Alliance Boots Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Alliance Boots Reviews

Updated 20 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 253 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Alliance Boots CEO Stefano Pessina
Stefano Pessina
100 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The pharmacy dispenser wage is so low you need a second income but you are too exhausted at the end of the day to do anything else(in 13 reviews)

  • "Managers are unskilled non-pharmacists with minimal knowledge of law or ethics in pharmacy(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fantastic culture in Global Branding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Alliance Boots full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Personal development Relaxed dress code Supportive managers

    Cons

    Hard to get your voice heard Heiracical

    Alliance Boots2019-08-15
  2. "Sick pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee Pharmacy Advisor in Wincanton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Alliance Boots full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Lack of staff when really busy

    Alliance Boots2019-09-17
  3. "Good place on cv"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alliance Boots full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to have on CV

    Cons

    Management don’t listen to us and massively cut our budget

    Alliance Boots2019-09-10
  4. "Retail business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Alliance Boots full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Trust, value, prospects , guide lines, staff members

    Cons

    Salary , policy, services, career opportunities and benefits

    Advice to Management

    Good prospects

    Alliance Boots2019-09-08
  5. "Lack of training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor in Thurmaston, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Alliance Boots part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    staff discount friendly customers

    Cons

    Incompetent management bullying culture filthy store

    Advice to Management

    To recruit "EDUCATED " management

    Alliance Boots2019-09-20
  6. "abc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Dispenser 

    I worked at Alliance Boots full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    excellent company to work with

    Cons

    no comments as i enjoyed working with

    Alliance Boots2019-09-16
  7. "Great people, company is lacking investment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Alliance Boots full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many of the people I worked with are hard working, caring and extremely experienced within their domain. The company is forever changing, which provides opportunities to grow and develop

    Cons

    The company still behave like a PE. It is constantly stripping resource from Boots and this is evident in many of their stores. There is a clear divide between the divisions, creating an uneasy "them and us" culture. There is some nepotism.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in infrastructure before it's too late. Promote on merit, aptitude and performance. Communicate longer term goals clearer

    Alliance Boots2019-08-01
  8. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Alliance Boots full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Comfortable place to work. Steady 9-5

    Cons

    Pay is lower than industry average

    Alliance Boots2019-07-31
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Innovation Technologist 

    I worked at Alliance Boots full-time

    Pros

    Good place to start career

    Cons

    Progression is an issue for long term working

    Alliance Boots2019-07-30
  10. "Horrific management, seriously understaffed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Advisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Alliance Boots full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always extra hours Full time contract with decent pay as apposed to other retailers

    Cons

    Management are bully’s Seriously understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Id staff keep leaving management need to be investigated for behaviour as something is clearly up!

    Alliance Boots2019-08-05
Found 253 reviews