for you.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Really appreciate your review and I agree with you that the people here are fantastic! There has been a lot of positive change over the last 12-18 months so we do appreciate that the pace can feel uncomfortable for some people- glad to hear that wasn't the case for you! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

Viewing 21 - 30 of 85 Reviews

Popular Careers with Alcumus Job Seekers

Health and Safety Consultant
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Business Development Manager
Learn About the Job
Business Development Director
Learn About the Job

Work at Alcumus? Share Your Experiences

Alcumus logo
or