Alcumus Reviews

Updated 11 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
96%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Alcumus CEO Alyn Franklin
Alyn Franklin
59 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Really enjoyable place to work

    17 Jan 2020 - Paralegal in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people across all of the offices who are really helpful and welcoming. There is a genuine feeling that the company is interested in your personal development which is more impressive given the Group's rate of growth. The legal team is an exciting place to work given how varied the work is. Plenty of responsibility and develops your skills in all areas. Sam and Suzie are great people to work with. Senior management are fully integrated with the rest of the office. Very anti-bureaucracy and hierarchy.

    Cons

    Going through a period of real growth and change so if you enjoy a more settled role and workplace then this might not be for you.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Thank you for your review- it's great to hear that everyone was friendly and welcoming! I also enjoyed reading that you feel the business is invested in your development and that there is a lack of hierarchy! Nice to see your immediate team have been personally mentioned too- i'm sure they will also be pleased to read this. If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Info Exchange

    24 Mar 2020 - Head of Sales in Stratford-upon-Avon, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic induction despite the incredibly challenging times (Corona virus) we're currently in. There is a clear drive for the welfare and happiness of all Alcumus employees. The People Success Team are key to this and have made me feel very welcome.

    Cons

    Because I have to put something: The company laptop is a little dated.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi there Great to hear that you have enjoyed the induction and feel that we put our people first, it's important to us that our employees feel supported both in their roles and with their wellbeing! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  3. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Helpful & loyal employer

    18 Feb 2020 - Accounting Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good progression opportunities - Friendly, fun atmosphere - Helpful, caring staff

    Cons

    Increasingly Alcumus is considering its social responsibility. I would personally love to see more fair trade or ethically sourced coffee supplied.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Thank you for your review, it's great to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere and felt that everyone was helpful and caring! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Think twice about joining

    7 Feb 2020 - Office Based in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Free Car park, on-site canteen

    Cons

    You have to suck up to managers to get anywhere, some people’s job performance is shockingly bad yet are praised by senior management. You will rarely know what’s going on and it changes constantly. People are leaving / joining all the time. Senior management team appear to be on different pages and some come across as very entitled. Lots of work done is pointless and never used, IT systems are terrible and make every ones job harder. Really frustrating and demoralising place to work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi there, Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write your review. We are working really hard to provide all of our employees with a clear and transparent career path that is structured around competencies and behaviours aligned to our values. We ran a rising stars and rockstars program within our Safecontractor business last year and will be launching our new career pathways offering into the business shortly along with a multitude of other development opportunities. I’m sorry to hear you haven’t felt that you have been able to benefit from these during your time with us. As a business we strongly believe that performance issues should be dealt with in private hence why it may have looked like these were overlooked however we have a clear review process in place and regular 121s to support those who are struggling to improve. Alcumus is a growing business that has a number of new starters built into the headcount plan each month to support our business strategy. Unfortunately, as with the majority of organisations, we do have people who leave the business for a number of reasons (personal and professional) too with a lot having an open door with us should they wish to return. You are right that the business is fast-paced and there have been a lot of changes recently. We have ambitious goals laid out for the coming years and we are working hard to ensure that these are communicated effectively via the CEO roadshows, conferences, company intranet posts and business update sessions that are in place. I am sorry to hear that our efforts did not meet your expectations at this time. Once again, thank you for your feedback. It’s important for us to learn about the experiences of both previous and current employees so that we can make our working environments better. On behalf of Alcumus, I wish you the best in your future endeavours. If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Avoid

    7 Aug 2020 - Senior BDM in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some nice people and free parking

    Cons

    Management are terrible and narrow minded

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Thank you for the review- I'm sorry to hear that you feel that way. We wish you the best in your future career. If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    New Start at Alcumus ISOQAR

    26 Mar 2020 - Lead Auditor in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, really friendly, approachable and seem very competent. Get issues sorted really quickly, not that there were many - mostly getting equipment working.

    Cons

    The first two weeks have been quite fast paced, which is not for everyone - loads to do and you have to get it done to keep up.

    3 people found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Really appreciate your review and I agree with you that the ISOQAR team have some great people that are friendly, approachable and competent. I'm sure they will enjoy reading this review as much as I did! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A Great Place to Work

    7 Mar 2019 - Auditor in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have enjoyed my time with Alcumus. The company have a strong set of values that are demonstrated from the top down. The Senior Team are strong, with some great new additions that bring an air of positivism. Our business MD is a breath of fresh air and her arrival is turning the business around. I have recently had a tough time personally losing a member of my family and cannot fault the support from my management team and Senior HR Business Partner. I havent felt like a number here, i feel like people care. The benefits are good, company events are brilliant, my team manager is supportive. A focus on well being is shining through

    Cons

    There is a lot of travel in my role but it's the nature of the role. The only con for me is a mix of IT systems. i know this is being fixed.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Recruitment and Retention

    Really enjoyed reading this review! Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your role with Alcumus and feel the support you receive from managers, HR and the SMT is focused around our people. As you noted in your review, there is a lot of work going on currently to ensure we have the best IT systems to make your job easier and we genuinely appreciate your patience whilst we get these built and rolled out. If you have anything you want to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch! terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A supportive employer with great potential

    4 Dec 2019 - Head of Marketing in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive culture, lots of opportunity for progression, approachable senior management team

    Cons

    Some systems improvement needed (which is recognised)

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi there Thank you for your feedback- always enjoy hearing that people feel they are working in a supportive culture that offers progression in your role. It's important to us that everyone feels that they can have a career here and not just a job. We are investing a lot into our systems at present so looking forward to the launch of all the slick new technology platforms that are coming! Watch this space! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Wow!! What a welcome.

    28 Jun 2019 - Technical Sales Officer in Manchester, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Started here in June, so far, the pros are; Internal recruitment team (Beth Jenkins) were fast and constantly in touch, very quick turn around Interview process was slick Excellent induction by Amelia Excellent training Shown around the Cardiff office to meet the staff All equipment was ready, laptop, keyboard mouse etc. Joined my team in Manchester and made to feel very welcome. Company values run deep across the company

    Cons

    So far, no cons. Maybe an early finish on a Friday. But 5 isn’t too bad.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Thank you for telling us about your positive start at the organisation, it's great to hear that you are enjoying working for Alcumus and would recommend us as a great place to work! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Impressive

    13 Aug 2019 - Marketing Director in Cardiff, Wales, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Value centric (truly - many say this and aren't). Positive atmosphere and business is performing well.

    Cons

    Longer commute, but there is flexibility in working locations.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Alcumus Response

    Head of Talent

    Hi Thank you for your feedback, it's lovely to hear that you feel our values are more than just words on a page. I agree with you that the business is on it's way up and the growth plans and international expansion talked about at the conference is all very exciting! Glad to hear that the flexibility you have in your role helps with the commute too! If there is anything you like to add, please do not hesitate to get in touch with me directly: terri.foulston@alcumusgroup.com

Viewing 31 - 40 of 85 Reviews

Popular Careers with Alcumus Job Seekers

Health and Safety Consultant
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Business Development Manager
Learn About the Job
Business Development Director
Learn About the Job

Work at Alcumus? Share Your Experiences

Alcumus logo
or